We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Clarion Inn in Merrillville

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Clarion Inn in Merrillville
See the most recent reviews
Showing 152: English reviews
Crown Point, Indiana
Reviewed 2 July 2015

Perfect for our one night stay. We went to star plaza for a concert. Hotel is walking distance to star plaza. Room in good condition spacious could use purging of old dirty greasy stained recliner. Could use new comforter the one on bed was yellowed. Great breakfast area, Staff was helpful and very friendly. Spent 110 on room. Radison hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank witkowskiHebronIn
Scott C, General Manager at Clarion Inn in Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and feedback, Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewed 1 July 2015

Using a discount website, got a room here for a good price. Do not pay full rate for this place. It is convenient to Star Plaza and the highways, but it is not a plush hotel. They had someone else in our room when we checked in. Fortunately, the desk clerk discovered it before we walked in on someone. Clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith O
Scott C, General Manager at Clarion Inn in Merrillville, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that...

Springboro, OH
Reviewed 26 June 2015 via mobile

We spent 1 night on our way through town. It was nice and mostly clean. My only (very minor) complaint is about some brown stuff on the desk when we walked in the room. It was apparently something that had blown out of the air conditioner. Bed was comfy. Nice to have fridge. Wish the TV had been bigger for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cathykicks13
Scott C, General Manager at Clarion Inn in Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewed 21 June 2015

The place was a little hidden, but a great location, quiet and clean place. the place fely more ;;ilke a lodge, we got a great rate on room, but breakfast was not included, there are plenty place a serving good breakfast, over all very good

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank garland h
Scott C, General Manager at Clarion Inn in Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us!

Michigan
Reviewed 28 April 2015

Got a very good deal using Express Deal on Priceline to stay a night at the Clarion Inn. Thank goodness for GPS, as the hotel was way back down a side road, past some construction, with no hotel sign to let you know you had arrived. The staff was friendly, and the hotel was nice and clean. The bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rinkratsx4
Scott C, General Manager at Clarion Inn in Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are currently going through some wonderful enhancements at the hotel. Our signs will be in place this month, an updated fitness center, and a new restaurant and bar this summer! Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure...

Brookfield, Wisconsin
Reviewed 13 April 2015

Stayed just one night; found deal on hotwire. The exterior was being repainted, which it desperately needed. The inside of the hotel could use some updating. Our room was small but quiet. The sofa sleeper was due to be retired as the hard metal coils were practically poking through and made for an uncomfortable nights sleep for my eleven year...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Badgerm0m
Scott C, General Manager at Clarion Inn in Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

Mooresville, Indiana
Reviewed 26 March 2015

We had traveled back from Green Bay on our way home from my husband bowling in the USBC Masters Tournament. We checked in fairly early, but the hotel was kind enough to let us check in. We asked them to put us in a quiet area because of the problems we had at other hotels and guests being loud and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MCRANE0603
Scott C, General Manager at Clarion Inn in Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. We do our very best to control the noise levels in the hotel when it comes to over guests. Please know, when you express your...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 18 March 2015

All in all, a okay hotel if you just need a night or two in northwest Indiana. The hotel is VERY hard to find. It's located down a frontage road, past the Star Plaza Theatre, then, where you think the road dead ends, it's past that. It sorely lacks updates. The pool area looks like something from the 80s with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank achap39
Scott C, General Manager at Clarion Inn in Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! We will be...

Indiana
Reviewed 17 March 2015

Great Clean Hotel. Should give free breakfast even if you buy from priceline. That was not fair. You save a few bucks then they want $9.00 each to eat breakfast Nice pool and hot tub Need kids to be respectful and not run the halls banging on doors at midnight

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank iammrphil
Scott C, General Manager at Clarion Inn in Merrillville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We run some amazing rates on Priceline, Expedia, and Hot Wire, but they do not include breakfast. They are so highly discounted that we offer breakfast at an additional charge. For those who do wish to have breakfast included we have some...

Delphi, Indiana
Reviewed 8 March 2015

First time ever, we were able to use the pool as a family! Our oldest is in a wheelchair and not light, so using a chair lift in the pool was great! Our room was extra big compared to most, bathroom was even better, 100% handicap accessible!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonya I
Scott C, General Manager at Clarion Inn in Merrillville, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Scott Crowley General Manager Clarion Inn, Merrillville 219-756-1600

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merrillville hotels
0.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
#1 of 21 in Merrillville
548 reviews
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn Merrillville
Hampton Inn Merrillville
#2 of 21 in Merrillville
325 reviews
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites of Merrillville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Comfort Suites Merrillville
Comfort Suites Merrillville
#6 of 21 in Merrillville
110 reviews
1.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Merrillville
0.6 km away
Residence Inn Merrillville
Residence Inn Merrillville
#5 of 21 in Merrillville
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clarion Inn Merrillville offers unique lodge style accommodations in an ideal location just 35 minutes from the bustle of Chicago. Located just off I-65 at Exit 253, this hotel is the perfect place to stay while visiting the area's top attractions such as Star Plaza Theatre, Indiana Dunes, and Deep River Water Park. Business Travelers also appreciate the close proximity to the offices of BP, Ford, US Steel, and NiSource. This Clarion hotel offers unique amenities among Merrillville, IN hotels including an outdoor waterfall and pond, a heated indoor/outdoor pool, and free WiFi. Enjoy a delicious breakfast at the Courtyard Cafe, or get in a work out on the road at the fitness center. Guest Rooms are highlighted by flat-screen TVs with premium cable and a luxurious bedding package. With the Windy City just 40 miles away, this hotel is also convenient for a quick commute to Chicago where you can enjoy Millennium Park, Navy Pier, or Wrigley Field. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clarion Inn in Merrillville

Address: 7850 Rhode Island Avenue, Merrillville, IN 46410
Region: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Price Range: $107 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn in Merrillville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarion Inn in Merrillville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Merrillville Hotel Merrillville
Courtyard Merrillville
Merrillville Marriott
Merrillville Courtyard
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clarion Inn in Merrillville staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Clarion Inn in Merrillville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“west side rooms have nature walk and pond view, east side face highway.”
 of 5 bubbles mike_phx, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you have mobility issues, be sure to book a room on the first floor. They only have stairs, no elevator available.”
 of 5 bubbles FrugaliciousDiva, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Odd number side overlooks river. Far enough away from ice machine and lobby. Close to back stairs (no elevators)”
 of 5 bubbles swede52497, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“No elevators!!”
  • The bug that wanted to join me for a shower
 of 5 bubbles Shaws2much, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Could hear people walking around on the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles NancyHG, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5