We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 128: English reviews
Chaska
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed here a few times over the past two years. I like it so much I have driven further while I am in town just to stay at THIS Holiday Inn. This time they let me down. Room was good. Did find some long black hair in the room and bathroom. I am almost bald and the longest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisG00
Waverly, Iowa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I used to stay at this north-metro property often, but like many properties from the early-70s, even WITH occasional upgrades, it's challenging to keep things fresh and competitive with all the west-metro enticements. However, WHAT A SURPRISE! I was booked to do a meeting keynote, and honestly, I will be back! Sales Manager Lisa Hanrahan was incredible and gracious to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed at this location twice and both times U have left completely satisfied. The cleanliness of the rooms and the helpful staff is over the top! Cannot express enough how comfortable My stays have been. Will definitely return when I'm in Des Moines again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cynder l
MikeH4Hol-Inn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review

Hi cynder, I am very pleased you enjoyed both of your stay's - that's great to hear. Not sure why the rating was 2 stars??? If there was anything wrong I'd sure like to know. Maybe just a mis-click??? In any case thanks so much for staying with us. Best Regards,

Chandler, Arizona
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Rooms were clean, comfortable size. Bathrooms had extra shampoo & lotion. Hair dryer available. Friendly service at the front desk. Short walk to Bennigans restaurant but they also deliver. Easy to get on & off the highway. Accomodating for pets. Would definitely stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 90kmeyer
San Jose, CA
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

The reviews do not do this place justice. It was my favorite of four hotels I stayed in across the Midwest. They're right next to a Bennigan's. Delivery took ten minutes and they'll bring you a drink. Delicious dinner option! So awesome. People at the front desk were super. Parking was easy. The room was immaculate and updated. Assortment of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leslied2
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We stayed two nights (Fri/Sat) in a 1st floor room with 1 kingsize bed. Room was quiet, well-appointed and comfortable -- if a little on the small size. Included wifi, refrigerator, microwave, Kuerig coffeemaker w/ coffee. Staff was pleasant and helpful - providing replacement for a forgotten toothbrush. Bathroom was clean and included the normal shampoo, etc. One negative --...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean P
Kansas City
Reviewed 17 October 2016

I was with a group that stayed at the hotel for one evening (checked in around 5:30p and left around 7a the next morning). The woman at checkin was very efficient and I was in and out in around 2 minutes. The impression of the room was it was a typical hotel room with a mini-fridge and comfortable beds. Thermostat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TC_in_KC
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Holiday Inn is everything you know and expect from the chain. Same beds same decor...however familiar really does help for a good night sleep. Bennegan's is connected to the property so once you pull in you can stay put. No smoking property

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angelica M
Rhinelander,WI
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We chose this hotel on our return trip from Denver to Wisconsin. Price was right and a restaurant is attached. My husband freaked out when he found a leftover take out in the fridge, but hey that's just an oversight. Room was clean otherwise and bed was comfy. Easy access to interstate 35/80. My only complaint is no breakfast- just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank northwoodsgal61
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review

Dear northwoodsgal61, Thank you for posting a candid feedback from your recent stay with us. It is great to know that you were able to appreciate our rates, room cleanliness, and bed condition among the others. However, I was concerned to see that you found a leftover in the fridge and if you found no breakfast. I would like to...

Wisconsin
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

3.5 stars actually Not "very good" but nothing special either. Room was fair sized. King bed comfy, with plenty of large pillows which I appreciated. Wifi is spotty at best. Morning coffee, skip it. Not good. No breakfast but that was fine. TV is awful- dish reception froze. Navigating channels very clumsy. Bathroom needs attention. Some peeling ceiling areas at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tvdirector
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review

Dear tvdirector, Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. I am happy that you were able to rest well. However, it is regrettable that your stay was not 100% satisfactory due to the room layout, TV reception and the condition of the bathroom. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience these may have caused you....

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
0.6 km away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
8.2 km away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#12 of 49 in Des Moines
547 reviews
8.2 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#26 of 49 in Des Moines
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
#31 of 49 in Des Moines
434 reviews
3.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
9.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest is located in the heart of Iowa, 1/2 block from Interstates 80/35 and Merle Hay Road in the Des Moines suburbs of Johnston and Urbandale. Within minutes of corporate locations such as John Deere Credit, Pioneer Hi-Bred, Iowa Public Television and Camp Dodge. Enjoy our indoor pool, hot tub and recreation area until midnight! Nearly 200 guestrooms and suites feature quilt-top mattresses, triple sheets and pillow menu. Executive-class suites are offered in several styles, from Junior Kings to the stunning Presidential Whirlpool with Rosewood conference table, bar and entertainment center. Hotel offers over 12,000 square feet of conference space, including 18 breakout meeting rooms. Meet in the elegant Iowa Boardroom or the Heartland Ballroom, which can accommodate up to 600 guests. From technical assistance and creative menu planning, to just a bit of reassurance, our meeting professionals can assist with the planning of your next best event! Enjoy complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet service anywhere in the Hotel or restaurant. Local guests enjoy the extensive menu and friendly Irish hospitality of our Bennigan's restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest

Address: 4800 Merle Hay Road, Des Moines, IA 50322
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Price Range: $165 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Des Moines - Northwest
Holiday Inn Des Moines
Des Moines Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Warsaw, Indiana

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“great paring in the back. very safe area of town”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisG00, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“This property is attached to a Bennigan's restaurant and has a pool and workout area...”
 of 5 bubbles billw168, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The pool and hot tub area is very relaxing”
 of 5 bubbles cynderl2017, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a ground floor if you need to walk pets.”
 of 5 bubbles 90kmeyer, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in a room facing away from Merle Hay Road -- very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles A1045IVjeanp, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5