We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

348 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL
See the most recent reviews
Showing 348: English reviews
Bensenville, Illinois
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank J5559FBnickm
Yuma, Arizona
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank U9927LNmary
Joliet, Illinois
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debra B
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Checked into the motel to take kids swimming the room and hallways were freezing and the pool was also freezing we checked out immediately. Not what we expected. The staff is very unprofessional and lobby is filthy. Got my money back and left.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
LCB20176, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

I do apologize you did not enjoy your stay, the pool is only cold if the door leading down to it is not closed completely. There are signs on the door advising to close upon entry and exit. The lobby is cleaned daily and I can promise that our staff is at the up most professional. I appreciate your review.

Redgranite
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Only positive was very close to airport. Rooms had odor, bullethole in back glass entrance and just not a place I would ever stay at again!

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank I6122WMmichaelk
LCB20176, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

We apologize you did not enjoy your stay.

Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

One night not so good, Led to believe there was a restaurant attached. Closed some time ago. Owned now by the wythham hotel group. Not much pride from current staff. Breakfast featured brown bananas, wrinkled old apples, indeterminate vintage pastry. Thro back to the 70's.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 942sa
LCB20176, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

We do apologize you did not enjoy your stay. The restaurant is not advertised as open as it is something we are working on but is currently closed. Breakfast is stocked daily so bananas and apples would not have been bad and I can promise our staff takes great pride in our hotel and our brand. We do enjoy our...

Moline, Illinois
Reviewed 16 February 2017

This "hotel" is more of a flop house for transients, not worth the $80 a night. You would be further ahead to sleep in your car in the parking lot. Dirty, outdated rooms, staff who didnt seem to know how to do their jobs. Dont waste your time here, plenty of other hotels in Rockford

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank E9023QDthomass
LCB20176, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We under new management and working on improving the property. Please join us again your next time through town and we will be more than happy to show you the improvements.

Rockford
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Today I was charged $200. We went for a weekend staycation and since it is now under new management we thought that we would try it out since they are making it better. The phones didn't work, the hallways weren't heated the front desk lady had a space heater on her, our keys stopped working half way through our stay,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hyserfam
LCB20176, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

We apologize you did not enjoy your stay. The pool is heated as long as all doors are closed the pool remains heated anywhere from 85 degrees to 90 degrees. Your key cards will stop working if you put them near your phone. The sheets we have pictures of and both sets were stained with something brown. The General Manager...

Pekin, Illinois
Reviewed 12 February 2017

An embarrassment to the Wyndham name. Most of the staff was rude. Stains in bottom of dresser drawers. Carpet stained. No heat in hallways. No juice at breakfast. Lobby was very dirty.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kellywA4776WD
LCB20176, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

I do apologize you did not enjoy your stay. I am not sure when you stayed at the hotel since we have not ran out of juice since our new management took over. The hotel is still in the renovation process and we are continuing to make improvements and update the property.

Stoughton, Wisconsin
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We had a 7 AM flight out of Rockford airport, so we stayed at the Howard Johnson's for one night. For us it was adequate. We did not take advantage of the pool, or the breakfast, so I can't speak to those. The place does need a make-over, and it is dated, BUT the room was clean and the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank viddsk
LCB20176, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

We are glad your stay was comfortable. Please if you are in town again join us for swimming and breakfast.

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockford hotels
10.5 km away
Red Roof Inn Rockford
Red Roof Inn Rockford
#6 of 25 in Rockford
328 reviews
11.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rockford
11.3 km away
Days Inn Rockford
Days Inn Rockford
#18 of 25 in Rockford
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#10 of 25 in Rockford
178 reviews
11.2 km away
Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center
10.5 km away
Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Rockford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Now under new management! Our hotel includes Complimentary in-room WIFI, large heated resort style indoor pool, dry rock sauna, fitness center, Guest Laundry & 24-hour game room with pool table. Smoking rooms are no longer available. We have free, fresh healthy continental breakfast. This Howard Johnson is conveniently located one mile from Rockford Airport and right off Highways 20 and 251. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL

Address: 3909 Eleventh Street, Rockford, IL 61109
Region: United States > Illinois > Rockford
Price Range: $66 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Rockford Hotel Rockford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the second floor rooms have balconies with nice patio furniture”
lys2016607, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upper rooms seem better as lower floor rooms have sliding doors that seem to need repair.”
SenseIntoDollars, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Be sure you have a room fairly close to the office.”
jarncePortage, 29 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Choose one in a different hotel”
kellyj434, 1 Jun 2015 | Read review
“I asked for a non smoking room and just stepped outside. My last stay in a smoking room even choked me out. Don't forget to put the security bar back in place on the sliding door.”
reallyitsjohn, 5 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5