We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chicago Northwest KOA

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Union
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Chicago Northwest KOA
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chicago Northwest KOA
See the most recent reviews
Showing 71: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2015

This was the first KOA experience we have ever had and it was heads and tails above all of the campgrounds we have been to before. We stayed a week in one of the on-site trailers, and even though it was older, it was in excellent shape and clean. All of the grounds are very well kept and the owners... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill K
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this review

We are thrilled that you had a wonderful first KOA experience with us, Bill! Our goal is making sure our guests are cared for and happy. Thank you so much for your kind review! More 

Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2015

My family stayed here for 4 nights at a campsite with electricity. The kids loved the pool, the playground, the volleyball net, the basketball hoop, the face painting (on Saturday), and the candy hunt. I thought the bathroom was clean and the people who worked there were friendly. They have a posted list of things that they update and take... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Alicia328
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this review

We're so happy to hear you and your family had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed all of our activities. We do our best to make sure everything is in top condition and looking beautiful! Thank you for your kind review! More 

Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed here while touring Chicago. We booked this campground over the Internet as we live 3000 km away. What a great place. Very clean sites and bathrooms and showers. Staff were very helpful and deliver your firewood if needed and fire pits do not cost extra $& like other koa. Train ride was just over a hour into downtown Chicago.

Helpful?
Thank Yousuck1515
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this review

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We do our best to make sure our guests have a comfortable and relaxing stay. Thank you for the kind review! More 

SanDiego
Level Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2015 via mobile

This is really a beautiful campground. It was very empty while I was there. We did have quite a bit of rain and the grounds were soaked. Camp Ground is one hour from Chicago and I was staying there visiting sites in Chicago. Everything is reached by toll road. I live in California so I didn't have the Ipass. It... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ElmoSanDiego
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Please accept our apologies for the rain during your stay, it is just one of those things we cannot control. We do have some toll roads on the way to Chicago and we'll try to do a better job of letting people know they are there. We'll also pass... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2015

Overall I was happy with this KOA, but it really wasn't a favorite spot of mine. We camp in a 36' travel trailer, so we don't really rough it. The spots themselves were fine, we got full hookups, and a pull through site. The sites were a little close together, and in general were pretty noisy. Most of the sites... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Lyle E
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review Lyle, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the Chicago area. We apologize for the rain during your stay and that you didn't have a chance to enjoy some of our activities as a result. We do hope you have a great summer and come see us again soon! More 

Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2015

Sites are advertised as level and they are not. The site we were given was partly gravel, mostly mud. We had to put down a tarp to be able to avoid the mud. Yes, it was raining but there were several sites (we noticed after we set up) that had better drainage and no mud. The front desk was not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jackie L
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for staying with us during your recent visit to the area. We do our best to make sure all of our sites are level and we constantly work hard to make sure they are graded properly. We do apologize that you were not completely satisfied and would have... More 

Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2015 via mobile

The grounds are very clean. Spaces are very close together. Just trying to cram as many RV's in as they can to make as much money as possible. They are extremely worried about money. Everything has a deposit. Paid before I ever got there...not a huge deal but from day 1 they wanted the 2nd months rent. Deposit for gate... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ccorley2009
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for staying with us during your recent visit to the area. Please accept our apologies that you were not satisfied with your stay, we didn't hear anything negative from you while you were here or we would have done our best to fix it. We do have deposits... More 

Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2014

will be returning for sure. great family getaway. Sylvia is awesome! I didn't like a couple of things I didn't get at my favorite k o a . but they took note. I have to be honest I'm not your tip looking k o a customer and I can be kind of loud singing/music.. they got me a great cabin... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dave b
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We were going go stay here last year, but we're frighten off from the reviews. The new ownership has made many improvements, but has some way to go to live up to my KOA standards. The staff at the desk were extremely helpful, they gave us an escort to camp, easy directions to avoid Chicago and Ohare airport traffic and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
Andreas, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My biggest complaint would probably be how tight it was. I have never stayed at another campground where they had to ask people to move their vehicles so they could get other campers in. The driveway is narrow, if someone else is going the other way, someone is going off the side. The sites are unlevel. It was clean for... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank megon d

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Under new Managment since April 2012. Welcome to the closest KOA to Chicago and O'Hare International Airport. A family campground with planned activities on weekends from Memorial Day thru Labor Day. (Haywagon rides, movies, games, kids crafts, bingos and a lot more)Have fun at Donley's Wild West Town next door, visit the Illinois Railway museum, see Santa's Village Azoosment Park, visit Six Flags Great America, cool off at Magic Waters near Rockford or in our own crystal clear pool in a friendly and quiet country setting, with long, level, shaded pull-through 50 amps RV site, special tent sites, 7 Kamping Kabins and complementary Wi-Fi throughout the park.Take the "Metra" train from nearby Crystal Lake or Woodstock to visit Chicago for sightseeing, festivals, and tours. We are also in a convenient distance to the Woodfield Mall, Prime Outlet Discount Mall, and the Grand Victoria Riverboat Casino. Various local restaurants are within minutes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chicago Northwest KOA

Address: 8404 S Union Rd, Union, IL 60180-9690
Region: United States > Illinois > Union
Price Range: $44 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 140
Also Known As:
Chicago Northwest Koa Hotel Union
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chicago Northwest KOA staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Chicago Northwest KOA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't rent a trailer here.”
 of 5 bubbles lauriebH7895FR, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“don't bring random stuff like yard games they got all that stuff for free. I stayed in September so I don't know what its like in the spring/summer.”
 of 5 bubbles R3784QEdaveb, 20 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Pull through sites make happy vacations. Don't let your GPS route you on the I-90 into Chicago, take the 290 to the other local road, you avoid two hours of traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles 323jenniferh, 26 Aug 2014 | Read review
“The non-electric sites are a little bit more private.”
 of 5 bubbles 269laurens, 11 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Cabins are awesome”
 of 5 bubbles Mish614, 29 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5