We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive

Show Prices
#5 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Courtyard Des Moines West\/Clive
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 127: English reviews
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed two nights after a horrible experience at the Days Inn nextdoor. We got the online special fir $69 (breakfast not included). Large room, bright, quiet, comfy. Good tv with cable (sadly lacks BTN, a minor quibble). Everything is clean and well maintained. A small workout room on first floor with couple of treadmills and trainers each with built in... More 

Helpful?
Thank RSOMAS
Jeff V, General Manager at Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our hotel. We are delighted that your stay with the Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive was enjoyable. I am sorry for the issue you had next door but am glad that we were able to take care of you while your were in town. I will share your feedback with... More 

O'Fallon, Missouri
Level Contributor
236 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here while in town for a Tennis tournament. It is your standard typical Marriott Courtyard hotel, and the courtyard is very nice to sit out in. There is an indoor pool and hot tub. The rooms are clean, fairly updated and a good size. It is situated away from the main highway, so is nice and quiet, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank esd3104
Twin Cities
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel was clean, quiet, and generally a typical Marriott Courtyard experience. Some things that would make it better: 1. Offer AT LEAST a bottle of water to Marriott Gold members. I mean really. Late checkout is not a great benefit. $5 towards breakfast would be even better. 2. Keep the bistro/bar open until 11pm. Otherwise this is a very nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Norsketech
Jeff V, General Manager at Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience with the Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive. We are happy that your stay with us was enjoyable. I will share your feedback with my staff. Marriott is working on an F&B credit for our Marriott Elite Members at the Select Service Properties and hope to be rolling something our around the... More 

Pella, Iowa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Son was visiting and we were going to be between dsm and Ames. I chose this place looking for a nice room, big enough for three. We actually had a room w a parlor. Couch, desk, and chair made for good chatting w son and girlfriend. Beds were heaven! Bathroom small, but OK. Sink etc outside bath so more than... More 

Helpful?
Thank gary c
Jeff V, General Manager at Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your feedback with my staff. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us... More 

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Stayed here for a business trip in Des Moines with a colleague of mine. We worked in the courtyard area, which was outfitted with nice tables, chairs and couches. I took a walk around the area to check out the restaurants, which are an easy five minute walk from the hotel. Room was clean, staff was nice, nothing bad to... More 

Helpful?
Thank PackLightTravelHeavy
Jeff V, General Manager at Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive. As a Valued Guest, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. I will share your comments with my staff. We enjoy hearing what... More 

Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2016

My wife and I recently stayed at the Courtyard in West Des Moines. As is the case with all Courtyards, the property was clean and well kept. The rooms were also very comfortable and clean. Exactly what you expect and pay for. The disappointment was the performance of the wifi system. Like many of you, I answer email and do... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Robb O
Jeff V, General Manager at Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive, responded to this review

Dear Robb, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive. You indicated in your response the problem that you experienced with the Internet service. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. I will... More 

Minneapolis
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Stayed here on an overnight to Kansas City. The hotel was clean and the staff was great. We appreciated the option of getting a room with two queen beds and a sofa sleeper. Makes it easier for families of 5. The only drawback for Courtyard is the brand change to the Bistro. Not great options when trying to feed the... More 

Helpful?
Thank EMarq
Jeff V, General Manager at Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time share your feedback about your stay. We are pleased that your stay with us was enjoyable. I will share your feedback with my staff. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that... More 

Locust Grove, Georgia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Great hotel! Clean and modern. Bathroom is really clean and I love where the bathroom is located in the room. It gives you more privacy since its away from the actual room. They have a bistro downstairs and we had breakfast there (additional charge). It was delish!!! The potatoes were really good! I recommend this hotel if you're around the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Millie M
Jeff V, General Manager at Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive, responded to this review

Dear Millie, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are happy that your stay with us. I am also glad that you were able to enjoy the Bistro. It is one of my favorite places to eat. I will share your feedback with my staff as well as the other members of my leadership team. Everything... More 

Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2016

We arrived at midnight - the staff was very helpful and accommodating. Our room was very clean and quiet, and the beds were comfortable. It was nice to have a fridge to put our milk and juice for the next morning.

Helpful?
Thank AnnetteK1234
Jeff V, General Manager at Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time share your comments. We are happy that your stay with the Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive was enjoyable. I will share your feedback with my staff. They enjoy hearing what our guest have to say about their stay. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with a great hotel experience and your feedback is... More 

Wood Dale, Illinois
Level Contributor
151 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2016

While returning from our Route 66 Trip to Arizona and on the way back to Chicago, we happened to plan a stay in Clive, IA. My wife is the consumate planner and did her due dilegence in researching the best places to stay along the entire trip. This particular Courtyard had high reviews and having stayed there can see why.... More 

Helpful?
Thank pjungel
Jeff V, General Manager at Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive. As a Valued Guest, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. I will share your feedback with my staff. Your feedback is integral... More 

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
0.2 km away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
243 reviews
0.2 km away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#10 of 48 in Des Moines
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites
0.5 km away
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
#14 of 20 in West Des Moines
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive

Address: 1520 Northwest 114th Street, Clive, IA 50325
Region: United States > Iowa > Clive
Price Range: $153 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive Hotel Clive
Courtyard Clive
Clive Courtyard
Clive Marriott
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room NOT on the ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles jerrys01, 14 May 2016 | Read review
“It's probably better to get a room that overlooks the courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles CrystalH98, 22 Nov 2015 | Read review
“As far away from lobby as possible”
 of 5 bubbles GWhitney6, 11 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the stairwell or elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles Retired1939, 26 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Request a room facing the courtyard”
 of 5 bubbles 516aimeer, 12 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay