We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sterling Hotel and Suites

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sterling Hotel and Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 208: English reviews
Start your review of Sterling Hotel and Suites
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Things started out poorly from check in. The staff lacked professionalism. No need to dress super nice, but seriously, more than one employee looked like they just rolled out of bed. It took half an hour to check in. The hotel room was a nice size and could have been really great. But it was filthy. I felt like I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra A
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place is a terrific value for what you get. We had the penthouse which has a bedroom and bathroom upstairs, full kitchen, living room and another bedroom downstairs. It's nice to be able to have a little privacy when traveling with others meaning you can go off to your own bedrooms when it's time to go to bed. This...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Justin S
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Good morning Justin, We appreciate the time you took out of your day to write this review and we would like to wish you a wonderful day.

Andover, Kansas
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I had read mixed reviews on this hotel but for the money you can't beat it. We had a double bed room which included a full kitchen and a fireplace. Plus, as a bonus - it's real close to I-35. And, there's several restaurants close to the hotel which is also a plus!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank doglvnchick
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and have a wonderful day.

Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

I came into Des Moines under emergency circumstances as my brother was in the ICU at Methodist Medical Center and throughout our week stay the GM and his staff were very friendly and accommodating to work with. The room was nice, clean and comfortable which was just we needed and for the money it couldn't be beat. Next time we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frequentlytravelvh
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Good morning, we hope your brother is feeling better again and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Reviewed 28 February 2017

Breakfast attendant looked like she just grawled out of bed. Bleach stained t-shirt, sweat pants, and her hair was a mess. Then she wasn't even wearing a hair net, how gross. Waffle iron is coated with grease. Room was clean but the property is very very outdated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DawnRM1
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Good morning, thank you so much for you review. We apologize for the negative experience you had with our breakfast. We will make the necessary changes to improve our breakfast service.

Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with my mom because I had a doctor appointment in the area. We had previously stayed at the Homewood Suites and couldn't afford it for this trip. We loved this cute little place. Loved the studio apartment feel. Loved the price. Needed some updates but would definitely stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shauna S
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Good morning, thank you so much for your review and we would like to wish you a wonderful day.

Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Wonderful!! We were amazed with the king size suite. Well worth the money. A bdrm, living room,fireplace, kitchen,and full bathroom. Plus an upatairs bedroom with another full bathroom. Will definetly be coming to stay again soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danny D
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Good morning Danny, Thank you so much for your wonderful review and have a great day.

iowa
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Had not stayed for several years. Not as nice as I remembered. We had two Penthouse suites. One recently remodeled was wonderful. Other one not so much. Holes in furniture, food on wall, needs new paint and flooring. Very poor condition. Front staff was great on phone and in person. Problem was one of our room was not ready until...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kennedy05Iowa
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Good Morning Kennedy, Please accept our apologize for the inconvenience you had with the room. It took our staff longer to clean all the rooms due to extreme high last minute volume of reservation around New Years Eve. Our owners are finalizing a remodel plan for the hotel and we will start shortly with the remodel process for the next...

Frisco, Texas
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Booked this hotel through Hotwire as a 3 star suite hotel in Clive. This is an old apartment complex made into 'hotel suites'. First impression was the threshold, very nasty looking, looked moldy - not clean. The room had an odor, the carpet had a big rip in the middle of the room. This is more of a 2 star...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kakkck
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Good Morning Kakkck, we are sorry to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations. Our owners are finalizing a renovation plan for the hotel and we hope that you will give us another change after the renovation.

Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here last weekend for 4 nights. Great rate for a spacious room. Kitchen was a big plus. We made Christmas dinner and had the family over. Hotel is showing its age a little but still very clean and comfy. Location next to the interstates made it very convient to get to Ankeny and downtown to visit family. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Soonergolfer
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and we would like to wish you a happy New Year.

136 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.1 km away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
258 reviews
0.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
0.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#12 of 49 in Des Moines
562 reviews
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites
0.1 km away
Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sterling Hotel and Suites guests can expect excellent service and superior amenities. Relax in our spacious suites with the amenities that will provide both business and leisure travelers all the comforts of home. We include a complimentary hot breakfast, high-speed wireless internet service, on-site laundry facility and fully equipped kitchens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sterling Hotel and Suites

Address: 11428 Forest Ave, Clive, IA 50325-7031 (Formerly Chase Suite Hotel Des Moines)
Region: United States > Iowa > Clive
Price Range: $92 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sterling Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sterling Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Hotel Clive
Chase Hotel Des Moines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sterling Hotel and Suites staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sterling Hotel and Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here”
DawnRM1, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The Penthouse had two bedrooms and a living room, allowed the family to be together without having to move between rooms.”
45debrag, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“the "penthouse" units are great for groups of 3-4, but require going up one flight of stairs to the entrance”
artm1, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Check for groupons”
intheknowtoo, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from rooms facing the i-80”
iabug, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5