We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bamboozi Beach Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inhambane Province
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Bamboozi Beach Lodge
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bamboozi Beach Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 53: English reviews
Sao Paulo
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Considering that Mozambique is a very expensive country in relation to its touristic facilities, I'd say that Bamboozi can be good if you're lucky. We've stayed in two different rooms there: one was awful and the other one was ok. And both of them were "ocean views" rooms, so they don't have any pattern among their rooms. This said, if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alalas
BarraResorts, Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review

We consider, and review every piece of feedback that we get and appreciate the review that you have posted. Explaining a few areas of your concern is important however, without sounding defensive in any way. We have had some issues with water supply over the last few months as the area has had severe lack of rain, for this we...

Breda, The Netherlands
Reviewed 25 November 2012

It is such an amazing place. You feel like home straight away. Funny and very helpfull staff at the reception and the most sweet people working at the bar. Always down for a talk, laugh or when you have questions. The rooms/dorm/houses are nice! You are in Africa, so sleeping in african style should be part of it. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sabinek15
BarraResorts, Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Good times, authentic experience and the basics is what Bamboozi is all about. We are so happy to hear that your expectations were met. Bamboozi is really a home away from home and our staff love it just as much. Thank you for your review.

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

When you first get into the place it seems like you're on some deserted island paradise. The view is amazing and the layout is great. They were extremely accommodating to the late booking of our size 22 group, the room was amazing, large and each had its own mosquito net attached, the restaurant was a bit pricey so we walked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evievv
BarraResorts, Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Bamboozi is a little gem hidden away and just far enough out of town so that you can relax and still pop in for a bite to eat or little party. Thanks for staying with us.

Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I stayed in the sea view chalet, advertised as "semi-luxury" on the website, which it's not. The room and bathroom were basic, no personal touches in the decor, the bathroom really needs a fresh coat of paint, and after taking a shower a pool of water would form by the toilet, but the bed was comfortable and the sea view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Javinsky
BarraResorts, Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and specifically the marketing that is advertised on the website. This accommodation is basic and we will revise the wording used. We have also taken note of the below expectation pointers such as paint, servicing and personal touch. We really do appreciate the feedback and take each one seriously.

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2012

As a leader of a group of students travelling through Mozambique we were lucky enough to spend 4 glorious nights at Bamboozi. As we had been roughing it in Swaziland it was a treat to be out of tents and enjoying hot showers, clean toilets, amazing food and taking in that view. Don't get me wrong this is not a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roopaws
BarraResorts, Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. We are so happy to hear from students. You are paving the way through tourism in Mozambique and having your stay at our lodge was as good an experience for us as it was for you. Keep coming back as you are always welcome.

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed in Bamboozi for 4 nights in July. The backpacker rooms are great value, comfortable beds and good nets and there are plenty of clean toilets and showers with plenty of hot water. The view from the bar/restaurant is great and we saw many humpback whales from the deck. The food is excellent and Tofo village is a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VM2012
BarraResorts, Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review! Bamboozi is a home away from home for us and we are thrilled that you had a good time.

Reviewed 28 July 2012

So the place has a great vibe and atmosphere. If you pay for a view..you most certainly get one. Also if you pay for the top of the range....you also get clean....the rest of the place leaves a lot to desire, lots of bugs and itchy things, limited cleanliness and overpriced food. Nicer food if you go forage in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra S
BarraResorts, Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We have had some management changes since your stay and I would like to assure you that our cleanliness levels, service levels and facilities have been worked very hard on. We are proud to say that Bamboozi is becoming a much loved destination.

United kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Amazing location but the service and rooms are shocking! I stayed in a lodge with 4 other females, in our room there was only beds and mosquito nets, we shared a communal bathroom. We had no way to lock our doors or windows and consequently had 4 African men barge into our room at 5:30am one morning!!!! We were terrified!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 92traveller_238
BarraResorts, Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to thank you for the review on Tripadvisor. I would also like to apologise for the disappointing experience that you had encountered at Bamboozi. This feedback, although undesirable for us, has prompted further investigations and will be used to make a difference in the future of this company. It is apparent that you might not have...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Bamboozi is a full on backpackers heaven. Kitchens, tents, etc. A couple nice rooms that are expensive. The restaurant was ok, good food. The staff was nice and took us to and from the town when we had to make food runs. Overall decent, but if you're going in a couple, then I'd recommend somewhere else.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ombu
BarraResorts, Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review

I was glad to read your review having joined the Bamboozi team a few months ago. Bamboozi is indeed a Backpackers haven. We have a lot of couples that stay with us in the Sea View Chalets overlooking the most spectacular beach and the Tofu town in the distance. We hope to see you back again soon.

Johannesburg
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Accomodation is very basic. the lodge needs to deal with a number of issuse like stopping the staff using guest bathrooms. the bamboozi deck restaurat however deserves 5 stars, brilliant food at a very good price

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RyanEast
BarraResorts, Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Ryan, I am thrilled to hear that you were happy with the bar and restaurant. We have taken great pride in vamping it up to the prime position and service that it currently holds. Best bar in Tofu we say. I will follow up in regards to the general use of the ablutions as this seems abnormal. Once again, we...

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inhambane Province hotels
0.0 km away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#4 of 8 in Vilanculos
62 reviews
0.0 km away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
0.0 km away
Baobab Beach Backpackers
Baobab Beach Backpackers
#3 of 26 in Vilanculos
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Casa na Praia Tofo
Casa na Praia Tofo
#2 of 11 in Tofo
206 reviews
0.0 km away
Casa Barry Lodge
Casa Barry Lodge
#3 of 14 in Tofo
156 reviews
0.0 km away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#2 of 18 in Inhambane
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bamboozi Beach Lodge is hidden in the center of a coconut grove next to a stretch of a untouched beach and surrounded by rural villages; this eco-friendly backpackers/beach lodge is built entirely from natural materials. Endless summer days can be spent in the cool Indian Ocean. When it is time to take a sun or sea break lay claim to a hammock and just relax. Bamboozi Beach Lodge style nights include untamed parties, but those who would rather sit on a balcony and watch the moonrise while counting fireflies and shooting stars, can do just that. Bamboozi Beach Lodge provides mozzie nets and linen. Camping amongst palms, a guest kitchen, braai areas and hot water showers. RESTAURANT & BAR. The Bamboozi Restaurant & Bar is situated on top of the dunes with spectacular views of the ocean and coastline. The Restaurant opens for breakfast and closes when the last guest leaves the Bar. There is an a-la-carte menu offering an array of dishes from fresh seafood platters made on request and delectable deserts. Daily specials are served! Enjoy a cold beer or a cocktail on the deck while watching beginner surfers finding their balance! It is also a great whale watching spot during August & September. Bamboozi has his own on site PADI dive resort center run by professional staff of Liquid Adventures Diving, offering snorkel safaris (dive with the largest fish in the ocean; the whaleshark), fundives with full rental of equipment and courses of all levels available. Our area is fast becoming famous for the resident Mantas, Whale sharks, Dolphins, Turtles and Humpback whales. LIVE THE DREAM!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bamboozi Beach Lodge

Address: 101 Coconut Drive | Praia de Tofo, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province
Price Range: $21 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 76
Also Known As:
Bamboozi Beach Hotel Inhambane
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bamboozi Beach Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bamboozi Beach Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose the private Chalets, those are with the seaview.”
 of 5 bubbles johannaf409, 4 Nov 2013 | Read review
“Huts with a sea view. REALLY nice view.”
 of 5 bubbles eduardoa900, 12 Jul 2013 | Read review
“Couple's room above the bar is less rustic bathroom-wise and has a great view. Might be that the girls prefer this for higher price.”
 of 5 bubbles Had3s, 5 May 2013 | Read review
“Take all precautions to protect yourself from insects. Look out for the current on the beach.”
  • Gaps allow mosquitoes in
 of 5 bubbles julietyjuan, 30 Apr 2013 | Read review
“Try to stay in the #1 seaview chalet. The view is amazing. Also, check your room before you enter it - and make sure you have enough repellent.”
  • Suite #1 bathroom - kind of disapointing
  • Room - simple and spacious, suite #1
  • View from suite #1 seaview
 of 5 bubbles alalas, 28 Nov 2012 | Read review
5 of 5