We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Show Prices
#92 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown\/Magnificent Mile
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

677 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
See the most recent reviews
Showing 648: English reviews
Columbia, Missouri
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Pros: My hotel room was clean, had a great kitchen setup, and good shower. No complaints about the amenities. Cons: Extremely thin walls. The people next to my room were partying at night and I had to call down several times. The staff went up twice and I overheard them threatening to kick them out of the hotel the second...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adsfasdfasdfa
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor. I sincerely apologize for the noise you experienced during your stay. We have a very strict no party policy which our team follows protcol when necessary to remove any unregistered guests from rooms should noise be an issue. Please contact me directly to discuss further....

Michigan
Reviewed 29 December 2013

It was a decent stay for the price but while staying there I got stuck on the elevator by myself for a few minutes and was informed that the same elevator had been slipping between floors and that others had complained. Instead of shutting the elevator down, they kept it operating (although they called for maintenance). The front desk staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MichiganC
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Good afternoon. Thank you for taking a moment to provide feedback on your recent stay. As you mentioned the Residence Inn does accept pets of all sizes. We have two dedicated pet floors in the hotel that we do our best to keep our four legged friends on. We also have a pet policy that all guests bringing their dogs...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 25 December 2013

After a 23 hour plane flight from Sydney Australia, to arrive at 8pm and be told that there is no room available, particularly when the rooms were booked >6 months earlier, was appalling. To be told there was a room at a hotel near Midway, added insult to injury, particularly when travelling with two kids aged 14 and 12. Just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank StuartM_6808
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Good afternoon. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent stay. I can't imagine how frustrating this experience was for you and your family. I am so sorry that the hotel was overbooked and we had to relocate you to another property in the city. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss further. Kind Regards,...

Wisconsin
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a two BR suite with our three school-age girls and our 2 month old baby to do an American Girl shopping trip over Thanksgiving weekend. Perfect location, one block off Mag Mile and two blocks north of AG. Suite was a bit dated but clean and comfortable. Bathroom VERY small , and only one in suite. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whalerdiverWisconsin
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback. As you mentioned we are just 2 minutes away from the American Girl Doll store in Water Tower Place and very much enjoy seeing all the shoppers head that way this time of year. Please enjoy your holidays and thanks again for staying with us while visiting Chicago.

Long Beach, New York
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel from 11/27/13 through 12/1/13 with my wife and kids. We had a one bedroom suite which was exceptionally spacious and very clean. The hotel was also very clean and in a very good location to Michigan Avenue shopping and all activities. The breakfast was very good with a wide selection to choose from. My only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom N
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Thank you for spending the Thanksgiving holiday with us! We look forward to seeing you soon.

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We love Marriott Hotel collection and were surprised at the level of service and cleanliness of the rooms. When we were checking in there was a long line because one of the cashiers was having a personal conversation with her colleague. Then upon checking in our 5 year old found every left over toy from the prior guest stay. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anna B
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My wife stayed for one night and we couldn't have been happier. It was a midweek stay and we were greeted with complimentary dinner and drinks. Jason at the front desk was very helpful and answered many questions that we had. In town just for the night, many restaurant and local establishments were only a short walk from the lobby...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BeachLife18
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review on your recent stay. I have shared this review with Jason, and he is elated about the feedback. We appreciate you staying with us. Kind Regards, Lindsy

Reviewed 8 November 2013

I was pretty disappointed with my recent stay at the Residence Inn. Although out of their control, the TV's were not working which meant no opportunity to check news or local weather. I was appreciative though that the staff member at the front desk offered me a free movie rental as compensation. Also was surprised that my room did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mdtinos
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Good afternoon. Thank you for taking a moment to respond regarding your most recent stay with us. I apologize for the television outage that occurred during your stay. Unfortunatly, Comcast was out in the entire Gold Coast area. We did take the opportunity to change vendors from Comcast to RCN over this extended outage and now have RCN cable in...

Orange, Virginia
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed in hotel on Oct 26 and 27th with my sister and her friend in this hotels suite on the 11th floor at the end of the hall. Suite was nice except the bathroom was very small and when you took a shower the drain took for ever to go down. We would of called maintenance but we were in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cookiesncream76
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed here for a week on business in September. I had a 1 bed suite which was on the top floor and huge, bigger than other Residence Inn's I have stayed in. Everything else about the room was fine, all pretty modern and clean. Bed comfortable. Bathroom was minute and really needed an update. Lift was a bit on the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jtravel1907

110 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#118 of 189 in Chicago
524 reviews
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Streeterville

Neighbourhood Profile
Streeterville
Streeterville is where visitors head for play at Navy Pier, a pseudo amusement park and development of restaurants, shops, rides, and other activities. You’ll find lots of action and excitement on the docks. Along the pier, you’ll see the statue of the captain for whom Streeterville is named. While you enjoy your fair share of sightseeing at the pier, you can also visit other popular attractions there such as the Chicago Children’s Museum and the Chicago Shakespeare Theater. Off the pier you’ll find more restaurants from low-cost pubs to high-end establishments. Arts and culture aficionados should be sure not to miss the Museum of Contemporary Art.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 201 E Walton Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1685 (Formerly Residence Inn Chicago Downtown)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Price Range: $141 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#52 Family Hotel in Chicago
#73 Business Hotel in Chicago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Memphis, Tennessee
Chicago, Illinois
4 months ago
Summit, Mississippi
8 months ago
Michigan
10 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for rooms on higher floors with a view and away from the elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles bostonirish88, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors probably quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Zoxil, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Use AAA for discounts when you can. Ask for complimentary upgrades sometimes you get treated.”
 of 5 bubbles greggah, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The corner rooms are very large, two-room suites”
 of 5 bubbles DavidP272, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room in first floors as the elevators are always busy”
 of 5 bubbles drengytantawy, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay