We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wick House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Wick House
View Map
Add a photo
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Wick House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 64: English reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2016

Tea, homemade cake and scones on arrival in the garden was a wonderful introduction to a one night visit whilst walking with five friends. Sheila and Philip are excellent hosts who create a relaxed atmosphere in comfortable accommodation. Sheila even rang me a few weeks beforehand to tell me I had been overcharged when booking!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
WickHouse, Owner at Wick House, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to meet you all. Hope the walk wasn't too arduous from here, and you all enjoyed the rest of your adventure. Sheila

Yeovil
Reviewed 29 April 2016

A lovely large warm room, and the best food we had over the 14 nights we were away. A great big farm style cooked breakfast with black pudding and the perfect poached egg. Wicke House are very used to walkers (hence the big breakfast!); particularly with Stogumber being so well situated for the Quantocks. They run a service dropping and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AngeHardy
Brixham
Reviewed 28 September 2015

We had booked a short stay of three nights to be away from the hustle of daily life and the hassle, for my wife, of running a busy law practice! Where did we book? Wick House, of course, our favourite little hideaway. As usual Sheila and Phillip made us extremely welcome and this time it really was a case of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Guy T
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2015

We booked this B & B on a recommendation, staying overnight on Sunday for £85.00 a room including breakfast. The owners were very welcoming when we arrived. The whole place was a bit of a rabbit warren, but charming nonetheless. We were allocated room 9, on the ground floor, which was very spacious, with an extremely large bed and appeared...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FullboardBilly
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

Excellent hosts, we were made to feel very welcome. Comfortable and very clean, good breakfast with lots of choice. Really spacious room (no.2). We arrived at 8pm, had phoned 30 minutes earlier to enquire about food, and when we arrived Sheila had already phoned the local pub and reserved a table for us. Thanks for a lovely stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Penfold95
Shifnal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2015

Lovely welcome from hosts, cakes and tea, rooms adequate for what you pay, lovely breakfast and welcoming atmosphere, definatly stay again. Had a large family of 12 staying at same time but the noise could not be heard and had a great night sleep. Nothing too much trouble for hosts even told family about church services in area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jakid_1512
Martock, Somerset
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

Went to a wedding this weekend and stayed at Wick house . what a lovely little place , Phillip and sheila are a really nice couple offering tea and cake in the garden and god that women can bake "good cake". Good nights sleep and then treated to scrambled egg and salmon in the morning. Good portion and really enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank samboyaknow
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2015

This B & B was booked at short notice by my employers due to a forced stay over on business in Taunton, after a stressful drive I was heartily welcomed by the owners and offered tea and scrummy home made flapjack which I had in the garden, nice comfy clean room, good bed and en-suite, breakfast (full English) was one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel C
Reviewed 28 June 2015

I was travelling with a friend and as I am in a wheelchair and we were arriving at Stogumber steam railway station, some distance away, the owners of Wick House offered to collect us,which I thought was very kind. However, it was a lovely day, so we walked/rode and arrived at about 4pm. Upon ringing the bell, we were immediately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank silentcat
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 June 2015

An old school friend and I stayed here recently for 2 nights. Lovely welcome from Sheila and Philip - they made us feel very welcome - tea/coffee and a home made sponge cake on arrival. The rooms were lovely, spotless, comfortable and homely with all required facilities. Wonderful breakfast. Local, very friendly pub nearby for meals. We'll definitely be making...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan B

10 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stogumber
8.0 km away
Castle of Comfort Country House
18.1 km away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
611 reviews
0.0 km away
The Notley Arms Inn
The Notley Arms Inn
#1 of 2 in Monksilver
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Hartwood House
Hartwood House
#10 of 55 in Taunton
104 reviews
4.1 km away
Catwell House
Catwell House
#4 of 55 in Taunton
140 reviews
6.0 km away
Wood Advent Farm
Wood Advent Farm
#3 of 10 in Watchet
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wick House is a charming old family house in a picturesque West Somerset village.Situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty, Stogumber nestles between the Quantock and Brendon Hills of Exmoor National Park. A warm welcome awaits you from hosts, Sheila and Philip. We offer a friendly atmosphere and a high standard of accommodation.Disabled accommodation with wheelchair access is available.Breakfasts and evening meals are cooked on the premises using the best local foods available. Try Wick House for a relaxing break. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wick House

Address: Brook Street, Stogumber TA4 3SZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Stogumber
Price Range: $123 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wick House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Wick House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wick House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Few rooms but all great!”
 of 5 bubbles bettae2016, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 8 is quiet and has a view over the pretty back garden.”
 of 5 bubbles JennyandJohn15, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room 1. Can't fault it.”
 of 5 bubbles NannyS1965, 3 May 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms are great, and there's even one downstairs for those who can't manage stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles PhotobugsUK, 18 Nov 2014 | Read review
“All of the rooms are excellent but especially the ground floor room which is set up for the disabled with its own entrance from the parking area. No steps. The Bathroom is well appointed with hand held shower and bars. A shower stool is also provided.”
 of 5 bubbles H2936BGmartinh, 21 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5