We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Irish Cottage Inn & Suites

Save
Share
9853 W US Highway 20, Galena, IL 61036-9186
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$134
TravelocityUS$134
TripadvisorUS$134
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
Agoda.comUS$154
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (336)
Room & Suite (78)
Dining (32)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 11 hotels in Galena
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Finding an ideal romantic hotel in Galena does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Irish Cottage Inn & Suites, a nice option for travelers like you. Nearby landmarks such as Washburne House State Historic Site (0.5 mi) and Belvedere Mansion (0.6 mi) make Irish Cottage Inn & Suites a great place to stay when visiting Galena. Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a refrigerator, and Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel makes getting online easy as free wifi is available. In addition, guests can enjoy a pool and free breakfast during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests. When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out Los Aztecas II, Campeche Restaurant, and Ayalas Las Margarita, which are some Mexican restaurants that are popular with locals and out-of-towners alike. Should time allow, Ulysses S. Grant Home is a popular attraction that is within walking distance. Irish Cottage Inn & Suites looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Galena.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Hiking
Evening entertainment
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Centrally Located
1067Reviews18Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 703
  • 252
  • 78
  • 19
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ms. Marcie wrote a review Yesterday
7 contributions10 helpful votes
My husband and I came to Galena for a short, relaxing getaway. The hotel room was nice and comfy. The staff was friendly. The continental breakfast was plentiful in amount of food and options available. We enjoyed the hot tub and swimming pool. The hotel had the transportation schedule, as well as a listing of restaurants in Galena, which were very helpful. Coffee was available all day and, although I didn't make it, the tea time was a cool offering.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
JoeDiamondLive wrote a review 20 Nov
Crystal Lake, Illinois50 contributions7 helpful votes
Fifth Time is the Best Time! We’ve stayed here multiple times over the years, even honeymoon’d here, and they keep getting better & adding value. The new shuttle service is SUCH an appreciated added value, and Brian the driver is so thoughtful, communicative, and accommodating. Quick Story: He warned us that he also had to pick up a group of five bar hopping gals on a girls trip and when they asked him to put on some music, the man tells us he used to be in a band and full on starts BELTING Journey while driving us back from downtown. Never in my life have I seen five loud drunk party girls INSTANTLY get quiet & listen so quickly! It was astounding. Put BRIAN on stage! The Added Breakfast and Afternoon Tea are also fantastic add ons.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
mdabhaynes_12 wrote a review 14 Nov
Dallas Center, Iowa56 contributions49 helpful votes
The Irish Cottage Inn & Suites was conveniently located in Galena. We rented a Studio King with a view. The view is of the "valley side" of the property, which includes a parking lot. (Not that great of a view.) The room was spacious and comfortable. The pillows smelled musty, but the bedding itself was nice. The staff at the hotel and Frank O'Dowd's were wonderful and the food was quite good. It's a fun place to stay if you're looking for something other than the average hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Barbara H wrote a review 14 Nov
+1
Beautiful room appointments. Loved the shuttle service to the shops and back. Included was a great Irish styled breakfast. We also ate dinner there and there was entertainment. The only drawback was the check-in time.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kylie V wrote a review Oct 2022
Dundee, Illinois33 contributions28 helpful votes
Charming, old hotel. Very clean and bed was comfy. Friendly staff. Would stay here again. Was pretty disappointed in the hot breakfast that is included. All food items were cold and the fruit was rotten. Apparently, they have their own walking trail located behind the hotel. Wish we would’ve had time to explore this. Shuttle was very convenient and prompt, especially during a weekend of the Halloween parade. Thanks to our driver, Brian!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: I would avoid Halloween weekend! Too many people!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Amy G wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
Very clean! Friendly, helpful, perfect! The shuttle was so convenient. We were able to leave the car at the hotel! ‘Brian on the spot’ had us back and forth at our convenience the whole weekend! We’ll be back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Karen T wrote a review Oct 2022
10 contributions1 helpful vote
Awesome experience. The hotel was very quiet and comfortable. We had Irish tea time in library and little snacks were perfect. The Irish Dowd Pub next door had delicious food and drinks. We would highly recommend!! We definitely will be back ! Next time we will go on Thursday/ Friday/Saturday to see the entertainment in the pub.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mark D wrote a review Oct 2022
We heard the food was great and the experience was warm and charming. The staff did not disappoint. We had the best waitress....her name was Megan. We will definitely be back for more. It will be sooner than later. My girlfriend won't stop talking about the great time we had.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: No, go experience it. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Tim M wrote a review Oct 2022
We chose this hotel because of the pub and restaurant on premise only to find out when we arrived they were closed for the day as they upgraded their POS system. Very disappointed since no mention of this was made at time of reservation and no offer to provide a discount for the inconvenience. We had to leave the premise for dinner and drive somewhere for dinner. Since we have difficulty seeing at dark this was extremely hazardous. They need to do a better job communicating or offering more than an apology.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Make ure pib and restaurant qill be open!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Krystle Hewitt, General Manager at Irish Cottage Inn & Suites
Responded 2 weeks ago
We appreciate your feedback and review of your stay experience at The Irish Cottage Inn & Suites. Our goal on property is to make sure that each guest has the best stay experience possible. We are sorry that the installation of the new system closed the restaurant while you were staying on property. We do understand the frustration this may have caused since you were looking for the convenience of the restaurant be open onsite. Our team will continue to work on our communication and service levels to better provide for you as a future guest. We do hope you will give us a chance to regain your confidence on a future visit. Please do not hesitate to reach out to our on property management team for further assistance.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carrie S. wrote a review Oct 2022
2 contributions
My husband and I were visiting Galena and stopped in for dinner and some drinks. The food was excellent and our server Meg was so friendly and professional. We just loved the atmosphere. We will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$122 - US$204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
irish cottage hotel, irish cottage galena
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisGalena
NUMBER OF ROOMS
75
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

IRISH COTTAGE INN & SUITES: UPDATED 2022 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 351 Photos (Galena, IL) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Irish Cottage Inn & Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Irish Cottage Inn & Suites?
Nearby attractions include Psychic Medium Chris McBrien (1.3 km), P.T. Murphy Magic Theatre (1.4 km), and Ulysses S. Grant Home (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Irish Cottage Inn & Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Irish Cottage Inn & Suites?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Irish Cottage Inn & Suites?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Irish Cottage Inn & Suites?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Irish Cottage Inn & Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Frank O'Dowd's Irish Pub, Fried Green Tomatoes, and Fritz and Frites.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Irish Cottage Inn & Suites?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Irish Cottage Inn & Suites offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Irish Cottage Inn & Suites?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ulysses S. Grant Home (0.7 km), Root Beer Revelry (1.3 km), and Dowling House (1.4 km).
Is Irish Cottage Inn & Suites accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.