We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Des Moines Marriott Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

410 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 404: English reviews
Start your review of Des Moines Marriott Downtown
 Click to rate
Virginia, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

Gratuity based shuttle service is very nice, extensive, ncluding airport. For business travelers you can get a receipt for shuttle. Very limited underground parking. Skywalk conviently located in hotel to explore downtown. Rooms large. Concierge lounge offered incredible food but area is very small, not relaxing at all. And its not on the concierge floor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debi R
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is an a fantastic location in downtown Des Moines. Rooms are generously large and well suited for extended stays. Floor layouts are simple and easy to navigate. Check in process was seamless. Roughly 15-20min ride from the hotel to the airport via shuttle service. Now here is where the service went down hill and was just embarrassing for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EuroDucky
Des Moines M, Manager at Des Moines Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid feedback that we have already shared with our shuttle drivers and their immediate supervisor to ensure the team as a whole understands the perception created. We have reestablished the expectation moving forward for appropriate behavior in their line of work. We very much appreciate the positive comments surrounding our hotel as we value our guest's...

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at the Des Moines Marriott Downtown. My room was wonderful. Loved having a Keurig in my room is a very nice touch. Very attentive staff. easy access to down town businesses, restaurants and entertainment. Highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank msrms2
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The evening shuttle is hit or miss at best and you will be outright told they need tips, this doesn't stop when you get to your room and the housekeeper has left a request for tips, then add it that the business center is in the middle of a busy coffee shop and yes you must pay to use the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 812,841
Management response:

Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay. We appreciate you sharing your observations with our potential customers and will assure that your series of concerns are shared with our management team.

Fairfax County, Virginia
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

I'm a big fan of Marriott, but this place is not on the same page. Problems with my reservation led to problems with the front desk crew. No apologies, just a "move along". I travel all across the country and this was truly the worst check in experience of my Marriott life. Will not be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ddacreed
Des Moines M, Manager at Des Moines Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Please accept our sincere apology for the lack of care upon booking and arrival. Thank you for sharing this feedback so that we may bring awareness to our staff to understand the perception created. We understand our opportunity to host you again may be lost, however, still hope you may reconsider allowing us to service you more brilliantly in the...

Quincy, Illinois
Reviewed 13 February 2017

2nd time staying here as they are the hotel for the Mid Winter Blues Fest. The staff and rooms were great. Can't speak about the food or bars. The $24 valet parking sucks but that is the way it goes. Nice place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lostandhungry
Management response:

Thank you for staying at the Des Moines Marriott Downtown this past weekend for Blue's Fest. We very much enjoy hosting this group each year. The valet parking option within the hotel garage is convenient for many guests. In the effort to save in the future, parking is free on the streets of downtown beginning at 6pm on Friday evening...

Cincinnati
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

This hotel was in a very convenient downtown location. It was also big enough to host the entire event that I was attending. The restaurant was ok, the fitness center was great and the staff were very helpful and kind. The room was decent in size and very clean. Fridge in room, comfortable bed and a HUGE tv. I will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 514keitht
Management response:

Thank you for sharing your valued feedback. Your comments are very important to us and will definitely encourage our valued guests, whether new or existing, to return. We hope you'll be back with us soon!

Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewed 2 February 2017

We arrived at our hotel and had to wait for a bit to get our room. Room was clean, but we were at the end of a hallway and when people used the stairs the door would bang in the middle of the night. They are also putting up a new hotel next door and 6 in the morning you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 644donnaj
Des Moines M, Manager at Des Moines Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay with us. We consider it a best practice to share all guest feedback with our operational teams to increase awareness and address any issues that may have occurred in order to prevent those same issues from happening again. The positive comment on the service provided by our valet team is equally...

Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewed 26 January 2017

I stay in the Des Moines often and have found this place to be a great escape from my work day. The Rooms are clean and the staff are great. The location is fun just minutes from the main downtown area. I recommend staying here. Plus it just minutes from the airport.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manny2225
Management response:

Thanks so much for providing feedback on your recent stay at the Des Moines Marriott Downtown. Our location is very centrally located providing access for our guests through the climate controlled skywalk system or our complimentary shuttle service throughout the downtown area. Hope we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon!

Joppa, Maryland
Reviewed 24 January 2017

This was a great hotel. I was there for a conference and all of the staff were really helpful. The room was really nice. I had room service once, and it was delivered quickly and was still warm when it arrived. Tasty,too! The hotel is connected to the skywalk system, so you can get to a lot of places without...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cindy G
Management response:

Thank you for staying with us at the Des Moines Marriott Downtown! It is certainly great to know that we were able to provide you with Marriott's 'Spirit to Serve' and that you found all aspects of your experience truly enjoyable. It is our hope that you will allow us the opportunity to host your stay in the future should...

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (88)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.1 km away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.9 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
0.2 km away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#7 of 49 in Des Moines
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.8 km away
Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
City Center Lounge
City Center Lounge
Cuisines: American
Rock River Grill & Tavern
Rock River Grill & Tavern
Cuisines: American, Pub
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy a luxury Des Moines hotel ideally located in the downtown business district just four miles from the airport and connected to the Iowa Events Center and Wells Fargo Arena by skywalk, making it one of the most convenient downtown Des Moines hotels. Dine at the delectable on-site Rock River Grill and Tavern, or discover the innovative City Center Lounge for casual downtown libations. Guests can relax in our sparkling pool or coffee shop and stay connected with our business center and free wi-fi in public areas. Highlighted by 25,000 square feet of space, this Des Moines, IA hotel is ideal for conferences, weddings, retreats and events of all sizes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Des Moines Marriott Downtown

Address: 700 Grand Avenue, Des Moines, IA 50309
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Price Range: $222 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Des Moines Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 415
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Des Moines Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Moines Marriott Downtown Hotel Des Moines
Marriott Des Moines
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Des Moines Marriott Downtown staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Des Moines Marriott Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“High floors have better views obviously.”
 of 5 bubbles 44debir, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Outside sirens are a concern, walls seem thin.”
 of 5 bubbles 812841, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“older and dated but clean kind of pricey but good location”
 of 5 bubbles joewA9679YK, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with newer bed and secure mattresses”
 of 5 bubbles cathiemcgregorc, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Low floor, elevators are slow at times”
 of 5 bubbles 861tarat, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5