We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

River Hotel

Show Prices
#65 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
River Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

925 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for River Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 829: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Location: great. Nice view of the river if you're in the tower. Close to all the tourist attractions of Millennium Park, Art Institute and Michigan Avenue, River North, and three minute walk from the State/Lake train stop if you're taking the train in from Midway airport. Comfort: room itself is comfortable. However, the elevator is slow. If you are staying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Classybabe99
Anna H, General Manager at River Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Classybabe99, Thank you for taking time to write a review about your experience. At this time all elevators are working without issue and apologize for the issue you experienced during your stay. We pride ourselves on cleanliness and service and it sounds like we hit our goal for you. The architectural boat tour is great and you can get...

Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

I'm giving the hotel two stars because the room was adequate and a great location, but the service was horrible. We booked a queen room because there were just two of us and we didn't plan to spend much time there. The room was fine, but from the moment we arrived we felt like second class citizens since we didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth K
Anna H, Front Office Manager at River Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Elizabeth K, We were disappointed to hear that the service levels were not to your, or our expectations. I'd greatly appreciate it, if you can contact me and share your thoughts on where we can improve, so that I can ensure we learn from our previous mistakes. I look forward to hearing from you. Best regards, Ryan Grady...

Reviewed 13 October 2016

My first trip to Chicago and we wanted to stay on Michigan avenue and this hotel was perfectly located. Michigan avenue is right there as well as beautiful views of the river, our room was facing the river and the gorgeous trump hotel. Great hotel with good service, and you cant beat this price! The restaurant downstairs have delicious breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gaila B
Anna H, General Manager at River Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Gaila B, I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and dining experience with us. We are lucky to be located right in the heart of the city, close to everything. We look forward to you staying with us next time in Chicago.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 11 October 2016

When I first arrived at the River Hotel, I was exhausted from my early flight from New York City. Not anticipating that a room would be available, I was pleasantly surprised to discover that they already had one ready for me! I briefly went to my room, dropped off my bags, then headed straight to work. Later that afternoon, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samuel T
Anna H, General Manager at River Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Samuel T, We are delighted you enjoyed your experience and will be staying with us next time in town! We pride ourselves on service and I am very happy the staff was able to find a room that fit your expectations. I'm sorry we were unable to do that on your first night but very happy you decided to...

Reviewed 11 October 2016

Stayed at the River Hotel for one evening while attending a concert. Found the staff friendly and helpful. This was a great hotel for our purpose. the room we had did not provide a fridge or microwave, we would have to upgrade rooms for that. However for our one night it was fine. We were able to walk to any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
Anna H, General Manager at River Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Bruce B, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your quick stay for your concert. We are very lucky to be very centrally located right in the heart of the city. We look forward to having you back with us next time you are in the area.

Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Ok I have to say that when I booked this hotel I was a bit hesitant. There are so many mix reviews on trip advisor about this place but I'll give you my honest option. The room is small. It reminded me of our small room in Paris. It is little, intimate and private. The room has what you need......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly N
Anna H, General Manager at River Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Kimberly N, Thank you very much for your raving review! We do pride ourselves on having great guest service and providing clean rooms. Glad you decided to give us a try and we look forward to serving you next time in town.

Parsons, Kansas
Reviewed 8 October 2016

We stayed here while attending a trade show in September. Having stayed on this block a couple of years before, I was so excited to be here again as I was familiar with the area and knew my way around pretty well. The River Hotel was very accommodating to us, holding our luggage before check in and bringing us extra...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Giovanna42010
Anna H, Manager at River Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you, Givanna42010, for choosing the River Hotel and for posting your detailed review for the TripAdvisor community. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit from our prime location in the heart of the city. We have a great team of staff members who will be especially pleased with your kind words about the great service. We look forward...

Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

The only good thing about this hotel is the location. Rooms are super tiny in need of upkeep and renovations. Dirty. Furthermore the room we were put in shouldn't even be a room. It was next to the electrical room and it sounded like a roller coaster was coming through our room every 30 seconds. Horrible. Hardly slept the whole...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
Anna H, General Manager at River Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Lisa M, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us and I was sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations in every respect on this occasion. Please rest assured that we will use your feedback to make improvements as we continue to work with passion to ensure every guest has an enjoyable experience.

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Even before we arrived we were made to feel welcome, my wife called the day before to ask about the train from Ohare. Pedro gave her a complete briefing on all she could want to know. We arrived later than expected and checked in with Tony at the desk and were treated like royalty with an upgraded room 12th floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Goldfisher132
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Other than a problem with washcloths everything was very very good. The staff at the front desk was extremely helpful in many different ways and the location couldn't be any better. Coffee is available 24 hours a day as is snack food and bottled water. The rooms are nicely appointed and very clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carl J

511 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (232)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (83)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (256)
Viewed
Amenities (34)
Viewed
Club Size (34)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Standard Room (47)
Viewed
Studio (42)
Viewed
Suite (58)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#73 of 189 in Chicago
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Downtown / The Loop

Neighbourhood Profile
Downtown / The Loop
Often visitors' first stop in Chicago, The Loop is a good starting point to sample the city's energy and flavor. This central business district boasts Michelin-rated restaurants, upscale hotels, premier shopping, and enough arresting architecture to keep your camera busy for hours. You won’t find too many photo galleries of downtown Chicago without a shot of Millennium Park and Cloud Gate (“The Bean”), one of the most iconic landmarks in the city. A stunning skyline coupled with cultural attractions like the Art Institute of Chicago present a Downtown where work and play peacefully coexist.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Step out of the River Hotel and into the stunning surroundings of Downtown Chicago. Shimmering skyscrapers tower over the Chicago River as Wacker Drive bends to meet the city’s most famous thoroughfare, Michigan Avenue the start of the Magnificent Mile. These sights sit just steps from the inviting accommodations of the River Hotel, a Downtown Chicago boutique hotel devoted to providing personal service and a helpful range of amenities for business and leisure travel alike. Our Michigan Avenue hotel boasts an array of thoughtful onsite amenities: instant registration and checkout, 24-hour concierge service, complimentary high-speed Internet access, a modern fitness center, chilled, purified bottled water, and three state-of-the-art meeting rooms make for a seamless business travel experience. Savor authentic Italian cuisine and fabulous deep dish pizza at the onsite restaurant, Bella Bacino’s Italian Bistro & Pizzeria. The Chicago River Hotel offers everything you need in the heart of it all. ... more   less 

Additional Information about River Hotel

Address: 75 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3756
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Price Range: $120 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Chicago
Club Quarters Chicago
Club Quarters Hotel Chicago
Club Quarters Wacker Michigan
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#38 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#41 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#48 Family Hotel in Chicago
#56 Business Hotel in Chicago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from River Hotel staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from River Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay under level 24! But if you want a view ........”
 of 5 bubbles LowieSantiago_Chile, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get the Double Double Room! Two separate everythings!!!”
 of 5 bubbles samuska7, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“One of the extra blankets smelled very musty, so we used the other one. Otherwise, we had a fabulous, easy, comfortable stay! ”
 of 5 bubbles suzannet509, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you book a basic room you are going to be in the tower with a city view. A river view will require an upgrade to superior room.”
 of 5 bubbles MichelleJ857, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There should be hand rails in the shower, ice buckets in the room. Schedule garbage pickup later in the morning, not 6am.”
 of 5 bubbles B3109LGjimf, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay