We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Goldmoor Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Goldmoor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

479 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Goldmoor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 477: English reviews
Rockford, Illinois
Reviewed 7 February 2017

We have stayed at the Goldmoor Inn many times and have loved it each time. We were traveling and made a point of arriving at dinner time so we could enjoy the beautiful scenery and have a wonderful dinner. The food is always fabulous and presented beautifully. Slobo and Brigit are perfect hosts and always eager to help in anyway...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MeLisa1357
goldmoor, Owner at Goldmoor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Melisa, thank you for your nice review and beautiful comments. We aim to make you feel at home and be part of the Goldmoor family. We look forward to your next visit.

Peoria, Illinois
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Our stay at the Goldmoor Inn was everything we hoped it would be and more. This was our first time staying in the Irish Cottage. It was so relaxing! The grounds are beautiful, as is the Inn. The staff was very welcoming. We enjoyed breakfast in our room both mornings and dinner in the restaurant was elegant. The trip to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sstcerny
goldmoor, Owner at Goldmoor Inn, responded to this review

Dear sstcerny Thank you for your feed back and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return visit to experience the most beautiful sunsets over the river.

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 24 January 2017

The Goldmoor Inn is a hidden gem! It is a unique, quaint bed and breakfast located very close to downtown Galena. Once we knew where we were going, we made the drive between the Goldmoor and Galena's town center within twelve minutes. At first we were concerned about booking a place that was not right in town, but we are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dgainor
goldmoor, Owner at Goldmoor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Deena, thank you for your detailed feed back we are thrilled that you had such a good time and we loved having you as our guests. Our aim is to make each guest feel at home and become part of the Goldmoor family. We look forward to having you visit again soon.

Okawville, Illinois
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Our second visit to the Goldmoor Inn was a pleasure and a delight. Slobo and Ingird are the perfect hosts and do all they can to make your stay comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable. It's our special occasion place to stay and we get pampered! From the outstanding room décor, whirlpool bath and heated towel bars, to the delicious breakfast served...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
goldmoor, Owner at Goldmoor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ron thank you for sharing such a wonderful experience. We are delighted that you had a great relaxing time. It is our aim to ensure that each guest feels at home and has an opportunity to relax and unwind. We want to pair your room experience with the culinary experience and I am happy that we were successful. We...

Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

It was great getting away from the city noise and being surrounded by nature...trees, birds, stars. Great food, wonderful accommodations. Very relaxing. Beautiful views of the Mississippi River from one side, forest from the other side. Will definitely be back!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JoannHL
goldmoor, Owner at Goldmoor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Joann thank you for sharing your Goldmoor experience. At the Goldmoor our goal is to ensure that all guests feel at home when here and have an opportunity to unwind and relax. I am glad we were successful. Please come visit again soon.

Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Baby it was cold outside but so romantic and cozy in the Timberland cabin. The cabin was clean and had all the necessities. It was still decorated for Christmas which was so charming, and the lights on the Christmas tree made it even more romantic. The grounds were lovely and well kept despite the wintery weather. We went to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nora B
goldmoor, Owner at Goldmoor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Nora, thank you for sharing your Goldmoor experience. We appreciate your feed back and are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcome you again in the future.k

Forest Park, United States
Reviewed 5 December 2016

What a fantastic location for our retreat. The Goldmoor Inn is away from the hustle and bustle of the city, which was great for our retreat. The suites were immaculately decorated and oh so comfortable with a king size bed, fireplace, and hot tub in each one. I loved that each room's decor was connected to a theme. The owners...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Belinda J
goldmoor, Owner at Goldmoor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Belinda thank you for your nice comments and sharing your experience. We loved having you group and you are correct it is the perfect place to unwind and relax. We look forward to welcome you again soon.

Reviewed 5 December 2016

The rooms were quite outdated and our particular room smelled like smoke. Breakfast was not what I would consider to be gourmet. There were no special touches to make us feel welcome. The grounds were pretty and well maintained.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cindy T
goldmoor, Owner at Goldmoor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Cindy, thank you for your feed back. I apologize that you felt the room smelled of smoke. We are a smoke free Inn and I am sorry for the inconvenience. As to the furniture you are correct our suites are not suites that have modern minimalist furniture. The concept of the Goldmoor is a castle and with that each...

Los Angeles
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

The Goldmoor's rooms in person are just as adorable and comfortable as advertised on the website, and the grounds are serene and beautiful. We were very disappointed with the quality of breakfast. I know a mass produced muffin or waffle when I see/taste one, and had a hard time believing that the baked goods that comprised most of breakfast during...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LizziH
goldmoor, Owner at Goldmoor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Lizzi, thank you for your feed back we do take all comments seriously and are very disappointing that we did not hit the mark with breakfast.Our baked goods as well as Waffles are made fresh and I apologize if they did not meet your approval.However we are always eager to please and able to accommodate specific wishes for breakfast....

Mount Prospect, Illinois
Reviewed 28 November 2016

What a great place to stay. Just a 6 mile ride to Galena and definitely worth it. Wonderful owners, great breakfasts (free with our stay). The turret (our room) was awesome- fit for royalty! Looking forward to going there again.................soon!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wsiglasky
goldmoor, Owner at Goldmoor Inn, responded to this review

Dear wisglasky, thank you for your nice review. I hope we crowned you Queen and King which is what happens when you stay at the Turret. Please come visit again for another relaxing weekend.

232 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (217)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
12.5 km away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
12.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
10.6 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
9.3 km away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
7.4 km away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Grand deluxe suites, elegant cottages and cabins overlooking the Mississippi River just south of Galena. All accommodations have king beds, private two person whirlpool, fireplace, full private bath. Breakfast is included. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Goldmoor Inn

Address: 9001 Sand Hill Road, Galena, IL 61036
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Price Range: $470 - $565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldmoor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Goldmoor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldmoor Hotel Galena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Goldmoor Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Goldmoor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Irish Cottage has a beautiful view of the Mississippi River.”
 of 5 bubbles ccorral0609, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the Lancelot room and loved it! Spacious, clean and romantic! We felt like we were the only people around even though every room was full! It was the best romantic weeekend we've had!”
 of 5 bubbles CristaJoy, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pick second floor and the riverside for the rooms. The cottages have a great view also.”
 of 5 bubbles susanwS8866JD, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“You can view all the rooms on the web site. We picked the Mississippi Suite for the views.”
 of 5 bubbles paths1, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There are rooms with views of the river and there are cabins in the woods. All are very tasteful”
 of 5 bubbles 708robertc, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5