We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bamboozi Beach Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inhambane Province
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Bamboozi Beach Lodge
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 53: English reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

We were a group of friends who stayed here. The place has a lot of potential, but it is a bit run down. I think a revamp will be great for this place. The setting was nice. Its one of the last resorts on the beach, so is quite a bit away from the busier areas, so its nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RemmertMalan
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 26 November 2014

I love backpacking okay, it's my thing, I've stayed in some of the best hotels in the world and they do not compare to the conversational and laid back experience of an excellent backpackers. Excellent being the antithesis of Bamboozi Lodge. If excellent were matter - Bamboozi is the thing that ate it. We had taken a chapa (minibus taxi)...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kgosi M
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 22 July 2014

It's beachfront placement is just about the biggest and only real advantage of Bamboozi. We couldn't find room in the dorm, so we took one of the huts, which proved pretty uninspiring and damp. It's also "half-a-day's" walk from the main market, which is a great inconveniance. Spend a few nights there in mid-2010.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank krajeski
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I absolutely loved my time at Bamboozi Beach Lodge. (It says June 2013, but I was there in 2009). I stayed in a bamboo beach hut on stilts with 3 other backpackers, the showers were built in to drain through the floor. The coastline is breathtaking. I took my PADI Open Water and was spoilt with the underwater life! I've...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dapper_Dan_56
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Tofu, Inhambane is the most magical place on Earth! Bamboozi was wonderful, friendly staff, comfortable and clean accommodation, great bar and food. Lots to do and the diving is absolutely awesome! Best to have a vehicle with you (4x4 recommended) as then you can visit the other attractions nearby. Bamboozi is just outside of Tofu and a visit to the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LisaRentzke
centurion
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Just came back from a weeks stay at Bamboozi. We booked the main dorm that sleeps 14adults. Bamboozi is ideal for the young at heart travelers looking for a place to rest. The dorms are clean and basic and the bathrooms are clean. What more does a backpacker need when travelng in Mozambique. We even had warm water. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank monique b
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Bamboozi and the Mozambique vibe in and around Tofo. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future...

Ostersund, Sweden
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This was our first stop on our 1 month-long backpacking trip trough southern Africa. We flew from Stockholm to Maputo, the capital of Mozambique, and then took a bus from there up to Praia de Tofo. The bus ride took about 6 hours, and was... not awesome, of course, but not horrible! The Bamboozi Beach Lodge suited us just fine,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johanna F
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review

It is pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay at Bamboozi. The town of Tofo is certainly an attractive option for those looking for a little "fun in the sun"

Ohio
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I don't think Bamboozi's is well-equipped for backpacking types. We stayed in the basic dorms, and weren't provided with a blanket or pillow: just a bare bed to sleep on. I thought this was a bit ridiculous since every other backpackers I've ever stayed in gives you a pillow/blanket at least. It's also a decent walk from town through the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey G
BarraResorts, General Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for raising your concerns which we have noted and will look into.

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We camped here in October and really did not enjoy it at all, if we didn't arrive so late, then we would not have stayed here, but unfortunately it was getting dark, so we decided to bite the bullet and set up camp. We were sent to a "campsite" that was surrounded by beach huts - luckily they weren't occupied...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TR15784
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We will certainly take your concerns up with management.

Johannesburg
Reviewed 3 October 2013

You cannot see the see or beach from the main camp/lodge only from the restaurant and some of the cabins. The lights were not always working. However, the staff and manager Alberto were very helpfull and friendly. Restaurant never had ice during our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Most of the accommodation at Bamboozi is set behind the dunes and offers shelter from the wind however the views from the bar and some of the accommodation units do offer superb views over the ocean. Bamboozi runs on a generator and for this reason electricity is not always on.

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inhambane Province hotels
0.0 km away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#4 of 8 in Vilanculos
60 reviews
0.0 km away
Baobab Beach Backpackers
Baobab Beach Backpackers
#3 of 25 in Vilanculos
149 reviews
0.0 km away
Mozambeat Motel
Mozambeat Motel
#2 of 14 in Tofo
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Casa na Praia Tofo
Casa na Praia Tofo
#2 of 12 in Tofo
192 reviews
0.0 km away
Mango Beach Lodge
Mango Beach Lodge
#4 of 14 in Tofo
24 reviews
0.0 km away
Casa Barry Lodge
Casa Barry Lodge
#3 of 14 in Tofo
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bamboozi Beach Lodge is hidden in the center of a coconut grove next to a stretch of a untouched beach and surrounded by rural villages; this eco-friendly backpackers/beach lodge is built entirely from natural materials. Endless summer days can be spent in the cool Indian Ocean. When it is time to take a sun or sea break lay claim to a hammock and just relax. Bamboozi Beach Lodge style nights include untamed parties, but those who would rather sit on a balcony and watch the moonrise while counting fireflies and shooting stars, can do just that. Bamboozi Beach Lodge provides mozzie nets and linen. Camping amongst palms, a guest kitchen, braai areas and hot water showers. RESTAURANT & BAR. The Bamboozi Restaurant & Bar is situated on top of the dunes with spectacular views of the ocean and coastline. The Restaurant opens for breakfast and closes when the last guest leaves the Bar. There is an a-la-carte menu offering an array of dishes from fresh seafood platters made on request and delectable deserts. Daily specials are served! Enjoy a cold beer or a cocktail on the deck while watching beginner surfers finding their balance! It is also a great whale watching spot during August & September. Bamboozi has his own on site PADI dive resort center run by professional staff of Liquid Adventures Diving, offering snorkel safaris (dive with the largest fish in the ocean; the whaleshark), fundives with full rental of equipment and courses of all levels available. Our area is fast becoming famous for the resident Mantas, Whale sharks, Dolphins, Turtles and Humpback whales. LIVE THE DREAM!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bamboozi Beach Lodge

Address: 101 Coconut Drive | Praia de Tofo, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province
Price Range: $21 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 76
Also Known As:
Bamboozi Beach Hotel Inhambane
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bamboozi Beach Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bamboozi Beach Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose the private Chalets, those are with the seaview.”
 of 5 bubbles johannaf409, 4 Nov 2013 | Read review
“Huts with a sea view. REALLY nice view.”
 of 5 bubbles eduardoa900, 12 Jul 2013 | Read review
“Couple's room above the bar is less rustic bathroom-wise and has a great view. Might be that the girls prefer this for higher price.”
 of 5 bubbles Had3s, 5 May 2013 | Read review
“Take all precautions to protect yourself from insects. Look out for the current on the beach.”
  • Gaps allow mosquitoes in
 of 5 bubbles julietyjuan, 30 Apr 2013 | Read review
“Try to stay in the #1 seaview chalet. The view is amazing. Also, check your room before you enter it - and make sure you have enough repellent.”
  • Suite #1 bathroom - kind of disapointing
  • Room - simple and spacious, suite #1
  • View from suite #1 seaview
 of 5 bubbles alalas, 28 Nov 2012 | Read review
5 of 5