We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

405 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 404: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 18 February 2014

All I have to say is stay away from this awful hotel. So it is nicely decorated in the lobby, but when you get to your room, it is so outdated with its hedious deco. The room is so tiny that it really can accommodate a single person, definitely not two people as you would run into each other. I'd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
rick g, General Manager at Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. I do apologize that we were no able to provide you with the level of hotel that you were expecting. We are meeting with your company representative tomorrow to discuss our long on-going relationship and hope to solidify an agreement very soon. Thank you again for your feedback.

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I got a great deal through priceline and that's probably the main reason I was satisfied with my stay. The lobby is decorated very nicely but our room had a sloppy paint job around the bathroom door; there was paint from the door on the molding around the floor and the bottom left corner of the door was busted. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StudentTraveler14
rick g, General Manager at Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with our hotel. I do apologize for the challenges you experienced and will make sure and pass along to my staff for immediate resolution. Thank you again.

Carter Lake, Ia
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We really enjoy staying at this hotel...yes, I do see some reviews that complain about the small bathrooms, but the establishment is very old, and there is not much that can be done about that...the fixtures are up to date and function fine.... The hotel is in a great location in downtown and is attached to the skywalk system that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlton B
rick g, General Manager at Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. We are going to address the bathrooms in our upcoming renovation. The size may not change, but we are going to address the counter space. Skywalks are a blessing at this time of year. Thank you again,

Grimes, Iowa
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Apparently the room we were used to be two rooms. There were two outdated bathrooms with little room for toiletries. Our room had two full-size beds. The staff were very nice. Overall, we found the room to be small and outdated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tm212
rick g, General Manager at Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your stay with us. We will be renovating the guest rooms this fall and addressing our bathroom issues.

midwest
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Found a bargain price for this very trendy hotel in downtown Des Moines. Amazing place with a nice bar and grill. I will say first that the heat was difficult to control. Better to be too warm that too cold, I suppose. My corner room had two beds and TWO BATHS, which was excellent for teaming up with a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TiVoFanWis
rick g, General Manager at Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us. Hope to see you back in the near future.

Chicago, IL
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed here several nights recently on a business trip. The front desk staff were courteous, helpful and fast. My room had a nice work desk, a lounge chair, bed and separate area with a refrigerator and microwave. It was very comfortable and met my needs for the stay. I didn't really see any other guests during my stay, so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BusinessTraveler04
Anthony M, Manager at Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I sincerely apologize for any inconveniences or discomfort during your stay. I will discuss your comments with the rest of the management team. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again!

Northglenn, Colorado
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had multiple rooms booked for a family wedding. All of the rooms were very nice. All of the rooms we booked had two bathrooms! We were traveling with several children, so I thought this was great! One bath had a shower, the other one had a shower/tub combo. Very nice. Some of the rooms are oversized and have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kinzab
rickylgaede, General Manager at Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us. One of the unique features in some of our rooms are the two bathrooms. It is especially helpful with families. Our central location downtown really does make it convenient for all. Hope to see you again soon.

Nebraska
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Every year a group of people from a running group i belong to go to Des Moines, Iowa for the marathon. We stay at the Renaissance Savery Hotel. The hotel is an older building nestled downtown Des Moines. They hotel has been renovated, but still has the charm of an older hotel. Since we are there for the marathon, everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Love_2_Travel_72012
rickylgaede, General Manager at Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your stay with us in October. We so much enjoy having the marathon start and finish close to the hotel. We do hope to see you again next year.

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I had some work business in Des Moines and decided to stay at the Renaissance Savery hotel. It is an older hotel but has had some renovations done. The room was nice with a nice flat-screen tv, coffee maker and comfortable bed. My major complaint (mainly due to the age of the hotel) is the ultra-small bathroom - there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irishdoc1
rickylgaede, General Manager at Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your stay. We are looking into updating the bathrooms and add more counter space soon.

Sunnyvale CA
Reviewed 21 December 2013

As a flight crew member, this hotel has clean confortable rooms and a very professional staff, and the walkways are great.... The Bos resturant has a great lunch buffet for $10...and Subbu and Joanie are to outstanding server...Plus, I got a discount being a crew member. Plus the bar in the evening was great...serve food until Midnight....Great Pizza's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
rickylgaede, General Manager at Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great feedback. We truly enjoy having our flight crews each day. I will be sure and pass along your feedback to the BOS staff. They will be thrilled.

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.2 km away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.6 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
0.4 km away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#7 of 48 in Des Moines
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#12 of 48 in Des Moines
395 reviews
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
1.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Bos
Bos
Cuisines: American
No photo provided
Coda Lounge
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This historic hotel, located in the heart of downtown Des Moines, Iowa is within walking distance to Wells Fargo Arena, Iowa Events Center, Civic Center of Greater Des Moines, Court Avenue restaurants and nightlife and East Village restaurants and shops. Start your day off right with a visit to Coda Coffee, located on the street level of the hotel, for freshly brewed Starbucks beverages. Then return in the evening to Coda Lounge to discover the hottest new lounge in downtown Des Moines. Don't miss the contemporary midwest cuisine and local products served in BOS restaurant, also located street level in the hotel. Additional amenities enjoyed by guests include a fitness center, indoor pool, whirlpool, complimentary airport transportation and complimentary wireless service. If you’re searching for a venue to host a romantic wedding, a business meeting or a conference, this hotel features over 12,000 square feet of function space, innovative meeting technology and a creative catering and culinary team. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel

Address: 401 Locust St, Des Moines, IA 50309-2311 (Formerly Renaissance Savery Hotel)
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Price Range: $102 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Des Moines
Des Moines Renaissance
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Webster, Iowa
10 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms are a little different. Best to ask about layout options.”
 of 5 bubbles LBJ2014, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“ask, the rooms are so random, you need to ask.”
 of 5 bubbles annarbeit, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Not an issue.”
 of 5 bubbles jacktcass, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with a street view.”
 of 5 bubbles michaelmI6840SE, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Maybe ask to view the room before accepting...”
 of 5 bubbles 836dj, 5 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay