We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove
See the most recent reviews
Showing 208: English reviews
Countryside, Illinois
Reviewed 24 December 2015

Looks newly renovated, comfortable beds, hardwood floors, great pillows and linens, nice selection of tv channels, clean, safe neighborhood, in the middle of shopping, movie theatres, restaurants galore, Olive Garden within walking distance, convenient lighted parking, wifi. Cannot imagine anyone being disappointed at the price. And Shelton, the front desk clerk, should be working at a 5 star resort. Some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Molly10150
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your wonderful review! We pride ourselves on employing individuals who define the meaning of having a hospitality heart. I am pleased to hear that our newest member Shelton exhibited that behavior and equally pleased to hear that our recent renovation was pleasing to your eye. I have shared your feedback with him an the entire team...

Reviewed 19 December 2015 via mobile

As soon I walked in to the lobby I knew this stay would be great! Let's just start with check in, as soon as I walked in I was greeted by a nice gentleman with a bright smile I didn't get his name but he was very accommodating and helpful, as I was checking in the GM Erica was walking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vpink_90
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We love hearing from our guest about their stay. It is extremely nice to see that we have exceeded your expectations and it is always an added bonus to know that I personally was able to leave a lasting impression with a satisfied guest. As you mention in your review...

Westmont, Illinois
Reviewed 16 December 2015

I'm not the type of person who can leave her dog behind in a kennel, so finding a hotel that accepts pets is first on my criteria. I was pleasantly surprised on the staff friendliness. Uchie had been extremely warm and welcoming. She had even given me a treat for my dog which I couldn’t have appreciated more.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank V_Read24
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewed 9 December 2015

The staff was very friendly, professional, and helpful. The room was nicely set up and clean. Nice tv, cable and great free wifi. 100% smoke free and no bad fumes in the room. Parking lot well lit and close to room. Only negative was hard pillows.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Casey C
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to fill out a review and for making other travelers aware of the friendly service that the entire staff at Chicago-Downers Grove provided. We take pride in making sure our guest are confident with our product, delighted in the service they receive and fill that we have significantly met or exceeded there needs....

Downers Grove, Illinois
Reviewed 3 December 2015

The most affordable in the area everywhere else is the area is almost double the rate. The service is great, the front desk guy Shelton was very accommodating and helpful, he told me about the area and what shopping places and dinning places were around me. If i stay at the Red Roof Inn again i hope Shelton is working.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NETP420
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review. I have shared your feedback with Shelton, and he was overwhelmed with joy from your comments. We take pride in making our guest feel confident, significant and delight in the service and quality, and we were pleased to hear the you enjoyed your stay at our location. Please consider...

Reviewed 22 November 2015 via mobile

Came to Chicagoland area for a job interview. The gentleman that help me check and assist with directions was very helpful. The room was very clean and well maintained. Thanks you to red roof and thank you shelton.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terrell M
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to fill out a review and for making other travelers aware of the friendly service that the entire staff at Chicago-Downers Grove provided. We take pride in making sure our guest are confident with our product, delighted in the service they receive and fill that we have significantly met or exceeded there needs....

Downers Grove, Illinois
Reviewed 19 November 2015

I booked this hotel from Expedia not knowing it was far from my meeting place and got there around mid night. There was no restaurant of fast food places open that late in this area. The night auditor was extremely helpful offered me help and food. Uchi really made the huge difference to remove my frustration. I would not mind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rumi C
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. Uchita is one of our team members that is dedicated to our success and it is always a pleasure when our guest recognize his great customer service. I have shared your review with Uchita and the entire staff and on behalf of my team, we would like to say thank you. Feedback is always...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 11 November 2015

The room was pretty basic which is okay. I kind of wish that they put a little microwave and fridge in there for people who stay for a minute. The toilet was messed up, but it didn't bother me since I'm pretty handy. The people at the front desk were friendly and very helpful! Good place for the price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deme D
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review. I have shared your feedback with the entire team, and they were overwhelmed with joy from your comments. We take pride in making our guest feel confident, significant and delight in the service and quality, and we were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our location....

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 8 November 2015

Everything was good. The only issue the door stuck. Probably something that can be solved with WD-40 & a sander. Other than that, nice simple room. Nothing too extravagant. I did like the hardwood floors and the carpet in between the beds. Great touch! Shower was AMAZING! Love the water pressure. Everything was right. Shelton Powell helped out tremendously with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ll3636
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit. As you mentioned in your review all of our rooms feature new hardwood flooring and also the carpet surrounding the bedroom area. Again thank you for your review and please...

Menasha, Wisconsin
Reviewed 8 November 2015

This is my first ever review for a hotel and I had to say something because we had a horrible experience with this place! When we walked in the room washed over us with a strong smell of bleach! It was so bad that after our one night stay my son and I had a headache from it! The bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank marycl2015
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

Dear marycl2015, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and please accept my sincerest apology for the conditions you encountered in your room. Rest assured, this is not our standard practice. We never want to disappoint our guests with uncomfortable or unclean conditions in their room. I am very sorry we did not provide you with proper...

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downers Grove
0.9 km away
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
#5 of 7 in Downers Grove
79 reviews
1.6 km away
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove
2.0 km away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
1.5 km away
Stay Inn Lombard
Stay Inn Lombard
#3 of 10 in Lombard
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Red Roof Inn Chicago - Downers Grove is conveniently located off of I-88 at Butterfield Road, convenient to Lombard, Downers Grove and Oak Brook. This hotel is located within walking distance of Yorktown Mall, a movie theater and many great restaurants. Features include complimentary wireless internet, guest laundry, and flat-screen TVs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove

Address: 1113 Butterfield Rd, Downers Grove, IL 60515-1057
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Downers Grove
Price Range: $70 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downers Grove Hotel Downers Grove
Red Roof Inn Downers Grove
Downers Grove Red Roof Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Second floor rooms with fridge are best”
 of 5 bubbles Allan2, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“They do allow pets and there was a dog next door that did bark but only maybe twice - and very briefly”
 of 5 bubbles scottj924, 10 Mar 2016 | Read review
“quiet place”
 of 5 bubbles ggiraldo2002, 17 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good - nice layout.”
 of 5 bubbles markpN9916RI, 16 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room near the lobby. We stayed near the back near the highway and you could hear the cars driving by.”
 of 5 bubbles ll3636, 8 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5