We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center

TravelocityUS$169*
View Deal
#1 of 3 Hotels in Utica
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$169*
US$169*
US$169*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

342 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 340: English reviews
Niles
Reviewed 20 May 2016

Three short days filled with lots of options from wonderful massages, challenging hikes, scenic outlooks, good food, and small towns to explore and shop. The indoor pool is a good size and has a hot tub, dry sauna and an outdoor patio. Our room in the lodge (cabins are also available ) was quite large and spacious. We were on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank schnoo1
Amy T, Owner at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review, it is appreciated. Wondering which room your were in as all windows should be able to be opened unless you were thinking from a privacy standpoint?

Reviewed 16 May 2016

I was looking forward to a romantic weekend away. The room was clean but cramped. The noise level was pretty loud, doors slamming late in the night. There were ear plugs provided. The hiking is good, nice area. Will come back but will stay in another motel or will try the cabins.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nikig100
Amy T, Owner at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review

So sorry to hear that you didn't have an enjoyable getaway. I'm assuming you were in the original Lodge wing which is on the National Register so we aren't allowed to change the rooms. I would suggest trying one of our hotel wing rooms on the second floor next time you come to visit. They are large like a regular...

Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

My room's window was blocked by the pool addition. Noisy, smelled of chlorine, and kind of claustrophobic with no outside window. Decor is cabin cozy which is nice, but sunlight would have been welcome. If you need a "real" breakfast before 8 am you are out of luck.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mary G
Amy T, Owner at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review

So sorry to hear that the pool was a problem for you, I would suggest trying one of our many other rooms or a cabin next time you come out to visit. There are only 4 rooms facing the pool so we have much more to chose from. Regarding breakfast, we have debated for years about opening the dining room...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 7 May 2016

My grad school daughter and I wanted to find somewhere between Milwaukee and St. Louis to meet for the weekend. It was an easy drive for both of us and we truly enjoyed hiking the trails and staying somewhere with vintage charm. Our room was very cosy and we enjoyed the Irish music in the bar Saturday night. So great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lesmash
Amy T, Owner at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thanks so much for visiting Starved Rock and for sharing your experience. We're glad you enjoyed your visit.

Bloomingdale, United States
Reviewed 6 May 2016

Nice Lodge to stay at. WIsh they would of had a work out facility in the lodge and the pool opened early or 24 hours to make it more accessible when not working. Lodge, food and room all nice. When staying more days and cleaning staff should refresh or leave new towels, ran out of clean towels.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kim M
Amy T, Owner at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your visit with us but it looks like you had a couple of issues. Certainly please ask for additional towels if you need them. We are trying very hard to be a "Green" facility so if towels are hung up we do not replace them each day. This saves on water and helps the environment by not...

Plainwell, Michigan
Reviewed 28 April 2016

We stayed for two nights in April celebrating our wedding anniversary. The lodge was beautiful and a true preservation of our nation's history. The grounds were very well maintained. Local wineries were nearby. Great hiking trails. Enjoyed our stay very much! Staff was helpful, but not friendly ... at times it felt like we were in their way.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mckinney427
Amy T, Owner at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I'm happy you enjoyed your visit. However, I am very disappointed to hear that our staff was not pleasant we strive to instill in everyone the importance of being friendly and helpful. If you have any specific areas such as Front Desk, Housekeeping, dining etc. that you had issues with I would like to...

Galena,IL
Reviewed 25 April 2016

We stayed for 3 night get-away in April. The old lodge is wonderful, especially the public areas such as the dining room and great hall. The place reminded us of some of the great National Park Lodges. They have done a great job of retaining the original flavor and ambience. We took that too far and booked a king bay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MLH828
Amy T, Owner at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. You are quite right about the bathroom in that room as well as several others in the Lodge Wing. This portion of the building is on the National Register of Historic Places and thus we are not allowed to make any changes other than to...

Lafayette, Indiana
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

We recently stayed here for a weekend getaway. Our room was satisfactory. Rustic like one would expect in a state park. It was clean and old school as far as state park rustic. We liked it. The bed was not comfortable though. We enjoyed the lodge very much. We hung out in the great room with a bottle of wine....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AdventurousAmy77
Amy T, Owner at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review. Would love to know the room number you were in so we can check up on that mattress. Sorry about the weather but I'm glad you found enough to keep you busy indoors. Hope you'll visit us again so you can check out the great hiking and waterfalls.

Lisle, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

Had a nice time, even though stayed only a Saturday night. Hiked, dinner at the lodge, wine tasting, swimming pool, hot tub, etc. Have stayed before and recommend for a weekend getaway. Trails are easy, staff very congenial, room clean and cozy.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul V
Amy T, Owner at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments Paul, so glad you enjoyed your visit to Starved Rock, sounds like you took advantage of a lot of activities during your short stay. We appreciate it.

South Bend, Indiana
Reviewed 12 April 2016

Our family of three stayed two nights in the Hennepin - billed as a Pioneer Cabin. The single room cabin features two double beds, a folding table, and two folding chairs. While the sleeping area is pretty cramped, the bathroom was enormous. There's no TV (fine with us) but you can get Wi-Fi courtesy of the lodge. The cabin comes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DonVila

213 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (167)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utica
1.5 km away
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
7.4 km away
Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock
12.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
La Quinta Inn Peru Starved Rock State Park
7.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Oglesby Inn
12.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Historic Lodge, built by the Civilian Conservation Corps. Features 69 guest rooms and 21 cabin rooms, majestic Great Hall with 2-sided fireplace, on-site restaurant and bar, outdoor dining, indoor pool, weddings and meetings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center

Address: 2668 E. 875th Road, Utica, IL 61348
Region: United States > Illinois > Utica
Price Range: $241 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starved Rock Utica
Starved Rock Hotel Utica Il
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Grand Ridge, Illinois
3 months ago
Grand Ridge, Illinois
2 months ago
9 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“try getting a cabin”
TheRealMKS88, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Beautiful views on the higher floors!”
gordonj141, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Take advantage of the tours and activities the Lodge has to offer.”
trib_ona, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Lodge rooms are nice, but we preferred the larger hotel room we had this year with a larger bathroom.”
753larryp, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't get a cabin unless you're taking all four rooms. There is no sound-proofing in the connecting doors.”
  • A King cabin room on the sunset side. Beware the connecting doors and no sound proofing.
diane560, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$169* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$169
TripAdvisorUS$169
PricelineUS$169
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates