We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

House 5863 Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
House 5863 Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for House 5863 Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 45: English reviews
Chicago
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Stayed at House 5863 recently on a short business/vacation trip. Enjoyed ease of access and the quiest neighborhood. Met the owners shortly after my arrival (I arrived late in the evening and was provided with an access code to get into the B&B and nto my room). Asked for dinner recommendations and was very pleased with their choices. I like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brad P
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you.. Please stay with us again!!!

London
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We booked a room at House 5863 two months in advance of our stay, and were told we have to pre-pay for the rooms. After we had paid, we received confirmation along with instruction on how to access the B&B and the room in the event that we arrived outside of normal hours. Upon arriving at 6:00PM, we discovered the...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank SamuelCP22
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We do apologize for this issue. We ask that guest check out before noon but some guest usually stay beyond their time. We check guest and checkout on a daily basis.

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 6 October 2012

House 5863 is a wonderful gem of hotel (i.e. bed and breakfast inn) located in the Andersonville neighborhood of Chicago. House 5863 is a quiet, clean, and quaint wonderful inn with most modern features that any large chained hotel will offer for their guest. The price was affordable as the accomodation was luxurious. The kitchen area offers everything in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jim G
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you.. Please stay with us again!!!

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed at 5863 for two nights in April 2012. We stayed in Room 1 which I understand is the best room. We were extremely satisfied and would certainly stay there if we ever visited Chicago again. I intially chose 5863 because of the good reviews, mistakingly thinking it was near the city centre. After booking the room, I discovered...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chaucer
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you.. Please stay with us again!!!

Aston, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Visiting a friend for 2 nights who lives in Andersonville so I wanted to be close enough to her house. We arrived a little early and called, as the reservation suggested, to see if we could get in our room early. After several phone calls, we were still unable to reach anyone. We used the code we were given to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dusscat
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your review.. We do apologize for having to hear other people.. We asked that if any guest are speaking to loudly.. particularly in the kitchen to let individuals know. Bed and Breakfast is a communal environment.. Most of the time we usually let guest know not to make to much noise after 10pm and before 8am. Housekeeping...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 27 December 2011

The owners were notable by their absence. Continental do-it-yourself breakfast options included stale croissants, jelly in squeeze bottles, no butter and various bread that you pull out of the refrigerator. Powdered cream for the coffee. Five varieties of boxed cereal. Some fresh fruit. Cheap hot cocoa mix. Cluttered, poorly designed bedroom. Wifi inoperative (until I reset the router.) Bathroom across...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Rick H
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

It's unfortunate you had a bad experience. All our food is checked daily, We continue to repair the items in rooms on a daily basis. Impossible to have fire extinguishers for more than a year shine fire marshals come out yearly to check them!!

Hernando, Florida
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Most B&B's try for cute and cluttered -- not the 5863! It was modern and clean and open and friendly! The beds were comfortable, the rooms open and airy. The bathrooms were spotless and large (the downside of a lot of B&Bs it that they had to cram a bathroom into a small space). The owners were not obtrusive as...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank billcanoe
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you.. Please stay with us again!!!

pembroke Pines, Fl.
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Loved it!! Clean, great area, and best part breakfast was at anytime we wanted. Will definitely be staying again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank miret65
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you.. Please stay with us again!!!

Suwanee, GA
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Stayed here with my husband for the first night of our trip to Chicago. The owner had encouraged us to pay $25 in advance for reserved parking, but we hesitated and glad we did, easily found free curbside parking right in front of the building. The B&B is nicely decorated and clean, but the refrigerator (temp blinking at 48 degrees)...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Denisev1
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We explained to guest that the refrigerator was not working and waiting for repair person to fix which usually takes a few days. We offered to cancel your reservation and re book at another hotel.

American expat
Reviewed 16 October 2010

I cannot say enough good things about House 5863. It is beautifully decorated, clean, and the price was an absolute steal for Chicago. The neighborhood is lovely and has tons of shops and restaraunts. There are two train stations within walking distance, not to mention the lake. We parked for free on the street (no permit required) which saves so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travelhappy54
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you.. Please stay with us again!!!

204 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (202)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (128)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Rogers Park
Hampton Inn Chicago North - Loyola Station
The Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 187 in Chicago
307 reviews
Lakeview
BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#49 of 187 in Chicago
736 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#70 of 187 in Chicago
838 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
House 5863 is not your typical B&B. We are different. Here you will find no Victorian decor or rockers on a scenic porch. Rather, we are an urban, hip place to stay in the heart of Chicago's north side. Our style is contemporary comfort. Our rooms are clean, cool and most of all restive Our approach is more hands off than hands on. We focus on providing for all of your needs behind the scenes without disrupting your stay. Common areas are designed for casual living. The fully-equipped kitchen offers continental style breakfast with all the basics to allow you to serve yourself on your own schedule and at your own pace. Our garden and deck areas offer a quiet respite for relaxed joy. We offer five private guest rooms, each with its own private bath. Each room features a king-sized bed. All rooms are equipped with a flat panel television and free cable television and high-speed wireless internet access.All rooms sleep two guests. Room number 4 can accommodate an additional guest on a pull-out sofa for an additional guest charge. If you are traveling with children under the age of 7, please contact us before booking your reservation. All rooms and all private areas are non-smoking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about House 5863 Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5863 N Glenwood Ave, Chicago, IL 60660-3449
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Price Range: $176 - $741 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — House 5863 Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your House 5863 Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from House 5863 Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask if room is absolutely guaranteed available”
JSherpz, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All guest rooms are on the 2nd floor, but there's no elevator; so when you're packing, remember you'll need to schlep your luggage upstairs.”
jdbhouston, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms toward the back (but not right on the garden) are quieter. If you like it cold when you sleep, don't go during hot Chicago summer.”
Sherylcatmom, 24 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Being a B&B, there are not many rooms - but I think they are all very comfortable, from what I could tell. We chose a room away from the street, although the street is quiet, so that would probably not be a problem. Beautiful modern shower, king size bed, free wi-fi (pretty much standard these days), flatscreen tv (which we did not watch). Very clean.”
Agnetalouise, 4 Sep 2014 | Read review
“If you must stay here, avoid Room 2.”
HilaryJ04, 23 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5