We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Chester Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Chester Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Chester Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 104: English reviews
Owensboro, Kentucky, United States
Reviewed 12 July 2016

No complaints from us! Quiet, clean and comfortable rooms. Fun for the kids - swimming, picnic area and basketball hoops. Great breakfast with fresh fruit, waffles, biscuits and gravy, hot cocoa and more. We began to search for things that weren't 100% just so it didn't seem so perfect! The curtains were wrinkled! The soap dispensers took lots of pumps...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EvelynMc
bwchester, Manager at BEST WESTERN Chester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Evelyn, Thank you for staying with us. Management

Quebec City, Canada
Reviewed 8 July 2016

We were extremely pleased by this hotel. We had been driving from Ontario in Canada and we were very happy to find a very nice large room with a very comfortable bed. Staff was welcoming and we slept very well. The hotel is in the nature but still very close to a Walmart and other services. The hotel is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
Hugo, Minnesota
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Stayed overnight in this location while visiting relatives. We would definitely stay here again. Clean, well-maintained, and very friendly staff. We were also in an area of Southern Illinois where cellphone reception was not the best. The wifi at the hotel was up and running and very welcome. Very nice visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trackman79
bwchester, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chester Hotel, responded to this review

I am really glad that you has a wonderful experience at our property. I really like to thank you for staying with us. Thanking you, Management

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 20 June 2016

I stayed here while visiting Fort Chartres nearby. The entire property looks brand new, surrounded by pretty landscaping and trees. The free breakfast had a nice selection, I love the biscuits and sausage gravy. Next time I will be sure to bring shampoo and conditioner though - they have replaced the small plastic containers with dispensers on the walls, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DAVID M
bwchester, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Dave, I am really glad that you had a wonderful stay with us. I really like to thank you for staying with us. Please do visit us when you come to Chester. Management

Longview, United States
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Coming from Chicago to Texas this hotel was a little off the path of I-55 but we wanted to collect more points with BW. The hotel was nice and the staff were friendly, the room was good had a slight mold smell from water leaking from the fridge. pool looked good, wish there was still a hot tub. the breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christopher B
bwchester, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christopher, I really like to thank you for staying with us. I do regret the inconvenience you had during your recent stay with us. We are also in the process of renovating all the rooms. Please do give us another chance to serve you and we will do our best to make your stay more pleasant. Management

Saint Paul, MN, United States
Reviewed 12 June 2016

The rooms that are on the 2nd floor and that face away from the highway are great. The weather was cooperative and we could open the window and sleep with the a/c off. Our window faced some trees and we awoke to birds singing. Even with the coal trucks running down the highway in front, we heard almost no road...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
bwchester, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martin, Thank you so much for taking time to review us. I am really glad that you had a wonderful stay with us. We work really hard to make sure our guest have a wonderful stay. Please do see us when to come back to Chester. Again I thank you so much for staying with us. Management

Channahon, Illinois
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Hair dryer not working, toilet problem flushing, No elevator to 2nd floor. How this gets by ADA laws is a question, The breakfast was not bad, coffee is very good. Work out room not great. The room was in clean condition, the wifi is slow.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaveMargs
bwchester, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dave, We regret that your stay with us was not pleasant. Rest assured, our entire team is focused on ensuring we offer the best service and experience to all our guests. Our property has been under ongoing renovation and maintenance to provide you a good experience. We encourage you to share your situation with us while you are staying...

Maryville, Missouri
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Good hotel they did a god job overall the complete stay. The breakfasts were average but did the job of giving some to eat. I thought they gave a good daily cleaning of the room and replaced condiments.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrMikon
Alton, Illinois
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

I go to this hotel on a regular basis. It is always clean and the staff is wonderful. Always greeted with a warm welcome. The beds are so comfy and breakfast service is always good. I know it is a bit off the beaten path but Chester is a unique town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
London
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

I always travel to Chester by train as the hotel is outside the station. Saves trying to journey on the dreaded motorways up to here from London. Very comfortable rooms. Great breakfast and near town. Quiet area. But don't get room to the left of front of the reception facing hotel. The linen is delivered very early and the driver...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nails55

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
22.4 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sainte Genevieve
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#1 of 3 in Sainte Genevieve
340 reviews
25.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sparta
25.1 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Perryville
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.5 km away
Briarwood Inn
Briarwood Inn
#2 of 4 in Sparta
14 reviews
25.1 km away
Super 8 Perryville
Super 8 Perryville
#1 of 3 in Perryville
287 reviews
25.0 km away
Days Inn Perryville
Days Inn Perryville
#3 of 3 in Perryville
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The BEST WESTERN Chester Hotel offers guests the perfect home away from home while they experience all that the area has to offer. History lovers delight in the many well-known historical attractions, such as Fort DeChartres, the Popeye(R) Statue River Outlook, the Cohen Mansion and author Pierre Menard's home. This Chester hotel is also close to Cole Memorial Park and the Elias Kent Museum. Within an hour's drive of Chester, guests can visit Fairmount Park, Gateway International Raceway and Six Flags(R) Over Mid-America in nearby St. Louis. This Chester hotel is a favorite among travelers who are attending one of the areas many music festivals and annual events, such as the Prairie DuRocher Rendezvous, the Grand American or shooting events at the World Shooting Complex in Sparta, IL. This Chester hotel is also a great choice for Popeye(R) fans, the beloved cartoon character originated here and the town is host to the annual Popeye(R) Picnic each fall. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Chester Hotel

Address: 2150 State St, Chester, IL 62233-1100 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Reid's Inn)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chester
Price Range: $140 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Chester Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Chester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Chester Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have issues with steps request 1st floor”
 of 5 bubbles EvelynMc, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“try a different hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles bh932, 9 Aug 2015 | Read review
“I,ve stayed in 4 different rooms so far and they were all great.”
 of 5 bubbles 734bryans, 29 Apr 2015 | Read review
“ask for a room facing the back and you can over look the woods and or the pool vs the highway”
 of 5 bubbles BrentS546, 27 Aug 2014 | Read review
“My room was on the front side of the building and I really liked it. I could see my car out my window.”
 of 5 bubbles ninj313, 19 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay