We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA Ironbridge Coalport

Hotels.comUS$35*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$53*
US$35*
Great Deal
US$48*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA Ironbridge Coalport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 108: English reviews
Start your review of YHA Ironbridge Coalport
 Click to rate
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Called in here today while on a walk around the Coalport gorge for a hot drink and a late lunch. Worth the visit for a nice warm welcome and a decent panini! They are dog friendly too! A big thumbs up in my book!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gee2020
YHAIronbridge, Manager at YHA Ironbridge Coalport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review and we are delighted you are giving us a 'big thumbs up'. See you again soon!

Wellingborough, United Kingdom
PROPERTY’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 10 April 2017

I liked it here , good location , ample parking even at weekend, right by the river , I mean at the end of the car park. Close to some museums and plenty of walking. All the famous sights close by , Ironbridge 1 and a half mile scenic walk. Pubs that you can walk to. YHA really neat and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim L
About Property's Favourite Review
YHAIronbridge, Manager at YHA Ironbridge Coalport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this great review and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again sometime.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night in a 6 bed, ensuite room. It is the cleanest YHA that I have stayed in. Credit to the staff. Love the fact that the self catering kitchen is on the first floor. Nice little games room and lounge. The restaurant on the ground floor is very pleasing to the eye. Nice man on duty doing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoBaconMum2Many
YHAIronbridge, Manager at YHA Ironbridge Coalport, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic feedback, we hope to see you again sometime.

BATH
Reviewed 29 March 2017

My son and I stayed at the hostel during February half term and what a lovely time we had. For the price we just couldn't fault it. The room was clean as was the on suite bathroom and the food we had was pretty good too. Being vegetarian there were a number of options in the evening as well as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BIGFATBLACKCAT
YHAIronbridge, Manager at YHA Ironbridge Coalport, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this great feedback, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed 26 March 2017

As a local visiter to this cafe for many years,a visit today after the cafe being closed for the winter season,was a bitter disappointment. The food menu has shrunk beyond belief,the choices left were very limited. All I wanted was a sandwich,which I have ordered many times,always a choice of fillings,always well made,and a reasonable size. Today I had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
YHAIronbridge, Manager at YHA Ironbridge Coalport, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding the new menu which I have passed on to our National Food and Beverage Team. Our menu includes a range of paninis, jacket potatoes, salads, tapas style dishes and Pizzas as well as a selection of cakes, flapjack, scones, chocolate, crisps and ice creams. We’re pleased to hear you love our fair trade coffee...

Wirral
Reviewed 28 February 2017

A fantastic quiet place to stay. Lots to see locally. The building was warm, clean and the staff friendly and welcoming. The only downfall was having to wait outside a locked building until check in at 3pm. Also our lovely room unfortunately smelt of sulphur strongly. The staff did offer another room though.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth640
YHAIronbridge, Manager at YHA Ironbridge Coalport, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and positive comments about the hostel. Check in times are 3pm to 11pm as advertised on our website and other booking sites so apologies that you missed this. The issue with the smell in the room has now been resolved.

Swansea
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Lovely place, very clean facility, comfortable rooms and a good breakfast. They even tiled the floor to say Swansea to make me less homesick, which was nice to see. I'll definitely use another YHA in the future.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gambles_805
YHAIronbridge, Manager at YHA Ironbridge Coalport, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, glad you enjoyed your stay. I'd like to say we tiled the floor especially for you but it is original to the building (an old china factory) and commemorates the merger of the Swansea and Coalport china works

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2016

Overall a very good place to stay. Had a private room for 4 people here. Was good basic accommodation, shared showers were ok. Downsides, there was a school trip or similar staying. And families with children running around constantly down the corridors shouting and screaming. There needs to be family sections and adult sections. Also, I wouldn't bother having breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beckabock
YHAIronbridge, Manager at YHA Ironbridge Coalport, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for leaving this feedback. YHA is committed to providing a quality food and beverage offering at competitive prices. Our meat is Red Tractor accredited and our hot drinks are Fairtrade. Breakfast is currently £5.75 for adults and £3.25 for under 10s, consisting of seven hot items and a cold buffet of toast, cereals, croissant, cheese, yoghurts,...

Evesham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016

this was our second stay at Coalport YHA and we were not disappointed the staff are friendly and helpful our room was cosy and warm. everywhere looked clean and tidy. It is ideal if you want to visit any of the museums they are all nearby some within walking distance. overall we would recommend this hostel highly.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank patkey258
YHAIronbridge, Manager at YHA Ironbridge Coalport, responded to this review

Thank you for the recommendation, see you again soon!

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

What a great hostel and a great location too. Virtually on the banks of the lovely river Severn. Good cafe, nice rooms, modern, clean and well equipped if you want to self cater. Nice comfy sofas in the lounge and even a pool table if that's your thing. Great for visiting all the historic sites nearby and wandering the paths...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ManInBlack64
YHAIronbridge, Manager at YHA Ironbridge Coalport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and visiting the area.

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coalport
4.0 km away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
893 reviews
3.6 km away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
10.2 km away
Shakespeare Inn
Shakespeare Inn
#9 of 21 in Telford
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Much Wenlock
407 reviews
0.9 km away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
9.7 km away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
YHA Coalport offers comfortable accommodation and excellent home-cooked food in a beautiful historic location. Housed in the oldest surviving building of the famous Coalport China Works, within the Ironbridge Gorge World Heritage Site, it offers easy access to its many attractions and museums. National collections of Caughley and Coalport china are displayed at the china factory museum next door and it's a short walk along the Shropshire Canal to the 200-year old Tar Tunnel. Children get a fascinating insight into Victorian life at the nearby Blists Hill village or can visit Enginuity! - an interactive science museum. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Ironbridge Coalport

Address: High Street | Coalport, Coalport TF8 7HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coalport
Price Range: $44 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Ironbridge Coalport 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your YHA Ironbridge Coalport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Ironbridge Coalport staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Ironbridge Coalport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms overlooking the river are nice , but such a nice area anyway.”
timl314, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“You could ask to overlook the park as opposed to the road. We didn't have wifi in our room, possibly too far away from hub.”
ernestinen, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“This is a typical YHA hostel. It's basic, but it's clean, safe and a better experience to travelling than hotel-life, in our opinion.”
zaals, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Free Wifi in the public areas within the hostel”
Clashworth, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Get discount by becoming a member”
Gorwydd, 3 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$35* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com
Agoda.comUS$48
Booking.comUS$53
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates