We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Residence Inn Coralville

2681 James St, Coralville, IA 52241-1887
Special Offer
Member Rates
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Iowa Children's Museum
    0.7 km
  • 3 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
STRONGLY recommend!
Favorite things: 1. Great location near restaurants, bars... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 168: English reviews
Parker, Colorado
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here somewhat unexpectedly while traveling from CO to MI, due to bad weather. We were in need of a pet friendly hotel. When I called, the staff was not overly helpful. I had to ask very specific questions to get the information I needed, and the person at the front desk didn't seem to be overly knowledgeable about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank doylc1
Josh E, General Manager at Residence Inn Coralville, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you were not overall satisfied with our property. I do want to thank you for your feedback on the staff, as we will use this to help better prepare our staff for the future. I am glad your family was able to take advantage of our pool.

Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Favorite things: 1. Great location near restaurants, bars, shopping, and I-80. 10 minutes from downtown IC. 2. Very friendly staff from the front desk to pool maintenance. 3. FREE DINNER AND DRINKS?!!! This was an unexpected perk that made us fall in love. Furthermore, we sat in a little booth with a private TV. They had a buffet style setup...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ljbeethoven
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 12 December 2016

We stayed one night, in town for a sporting event at U of Iowa. It was about 5 minutes to the venue (volleyball, so not a lot of traffic). We booked two king studios. The studios included a sitting area with a sofa bed sharing common space with the bed area and kitchen, so no private areas within the room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OmahaTraveler57
Josh E, General Manager at Residence Inn Coralville, responded to this review

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We truly enjoy being able to offer the many different amenities for our guest. We hope to see you again soon!

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 7 December 2016

The front desk staff did a great job and she was very friendly. The room was not the cleanest. Someone's old food was left in fridge. The room was dusty. The bathroom floor needed mopped. The tv did not work half the night. On next trip this way we will not return to Residence Inn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C E
RI_Coralville_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Coralville, responded to this review

I am deeply sorry to hear about your poor experience with us. Please accept my deepest apologizes for my staff not fully cleaning the room during your stay. I can tell you however, that our area did experience a recent outage for cable during the overnight hours. Once again, I am truly sorry to hear of your experience with us.

Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for a night under a rewards program. The hotel suite was very clean and had comfortable bed. We did not experience any disturbances due to active nearby railway tracks. When we heard the train whistle, we were already up in the morning. The free breakfast was reasonable with standard choices. Check in and check out we're...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manas R
Josh E, General Manager at Residence Inn Coralville, responded to this review

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope you enjoyed our new breakfast items that were debuted earlier this Summer.

Prior Lake, Minnesota
Reviewed 10 November 2016

We were using points, so don't know about pricing, but rooms were ultra clean and designed very well for work, play and living. Fun pool. Had to do computer work and be on telcons and desk area was well laid out with plenty of outlets for phones, computers, etc. Check-in staff was great, their evening reception is open until 7:30,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Snoopy2758
RI_Coralville_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Coralville, responded to this review

We are happy you were able to take advantage of our relaxed fun experience we have to offer while still getting your work done! The Mix is a great experience and I am happy you enjoyed it!

Reviewed 10 November 2016

Our two-night stay in a one-bedroom suite met all of our requirements. The kitchen has a full-size refrigerator, two-burner electric stove and apartment-size dishwasher. There was a separate room for the king-size bed. The living-dining-kitchen area was attractive, well lit and included both a small dining table for eating plus a generous-size desk. Staff were extremely friendly. We've already booked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marianne M
RI_Coralville_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Coralville, responded to this review

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in our One Bedroom Suite. We enjoy hearing about how our guest enjoy the suite side of life!

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Do not stay here if you enjoy getting a good night's sleep - the hotel is directly on train tracks and a large train goes by every night/morning at 2:00 AM and 6:00 AM and blows a very loud horn at least 3 times. It was loud enough to wake me up every single night/morning. As for the hotel itself,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric O
Josh E, General Manager at Residence Inn Coralville, responded to this review

I do apologize for the issue with the train. Unfortunately, this is something beyond our control and effects our entire community. I am happy to hear you enjoyed every other aspect of our hotel.

Billings, Montana
Reviewed 25 October 2016

The number one priority for me in a hotel is that I want to feel safe. This hotel failed. On checking in to my room, I discovered that the door to my room would not latch and lock. This means that room would not lock and it could be entered at any time without a key. To enter the room,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zzhawk24
Josh E, General Manager at Residence Inn Coralville, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear about the issues you faced while you were at our property. This is very unusual as we pride our self on our committing to exceeding our guest expectations. I am glad you were able to enjoy the rest of your time in our community however.

OKLA
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Res Inn is in an area that is just being developed-it is maybe 1/2 mile from interstate so there is no noise. A chain steakhouse adjoins the property otherwise there are no restaurants for a block or two. There is a mall area nearby. The property is a typical Res Inn as far as room layout and breakfast. We didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rsfred
RI_Coralville_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Coralville, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! We enjoy being able to be close to some of those things like the university campus and the mall to give our guest opportunities to explore our area. We hope to see you again.

143 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coralville hotels
1.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Coralville
3.6 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Comfort Suites Coralville
Comfort Suites Coralville
#8 of 18 in Coralville
145 reviews
4.0 km away
Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
3.4 km away
Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay at our all suite hotel in Coralville, IA. Close to the University of Iowa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Residence Inn Coralville

Address: 2681 James St, Coralville, IA 52241-1887
Region: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Price Range: $191 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Coralville 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Coralville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Coralville
#2 Business Hotel in Coralville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Residence Inn Coralville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“4th floor is very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles ljbeethoven, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Always ask for a top floor, just to avoid thumpers. We got a studio suite and had plenty of room for 2 folks!”
 of 5 bubbles Snoopy2758, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Look closely at the room layouts before you choose this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles rmpeterson2, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“4th floor means no one is stomping around above you. Also get a room away from the train tracks.”
 of 5 bubbles 525JaneB525, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the south east side are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles meridieb, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5