We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

519 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
See the most recent reviews
Showing 515: English reviews
Middleton, United States
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynda N
Jim D, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this review

Lonoke, Arkansas
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

I travel to the Portage IN area about every 6 weeks for business and stay at the country inn and suites hotel. The hotel is nice and clean. The staff is Friendly and helpful. They go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. Good location and close to bass pro shop. They provide breakfast from 06:00 a 09:00...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lea L
Jim D, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this review

Lea thank you so much for your comments and review. It is always nice to see you and we hope to do so again very soon. Stay safe on your travels and have a great remainder to your summer.

Reviewed 11 July 2016

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank coletteg504
Jim D, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this review

Indianapolis, United States
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly F
Jim D, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this review

illinois, United States
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rodger F
Jim D, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this review

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 11 July 2016

We spent 3 nights here and we're very impressed with the maintenance provided by Kevin. He was very friendly and greeted my husband and I in the hallway. He asked if everything was working well in our room. We replied that everything was fine. Shortly after that my mother-in-law mentioned a problem with her shower so my husband looked for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
Jim D, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this review

Kevin our Maintenance man has been with us for close to 10 years and in that time has made a ,ot of our guests happy with his nice disposition and readiness to crack a joke. His primary job is to make sure the rooms are ready for you and to deal with any issues you may encounter. He always does...

Plymouth, Michigan
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Room was very clean. Internet was terrible. Noisy other gas and hotel wouldn't make them quiet down. Pool area hot pool was dirty rust in the bottom debris and floating paint chips. No value for the $$

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank B8718CVsara
Jim D, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this review

We never ever want to disappoint a guest and apologize for letting you down. We will be much more diligent with our pool area inspections and will try to keep the noise from excited kids to a minimum. Have a wonderful remainder to your summer and please come back to see us very soon!

Seymour, Indiana
Reviewed 10 July 2016

The rooms are very dirty. In particular, the bathroom. The furniture and carpet were stained. Not worth the price for these types of issues. The pool area and arcade room are very dirty and stained furniture too.

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
Jim D, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this review

I apologize you encountered the issues you mentioned Kim. Be assured that we will do all we can to assure this is dealt with immediately. We appreciate your review and thank you for spending time with us. Have a great remainder to your summer and travel safely!

Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

This is our second year in a row visiting this hotel for a family trip to the Indiana Dunes. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, the breakfast is more extensive than you often see at hotels, the hotel is only a short drive from the state park, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. To top it all off,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn E
Jim D, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this review

Before anything else we are a family hotel staffed by regular people with families of our won. Nothing is more important to us than the trust you place in us by allowing us to get to know your family. We hope that your time in Portage will stay in your memory for a long time to come and that it...

Melbourne, United States
Reviewed 9 July 2016

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank George R
Jim D, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this review

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Portage Hotel & Suites
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn Portage
Hampton Inn Portage
#2 of 10 in Portage
347 reviews
11.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portage
5.8 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
124 reviews
10.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Indian Oak
BEST WESTERN Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are located near the the Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore and just 1 mile from Portage's Riverwalk beach park. We are a family friendly hotel with a large aquatic center featuring a kiddie pool, hot tub, swimming pool and an arcade area. We offer a great free breakfast every morning that includes fresh homemade waffles, various hot items like sausage and eggs as well as lots of fruits and cereals. We are just 45 minutes from downtown Chicago with great rail service available daily until midnight or later. The famed Lighthouse Outlet mall is less than 20 minutes away as are numerous casinos. Portage is a great place to vacation or just visit. Our beaches are second to none and our people are friendly and always inviting.. The famed Steel Mills of NW Indiana are just minutes away from the hotel so business clients are always welcomed. Specially negotiated rates are available for all contractors and vendors doing business with the mills. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage

Address: 1630 Olmstead Dr, Portage, IN 46368-1696
Region: United States > Indiana > Portage
Price Range: $137 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Portage
Country Inn & Suites Portage Hotel Portage
Country Inn Portage
Portage Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Ligonier, Indiana
1 month ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Keep driving if its saturday. Not quiet. Probably not safe.”
 of 5 bubbles KaraC466, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms have recently been remodeled and some rooms have temperpedic mattresses”
 of 5 bubbles bjgorches1, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“First floor is noisy; choose an upper level”
 of 5 bubbles GinNBerry, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our roomm was on the back side of hotel-very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles WISJAMERICANS, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 431 is on the top floor and on the corner, and is huge!”
 of 5 bubbles trueindigo, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5