We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Baker

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Hotel Baker
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 146: English reviews
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Had a very nice experience with hotel Baker! Clean room, beautiful view of the river and park, very friendly staff, excellent breakfast! Very well kept hotel in the heart of st Charles! Couldn't ask for more!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 5Elizabeth7
Japan
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Doormen were always nice and friendly but the receptionist who checked me in was so rude, her service was lower than any services at cheaper hotel or motels, thought she was OJT but it seemed she was not. Room was fine facing street but could see the river, bed was comfy. Bathroom was with only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank live_baby_live
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just stayed there thanksgiving night and highly disappointed. Expensive hotel with no amenities to make it worth it. Per their website they were to have room service, NOPE! We had to drive around to find something open on Thanksgiving or pay even more (50/pp) for their dining room. Fluffy ropes, ONE AND NOT FLUFFY AT ALL. Breakfast was just all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian S
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

We visited this hotel just simply for the sliders(mini steaks in buns) OMG. Amazing. The are small enough to have as a starter or just order more for a main meal. We had 2 sliders each which were on the $5 for 2 sliders deal. We ended up ordering more and taking some with us too! The steak is just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Karen B, thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review on your dining experience. Glad you enjoyed those sliders. Should you be in town again, please come and visit! Stay well!

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

We just stayed at Hotel Baker for my birthday weekend and was a bit disappointed. For the cost of the room it is definitely not worth it but it's the only hotel located in the downtown St. Charles area. We can stay in Chicago at the Hyatt for the same amount or less. Plus the walls are pretty thin as...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Marla R
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Dear Marla R, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We appreciate your feedback. We are disappointed that your stay was not what you had expected. We hope you will return to St. Charles in the future to enjoy the various offerings our charming community provides. God bless!

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Located in the heart of downtown St. Charles, if you get the right room, you'll have a great view of the river. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were there with a wedding and they had a great reception area behind the hotel. It was a beautiful setting, the pictures turned out great. The wedding reception was in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allen21096
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review. We truly appreciate your feedback. Looking forward to your future visit!

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 26 September 2016

If you like Old, Historic Hotels than this hotel is for you... it is 88 years old and has the charm you are looking for. It is in a great location in the middle of St Charles, Illinois.. right on the river... The hotel was clean and it looked like the bathrooms had been redone recently... The lobby, two story...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul30
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Paul30, thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to provide a review. We truly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Arcada has so many fantastic shows. Come back to St. Charles any time for a relaxing and fun getaway! All the best to you!

Reviewed 18 September 2016

The hotel staff were wonderful. They even had a doorman. The rooms were very clean and had an old time feel. They even had the old fashioned mail drop. We were at this hotel for my sons wedding which was gorgous. The food was finominal. Staff was accommodating. We loved our stay there and definately will come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sondra C
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay and the special wedding you attended. We look forward to your next visit sometime soon! Best wishes!

West Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 30 August 2016

This is a very cool old hotel. I felt like I walked into a old movie set. This charming hotel is located along the fox river. It is close to all the restaurants and shops in downtown St Charles. The lobby and dining room areas are breath taking. The old world charm is very cool. The beds are great and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank troublext
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review about Hotel Baker. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to your next visit. ❤️

Geneva, Illinois
Reviewed 27 August 2016

This hotel is a landmark in St. Charles. It is absolutely beautiful with old world charm. The rooms are also beautiful. There are gardens out in the back with a gazebo that can be used for weddings. We were in the lounge on Friday night and I had the time of my life! There is a piano player that starts...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank larryd6578
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to your future visits. Stay well!

103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Charles
3.1 km away
The Herrington Inn & Spa
3.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
5.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#2 of 11 in Saint Charles
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
3.0 km away
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
#5 of 11 in Saint Charles
128 reviews
15.0 km away
Hotel Arista at CityGate Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Baker offers the epitome in all things luxurious -- elegant guest rooms and suites, state of the art amenities, exceptional dining and lounge venues, and a scenic riverside setting that's second to none. Anywhere. If you're planning a wedding, party, banquet, conference or other event, we invite you to talk with our sales and catering professionals who are available to assist you. Our incomparable meeting and banquet facilities can accommodate groups from 10-300 in an atmosphere of sophisticated elegance and grace. And in season, Hotel Baker's charming rose garden and outdoor patio dining create a lovely, memorable setting. You can be confident that everything will be done according to the highest level of service and careful attention to detail. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Baker

Address: 100 W Main St, Saint Charles, IL 60174-1810
Region: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Price Range: $170 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baker 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Baker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker Hotel Saint Charles
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Baker staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Las Vegas, Nevada
Pembroke Pines,FL
over a year ago
Forsyth, Illinois
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Baker staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get a room over looking the river”
 of 5 bubbles paul30, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go to a different hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 255christinee, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“River / Main St. views are good.”
 of 5 bubbles SWONTraveller, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I would definitely ask to see a room before booking. The website shows rooms with beautiful and lavish furnishings. Very deceiving.”
 of 5 bubbles KarenV372, 1 Feb 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room on the backside to get a river view.”
 of 5 bubbles welltraveledOkie, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay