We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sheridan
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 224: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort
 Click to rate
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The resort is great. I stayed at the Presidents area in a One bedroom apartment and was all fine. My apartment was clean, all functional, great bed, Jacuzzi, full kitchen, Laundry and plenty of space. The resort is great for families and small kids, with many activities like the Mini Golf, the games room, DVDs rental, pool table, ping pong,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fcardoso1975
WI
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First I want to say that we were here in off season, so things might be livelier in the summer. There were activities scheduled but no one there to do anything. The staff was willing to do it for just the 2 of us but we decided not to do it. There is a limited menu restaurant on site but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolk123
HIClubCounselor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort, responded to this review

We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Fox River Resort! It's our goal to provide our guests with comfortable accommodations and plenty of fun things to do. We appreciate your feedback. There are lots of exciting things planned for Fox River over the next few years, and we hope to see you back again soon! Thanks for sharing your comments.

Rockford
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The staff always go above and beyond expecting, I would rate them a 5+. We have visited multiple times and have always enjoyed our visit. The resort does cater to younger children but older children can have fun. If you need another location to eat Francesca is very good. If anything goes wrong a maintenance has always come very fast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hyserfam
HIClubCounselor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort, responded to this review

We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Fox River Resort! It's always our mission to be sure our guests have lots of fun and receive great service. As an owner, you still have access to all 13 formerly Silverleaf properties. Many owners are considering upgrading to enroll in Holiday Inn Club, which gives them access to our 13...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was invited to visit this resort last summer. I thought it would be a great idea to reserve a date to visit over spring break. My sons are 7 and 10. Let's just say, I wouldn't quite refer to this resort as a get away. My sons had a blast in spite of the scrapes they got from walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donielle B
HIClubCounselor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort, responded to this review

Sorry to hear of the shortfalls you encountered during your stay at Fox River Resort. It's our goal to be sure our guests are comfortable and have plenty of fun things to do. Your feedback is much appreciated. Our getaway vacation packages are deeply discounted, because we know that vacation time is precious. For guests interested in learning about our...

Evanston, Illinois
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We only went here because I signed up for the timeshare presentation thing and wanted to get my cash back. My intention was to try the Orlando resort but for several reason this did not happen during our Orlando trip and we HAD TO do this timeshare presentation by July. This place is straight in the middle of nowhere, a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Andrea M
HIClubCounselor, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay at Fox River Resort. It's our goal to be sure our guests are comfortable and have plenty of fun things to do. Because of our beautiful woodland surroundings, many of our activities are geared toward the outdoors, such as 9-hole golf course, canoes, paddle boats, and horseback riding. Indoors, there's...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I decided to try to make the most of it after being suckered into one of those timeshare presentations. I just arrived and already really disappointed. There is no fitness center, no restaurants (unless you consider Subway a restaurant), nothing to do except small child friendly activities (like movies, putt-putt golf, and coloring). It looks like I will have to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karina M
HIClubCounselor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay at Fox River Resort. It's our goal to be sure our guests are comfortable and have plenty of fun things to do. We are a family-owned and family-friendly resort. That is part of our brand. However, we recognize that the grown-ups need to be entertained as well. Because of our...

Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and helpful. If help is needed, from where to find stamps or how to get to soldier field without getting lost, they went beyond what was expected. There is a water park and two pools on site. Very family friendly. Unfortunately not much to do nearby and no wifi in rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

Fantastic time! Plenty to do at resort and close to Chicago. Didn't get bored once. I got great photos also. I loved the horses! Loved the mini golf and even closer to restaurants in neighboring suburbs. We had a kitchenette and the small store nearby was very nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristyn S
HIClubCounselor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort, responded to this review

We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your special birthday trip to Fox River Resort! It's always our goal to be sure our guests are comfortable and have lots of fun things to do. We hope to see you back again soon, whether for a birthday celebration, or just for fun! Thanks for sharing your comments.

Reviewed 23 February 2017

This property is just average( as far as the regular rooms go). Let me say, I grew up in the vicinity and know the area quite well. With that being said The campus has some nice amenities but is more for families with smaller kids. The waterpark changed the schedule as we were there with no warning! Only opening on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank relaxwithsun
HIClubCounselor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay at Fox River Resort. It's our goal to be sure our guests are comfortable and have plenty of things to do. Whenever something isn't perfect with your unit, we want to know so that we can correct any problems right away. Because of our woodland surroundings, we are dedicated to...

Fayetteville, North Carolina
Reviewed 22 February 2017

I understand that this property was recently acquired by Holiday Inn Resorts, and that there is an expected transition period. However, it appears that some of the focus on maintenance and cleanliness has been lost. I have stayed here before and have always put off doing a review, thinking that maybe they would improve; NOT! I stayed in the Presidentials,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank les w
HIClubCounselor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear of your disappointment with your stay at Fox River Resort. This certainly isn't the way we want our guests to experience our resort. We sent you a private message in hopes of addressing your concerns more personally. Thanks for sharing your comments.

174 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (144)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheridan
32.0 km away
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
15.9 km away
Hampton Inn Ottawa Starved Rock Area
23.4 km away
Days Inn & Suites of Morris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.8 km away
Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock
30.6 km away
Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center
16.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ottawa Starved Rock Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Relax and Renew in Rolling Midwest Hills. The sprawling resort is located about an hour-and-a-half south of Chicago in the beautiful, rolling hills of Illinois. It features a wide range of outdoor activities for family fun. It starts with a stocked, seven-acre lake, ready for fishing. Or, rent a canoe or paddle boat and enjoy a relaxing cruise across its still waters. For swimming, we have an indoor and outdoor pool, plus the always fun year-round indoor Pirates Cay Indoor Water Park™. It features interactive water features, water slides, lazy river, food outlets and more. For sports, enjoy everything from basketball, tennis and volleyball to cross country skiing. And our 9-hole, par 3 executive golf course will help you get that swing back. Plus, the 18-hole mini golf course is a big hit with kids, as is the Activity Center with an arcade, mini movie theater and more. A playground, ball field and sports equipment and even horseback rides help round out your outdoor fun. Sheridan, IL is a rural location, making it a perfect place to get away and relax. Beautiful state parks, historic sites and golf courses are all nearby. Shopping, dining, movie theaters and other entertainment can also be found in the region. And, it's close enough to the greater Chicago area and downtown to experience a day of wonderful sites and attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort

Address: 2558 N 3653rd Rd, Sheridan, IL 60551-9400
Region: United States > Illinois > Sheridan
Price Range: $263 - $1,009 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 332
Also Known As:
Silverleaf Fox River Hotel Sheridan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question
Chicago, Illinois
8 months ago
Lockport, Illinois
over a year ago

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Family amenities”
relaxwithsun, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all condos are convent to the family areas.”
123456topman, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a villa away from construction or remodeling”
563gracep, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you don't want a condo/villa and want wifi, Building 22 is best for now”
weluvtravlin5, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you want free Wifi, ask for building 22. Not sure about the others.”
mcgeka, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5