We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Farmstead Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Management photos
Farmstead Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

550 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 550: English reviews
Lima
1 review
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I reserved six rooms for a group of 18 of us to stay at Farmstead Inn and EVERYONE was very pleased with our stay. They want to come back next fall. Thank you for a wonderful stay. They enjoyed the pool, played ping pong, and we had the dining area to ourselves in the evening so we played table games... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jennifercA6437IP
Grand Rapids
1 review
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It was great other than the breakfast being gone & the rooms closer to the front desk from our expierence are a bit dirtier possibly because they are used so often?! But our carpet was quite dirty. Kids always love your hotel. Friendly and very family oriented!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cindye145
Delafield, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice property...Comfortable room and lobby. Staff was very friendly and welcoming. Don't come on a Sunday as the whole town is closed. There were no places to eat or nothing to see or do. Hotel did not provide complimentary breakfast as advertised due to so few people staying there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank William L
Mark E, General Manager at Farmstead Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us! We regret not being able to serve breakfast, but we did offer $5 vouchers per person to a nearby restaurant. We know it's not ideal and we apologize. More 

Clarksville
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is close to town so you can walk. The Breakfast Bar is very good. The whole hotel is very clean and the staff is very friendly. We arrived early and was able to check in a little early. Also when calling to make reservations the front desk informed me of the food drive special. The front desk was... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank T106JMkims
Mark E, General Manager at Farmstead Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much. We are thrilled you had a great time! More 

Plainfield
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went there for their Holiday parade. Made for a nice weekend! We took advantage of their Holiday Food Drive, giving us $20 off of the room rate. And felt good helping someone in the community! They have coffee on in the lobby, so that was a nice feature for this cold weather time of year. Also a refrigerator in... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank U8170QSterryb
Mark E, General Manager at Farmstead Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review. That Light Parade was something else! I would expect some changes to next years to make it better and easier for people to view. Thanks! More 

Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a lovely place to relax and get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Everyone was polite and friendly. Breakfast had an amazing selection. There is an indoor pool and jacuzzi along with a workout room. Great deal for the money. The town is wonderful also.

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen K
Dayton
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Blue Gate where we stayed the last time was fabulous. your breakfast is horrible. overcooked and cold. You should take a walk to the Blue Gate and see how beautiful they are and good food. We will not stay again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank teresaaF9318RH
Mark E, General Manager at Farmstead Inn, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed the Blue Gate. They are a great hotel. Their entire industry was built around the restaurant. It doesn't surprise me that they have a good breakfast. We try hard to put a good free continental breakfast and many guests feel like its pretty good. We don't try to compare ourselves to what they can do... More 

Franklin
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Farmstead Inn is one of my favorite stops in Indiana. I have been coming to the ISA fall conference for the past several years. This Inn is very clean and accommodating. The front desk staff was very helpful and quick. The employees are extremely nice and helpful. Breakfast buffet is excellent.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dougcP6883KR
Mark E, General Manager at Farmstead Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! More 

Kirklin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location convenient to area shopping and dining. Over priced for quality of facility. Desk staff very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast hostess could care less about quality of food and hot foods being hot. Needs maintenance in pool area for black mold problem.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank beverlyb379
Mark E, General Manager at Farmstead Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I will look into our breakfast and how we can handle that better. As far as the hot tub area, I will agree it doesn't look good. The problem is rust, not mold. We are currently prepping the area to repaint and and a mural, but unfortunately some of the metal has some wear on... More 

Rockford
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A couples fall getaway. First trip to Shepshewana. A most interesting area. Museum extremely interesting and well done. Good shopping and eating. Can't wait to return during flea market . Would choose Farmstead again definitely

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank johngO5836WT
Mark E, General Manager at Farmstead Inn, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The Flea Market and the summertime in Shipshewana is certainly a lot of fun! More 

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipshewana
0.7 km away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
1.9 km away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
10.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Howe Inn
21.7 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Goshen
129 reviews
0.5 km away
Super 8 Shipshewana
Super 8 Shipshewana
#3 of 5 in Shipshewana
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Farmstead Inn is located in the heart of Northern Indiana Amish Country. The architecture is patterned after local homesteads and contains 153 spacious and comfortable guest rooms. Our large, well-appointed Inn was designed to offer the feel of a quaint, old farmhouse while offering the modern comforts our guests expect including Free hot continental breakfast, indoor pool, hot tub, fitness center, ping pong, basketball and conference center facilities for up to 550. Each room is complete with an HD DirecTV package, refrigerator, microwave & coffee maker. It's an easy stroll from the Inn to the many local shops and attractions, including the Shipshewana Trading Place Auction & Flea Market during the summer season. Amenities include hot continental breakfast, free wireless Internet, indoor pool and hot tub, a recreation building and several comfy seating areas with fireplaces. Let our staff welcome you home, to the Farmstead Inn. Across from the famous Shipshewana Flea Market and nearby Shipshewana's downtown shopping and dining district. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Farmstead Inn

Address: 370 S Van Buren St., Shipshewana, IN 46565
Region: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Price Range: $132 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Farmstead Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Farmstead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmstead Hotel Shipshewana
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Farmstead Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Farmstead Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The third floor has the fewest rooms, but very quiet and spacious rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 328jims, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I think any room you choose would be a good room!!”
 of 5 bubbles , 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“kid friendly, excellent staff, nice indoor pool, nice rooms”
 of 5 bubbles dadavis22016, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“the rooms are nice, but bring earplugs.”
 of 5 bubbles carolynt599, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Can not bring any alcohol into the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles leslieh243, 27 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay