We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western Galena Inn & Suites

Save
Share
9923 W US Route 20, Galena, IL 61036-9187
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$119
View deal
Traveluro
US$108
View deal
Booking.comUS$119
PricelineUS$119
FindHotelUS$119
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (166)
Room & Suite (179)
Dining (6)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 08/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 08/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 11 hotels in Galena
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Newly remodeled large rooms! Newly remodeled bathrooms! New lobby and new hallways! Located 1/2 mile from downtown Main Street Galena. Free hot breakfast with stay. Indoor/ outdoor pool, fitness center. We have unique themed/fantasy suites room.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Patio
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Parking
Wifi
Paid internet
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Business Centre with Internet Access
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Green
Languages Spoken
English
874Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 460
  • 251
  • 92
  • 43
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
FNB924 wrote a review 7 Sep
1 contribution
We stayed for a wedding and checked in a day early to explore the town which is 3 minutes down the road. We reserved the Crystal Cave room which is located on the lower level. The hallways immediately smelled musky and mildewy. The room theme was unique and there was a lot of effort put into it. If the room didn’t feel damp and smell like mold and mildew it would have been a good stay. The carpet was wet and stained and the door jams had black mold. The bathroom door did not shut and there were several lights that needed to be replaced, thus making the room dark as well as damp, taking the Cave theme to a new level. We spoke to other family and their rooms on different floors smelled as well. You could see they knew there was a problem because there were dehumidifiers throughout the hallways but it just didn’t help.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Best Western Galena Inn & Suites
Responded 2 weeks ago
FNB924, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We sincerely apologize that your room was less than acceptable at our motel. We can assure you that this is not a typical experience. We continually strive to ensure that our rooms smell fresh and clean without the unpleasant smell evidence. If you are unsatisfied with your room, we always try to relocate should the rooms be available. We are sorry that circumstances prevented you from asking for another room or letting us know that you were not happy with your accommodations as we certainly would do everything possible to correct the matter. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations should your travels bring you back to our area.
Read more
Dick P wrote a review Jul 2021
Charleston SC79 contributions45 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
This inn is located on US20 about 1 mile from downtown Galena. Very clean throughout. The basic room was spacious, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was good and tables were spaced. Each room has a small balcony with 2 chairs and a table. Not the Ritz but very comfortable for the price.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Best Western Galena Inn & Suites
Responded 25 Jul 2021
990dickp, Thank you very much for your great review of our hotel! We appreciate your compliments on our cleanliness, breakfast service and we take high pride in the peaceful ambiance that we can provide to our guests. We hope to see you stay with us more in the future as we promise to push our services better to provide you the most pleasant stay that you can find. We thank you that highlighted our strengths in your review. May you return again soon and feel at home just like the last time!
Read more
Big Ballin Ass Pipefitter wrote a review 1 Sep
Milan, Illinois40 contributions23 helpful votes
Let me start by saying Galena is BEAUTIFUL! Such a neat little community with lots of great shops and restaurants. Ok now about this basic Best Western With the craziest inflated prices I've ever seen. This room anywhere else in the country would have cost $110. I promised I would take my girlfriend to Galena on her birthday. I waited for way too long evidently. When I went to book a bed and breakfast they were all booked. I was left with no other choice. I had to go with the BW because they had the only lodging in town. I paid $250 for one night! I never felt so robbed by a hotel in my life. What makes this even worse . Its ran by Foreign owners that most likely pay 0 taxes. This place should be ashamed of the price gouging they are doing to hard-working Americans in the middle of a pandemic. Sunday I went down for breakfast at 6 am just to get ran out of the breakfast room. The guy working said I couldn't eat until 7am lol what a joke. Do yourself a favor sleep in your vehicle before spending a dollar with these crooks.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Best Western Galena Inn & Suites
Responded 3 weeks ago
Mark M, Thank you for sharing your experience, and we are so sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectations of quality service and accommodations. We do want you to know that we take guest comments very seriously and that all of the issues you've brought to our attention are being promptly addressed, including the breakfast hour service. Please know your voice is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to try to make improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for our guests in the future.
Read more
tace0289 wrote a review Aug 2021
Belfast, United Kingdom2 contributions
My husband and I stayed in the Caveman fantasy suite for our 12 yr anniversary. The room itself was so cool! I loved the theme. The shower was awesome, it also offered a jacuzzi tub and sauna. The bed and pillows were comfy too. The waterfall wasn't working in the jacuzzi though and the room smelt like smoke even though it's supposed to be non-smoking. Other than that, it was completely worth it.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Best Western Galena Inn & Suites
Responded 4 weeks ago
tace0289, Thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with our services and amenities. We seek to give each guest a very comfortable and accommodating experience and we are thrilled to hear of our success in this ambition. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, though we do apologize for the smell of smoke that you experienced in your room. While we do not allow guests to smoke in non-smoking rooms, it occasionally happens that they do and your feedback will help us to address the issue more effectively. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Read more
Mike H wrote a review Aug 2021
Phoenix, Arizona1857 contributions402 helpful votes
This BW is on the way out of town on 20 but it is quiet and does have a restaurant within walking distance. There is no elevator so if you have walking problems make sure you let them know when you register. The rooms have balconies on the second floor which is nice when the weather is cool. Breakfast is ok. Sevice was fine and for the area the price is good.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Best Western Galena Inn & Suites
Responded 16 Aug 2021
Mike H, Thank you very much for your great review of our hotel! We appreciate your compliments and we take high pride in the peaceful ambiance that we can provide to our guests. We hope to see you stay with us more in the future as we promise to push our services better to provide you the most pleasant stay that you can find. We thank you that you highlighted our strengths in your review. May you return again soon and feel at home just like the last time!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$66 - US$167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western designer hotel galena, best western galena, galena best western
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisGalena
NUMBER OF ROOMS
41
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Galena Inn & Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Galena Inn & Suites?
Nearby attractions include Psychic Medium Chris McBrien (1.2 km), P.T. Murphy Magic Theatre (1.3 km), and Great American Popcorn Company (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Galena Inn & Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western Galena Inn & Suites?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Galena Inn & Suites?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Galena Inn & Suites?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Galena Inn & Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fried Green Tomatoes, Fritz and Frites, and Otto's Place.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Best Western Galena Inn & Suites?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western Galena Inn & Suites?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ulysses S. Grant Home (0.6 km), Root Beer Revelry (1.2 km), and Washburne House State Historic Site (0.7 km).
Is Best Western Galena Inn & Suites accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.