We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown

1.3 km from Chicago centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
506 W Harrison St, Chicago, IL 60607-4303
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

644 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 599: English reviews
Gold Coast
Reviewed 5 November 2014

I am from Australia (Ex pat Kiwi) and Just attended the NZ All Blacks v USA Eagles rugby match played in Chicago, it is the first time I have stayed in Chicago and the choice I made of staying at the holiday inn downtown was a good one, the staff were very helpful and happy right from check in, the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank seawolfau
HIHS-Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review

Dear seawolfau, Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. I will pass along your comments to Julio and as I know he will be pleased for being recognized for the service he delivered. Also, I know our restaurant and housekeeping staff will enjoy knowing you appreciated the good food and...

Reviewed 2 November 2014

This hotel just a few blocks from the train station, blue line and downtown is super convenient. Everyone we had contact with including the front desk staff, restaurant staff, and valet were helpful and friendly. Management is visible with the assistant general manager even visiting the tables in the restaurant. Price? We paid $169/night (before taxes) on a weekend!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sandy g
HIHS-Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review

Dear sandy g, Thank you very much for leaving a great review about your stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. It was a pleasure reading that your experience was enjoyable. I will certainly share your sentiments with my entire team. Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you back. Warm Regards, Nitin Talati General Manager...

Elkhart, Indiana, United States
Reviewed 21 October 2014

The outside of the building is dated, the lobby is small and had a stranger odor. The lobby was also small and the couches blocked the elevators (it was difficult to get luggage and people in and out of them. But, the customer service was really good (very friendly and helpful). Our room was really nice, good bed, decent shower,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kimberly574
HIHS-Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Kimberly574, Thank you for taking to leave a review about your recent stay. I am happy to hear that service was good and that your room was nice. I do want to share that we are still undergoing updating the property to create a better experience for all of our guests. I hope the next time you visit you...

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 18 October 2014 via mobile

Disclaimer: We are far from hotel snobs. Beyond the excellent service at the front desk and hot water this place is a dilapidated disaster inside. The building sits next to a very busy & noisy highway, for starters -- you will be reminded every few minutes throughout the night. Couple this with a $400/night charge on peak weekends and you've...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MauiBound53
HIHS-Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review

Dear MauiBound53, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review about your recent stay. We are extremely disappointed to hear of your dissatisfaction and to that I apologize profusely. It is our goal to make each guest experience positive and enjoyable. If at all possible, I would love to speak with you offline to discuss your experience further....

Kincardine, Canada
Reviewed 16 October 2014

We made the mistake of booking our trip the same weekend as the Chicago Marathon. Wow, did that ever jack up the price. They charged us 350 for the Sat night. Waaaaaayyyy too much, though it was our own fault. Hotel staff were very nice and very helpful. Room was okay, starting to show its age and could have used...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Migal12
HIHS-Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Migal12, Thank you for staying with us during a busy time in Chicago. I sincerely apologize about the bedding as we only offer double and king size beds. Also, the keys to your rooms should not demagnetize in your wallet but does happen when placed next to a cell phone or through metal detectors. Thank you for letting me...

Ogden, Utah
Reviewed 14 October 2014

The staff was great, the rooms were very comfortable, the fitness and business centers were very functional, free wi-fi, etc. Very conveniently located for the budget-minded traveler (not quite the premiums you would pay if you stay on Wabash or Michigan.) My only reason for knocking it down one grade is that I was traveling for a tax-exempt organization. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank n3103f
HIHS-Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review

Dear n3103f, Thank you very much for the 4 star review and for being my guest. I want to apologize on behalf of my entire team for what you experience as our goal was to have you leave happy. Upon review of your comments, I can completely understand how you must have felt with the tax exempt policy which was...

Kingdom city
Reviewed 11 October 2014 via mobile

Had to be moved from first "nonsmoking" room because of intense stale smoke smell. Second room also very old and run down! Bathroom door would not fully close because of decay of door... Tv blurry, sink and tub dirty. Very much in desperate need of major renovation! Left early to find another hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simsfamily4
HIHS-Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Simsfamily4, Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave your review about your stay. I am extremely disappointed to hear of your dissatisfaction and I apologize on behalf of my entire team for the inconveniences you experienced. I have immediately addressed the concerns you mentioned as my goal is to not just meet but...

Manassas, Virginia
Reviewed 3 October 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and found this to be a suitable property. Double beds were queen sized and comfortable although one of the beds had an inward slope due to overuse. Clean bathroom. Good location on Blue Line. Need to walk a few blocks to restaurants. Downside: bathroom had slight sewage smell. Don't eat at the overpriced restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
HIHS-Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Dave C, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your recent stay. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your overall stay despite the bathroom and bed issue. I have already assigned tasks to my maintenance and housekeeping team to correct such items in all guests’ rooms. Thanks again for sharing and hope to have the...

Effingham, Illinois
Reviewed 30 September 2014 via mobile

Let me start by saying the staff is great and seems to enjoy being here. With that said the hotel location is not the best, near the freeway and has a run down and abandoned building, very close by. Like a lot of Holiday Inns the hotel is showing it age and is in need of a complete makeover.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
HIHS-Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Bruce B, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are extremely disappointed to hear of your dissatisfaction as our goal is to not just meet but exceed our guests’ expectations. I am delighted to inform you that we are in the process of updating our lobby to create a better guest experience. I hope you...

Olympia
Reviewed 26 September 2014

Yikes, Chicago really can have expensive hotels. Don't stay here. Room on 4th floor was near highway, and yes it was loud. AC controls were strange and didn't seem to work. Room was hot and stuffy. Lobby is under construction...wasn't mentioned when I made the booking. Bottom line: Not worth it. find another place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JeffOlympia
HIHS-Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Recent Guest, Thank you for taking the time let us know about your stay. We were in the process of making improvements to the property to create a better guest experience. I truly am very sorry that you were not made aware of the lobby update and that the a/c controls in your room were not working properly. Please...

493 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (358)
Viewed
ADA Accessible Room (33)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Double Bedroom (33)
Viewed
Double Bedroom Suite (55)
Viewed
King Bedroom (38)
Viewed
King Suite (58)
Viewed
Pool (4)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
West Loop
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago West Loop
Downtown / The Loop
The Buckingham Club
The Buckingham Club
#124 of 186 in Chicago
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn(R) & Suites Chicago - Downtown conveniently located near the Chicago Loop, and other prominent area attractions. We are steps away from the CTA Clinton Blue Line station on South Clinton Street and I-290 on South Canal Street, this Chicago hotel is perfect for leisure and business travelers. What's exciting is vacationers are surrounded by Willis Tower, the Museum Campus, Soldier Field and more when they stay in downtown Chicago. Our business travelers appreciate our hotel's location, meeting rooms space of 2,000 sq. ft., free Wi-Fi access, an extensive fitness center, a seasonal outdoor rooftop pool and dining facilities. Clearly, with these choice amenities and prices, it's easy to see why guests prefer us to other hotels in Chicago, IL. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown

Address: 506 W Harrison St, Chicago, IL 60607-4303
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Price Range: $145 - $494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Holiday Inn Downtown
Chicago Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#84 Family Hotel in Chicago
#86 Business Hotel in Chicago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask! The staff will have definite recommendations based on your needs!”
 of 5 bubbles colebt1, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one with a microwave and refrigerator”
 of 5 bubbles starladydiva, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“easy to find on the Chicago Loop”
 of 5 bubbles taybugc, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the front (parking lot) should be more a little more quiet than to the back facing a main street”
 of 5 bubbles Yetitraveler, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All Rooms are Very Good & Clean”
 of 5 bubbles emeri2t, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5