We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque-West, an IHG hotel

Save
Share
2080 Holliday Dr, Dubuque, IA 52002-0471
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$99
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/21
Expedia.com
US$99
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Traveluro
US$87
View deal
Hotels.comUS$99
HIExpress.comUS$99
PricelineUS$99
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (38)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (11)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque-West, an IHG hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 18 hotels in Dubuque
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque West. Dubuque s newest hotel located in the West End district. Our hotel is just minutes away from Dubuque s downtown featuring major attractions such as The National Mississippi River Museum, The Diamond Jo Casino, Grand River Center, Five Flags Civic Center, Star Brewery, and Dubuque Greyhound Park and Casino (Mystique). If you are traveling to Dubuque to enjoy one of our many fun filled events such as America s River Festival, Catfish Festival, Riverfest, Summerfest, and Dragonboat Festival, you ll find the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque West s convenient location perfect for shopping and dining. While visiting Dubuque, you may want to take a short drive to Galena IL for additional shopping and sight seeing General Grant s Home and other historical sights. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque West is designed for business travelers featuring High Speed Internet, 24 hour business center, large work desks in every room, and meeting room for groups up to 50 people. We welcome guest visiting McKesson, A.Y. McDonald, McGraw Hill, and Quebecor, Eagle Window and Doors, and Kendall Publishing and John Deere. In addition, our proximity to Loras College, University of Dubuque, and Clark College makes us the ideal location during your campus visit.Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque West!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Green
Languages Spoken
English
317Reviews2Q+A63Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 139
  • 104
  • 47
  • 16
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
396foodie1993 wrote a review Sep 2021
Baraboo, Wisconsin19 contributions3 helpful votes
Once again a hotel that advertises hot breakfast, but gives u a picnic in a bag. Not sure if this is due to staffing or COVID or both, but they still manage to charge the same rate & the breakfast is pathetic. Also, none of the staff or guests were wearing masks in public areas. There also must be some staffing issues as when I arrived there were 3 bags of garbage outside the elevator, & when I left the next day the same 3 bags of garbage were still by the elevator. On a positive note, the beds are super comfy.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Other at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque-West, an IHG hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi 396foodie1993, Thanks for your review and for staying with us. We're glad to hear you found the bed comfortable and hope you had a good night's sleep. I have taken note of your comments about the breakfast, the service and the issue with some employees not wearing masks. Your safety and well-being is our utmost concern, especially during these times. I have shared your comments with the hotel management about the impact these had on your visit. I trust that they will ensure a better visit upon your return. Many thanks for your feedback. We hope to see you again and make your stay better than your last. Sincerely, Connie D Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Mark E wrote a review Aug 2021
Burlington, Wisconsin476 contributions227 helpful votes
We recently stayed at Holiday Inn Express Dubuque on a Sunday night. This was our final night of a 3-night family road trip to southwest Wisconsin, Dubuque, and Dyersville. This was a huge improvement from our hotel the previous night (Saturday) in Dubuque elsewhere that ended up being pretty disgusting, but I still found it to be average for Holiday Inn Express and was expecting more. We had difficulty finding hotels on Saturday night with it being the weekend, but this was much easier on Sunday night, as lots of hotels had ample availability. We arrived around 3:00 on Sunday afternoon to inquire about a room. The front desk worker was friendly and helpful. We were able to be checked in, but the room was not ready, and she guessed it would not be ready until around 4:00. We understand that places are short-staffed right now and such, so we did drive around for a while and find other things to do. Anyone wanting to check in right at 3:00 might want to be aware that it might not happen. We ended up not returning until around 7:00 in the evening. We had a standard room with 2 queen beds on the 1st floor, and we were all the way on one side of the building, which made it quiet. We were also just steps away from the indoor pool/hot tub! The room was very clean and comfortable, and it was much better than the previous night somewhere else. There were lots of restaurants and stores, etc. nearby, and this was a nice area for taking a short walk around dusk. We also paid only $119 plus tax for the room compared to nearly $300 on Saturday night, which was great. We were going to use the pool/hot tub later in the evening, but we found it to be kind of crowded, with at least 15 people down there, so we decided to wait until the following morning. However, when we went down around 8:30, the hot tub was chained off and closed for maintenance now. The pool was too cold for our liking, so we didn't really get the opportunity to use this area now. I guess we should have just gone when it was busy; we did not realize this would happen. This was a disappointing end to our trip. We also were not thrilled with the grab & go breakfast; I guess some places are going to use the Covid excuse for as long as they possibly can. We miss the HIE cinnamon rolls and pancakes and see no reason why these can't be offered. The grab & go bag consisted of oatmeal cups that could be prepared in room or muffins, as well as yogurt or fruit. Orange juice and coffee were also available but no milk. I stayed at several Hilton properties (i.e. Hampton) earlier in the summer on a separate trip, and every one of them was offering a full breakfast like pre-pandemic. We were not big fans of this system for breakfast, and this was a letdown for Holiday Inn Express. All in all, it was a good stay, but a few things about our stay here were disappointing. This is clearly an older Holiday Inn Express, as it looks really nice on the outside, but there is clear wear and age on the inside in places. An item I purchased in the snack vending machine got stuck, so I needed to purchase another of the same item to then get both. We would probably return, but we would be open to seeing what else was available next time in Dubuque as well.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Other at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque-West, an IHG hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mark E, Thank you for sharing your impressions of your recent stay with us. I am very happy that the cleanliness of our room, the location of our hotel and your check in experience met your expectations. We strive to provide the best possible service as well as experience, and it is always great to hear from our valued guests on how we are doing. I also take note regarding your comments about our closed hot tub, the temperature of our pool and our breakfast, please be assured that I will forward your comments to our team in order to provide a better experience in the future. I apologize if this might have caused you inconvenience. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us. We would be delighted if you visit us again in the future. Best Regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Jane H wrote a review Aug 2021
Des Moines, Iowa39 contributions33 helpful votes
The room was very nice. It was roomy, clean and had a comfortable bed. The hotel was pretty full when I stayed but it wasn't noisy. Not a lot of options with Grab and Go breakfast, but there is a McDonald's next door. The hotel is not far from shopping, restaurants and a movie theater.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
k-and-3j wrote a review Aug 2021
Iowa197 contributions67 helpful votes
Stayed multiple nights, maid/cleaning service is not provided if you are staying more than one night so we had to hang our towels on the shower rod to dry. I wouldn't have had an issue with this but I would think a discount for multiple nights should have been provided if expected services were not provided. Same with breakfast, "grab and go", a sack with an apple or muffin and a piece of fruit if you want it. Yet one of the reasons for choosing this hotel was the expected full breakfast. Again, a service I paid for but didn't receive. The sleep experience itself was great. Comfortable bed and the hotel itself was quiet. The rest of the hotel..... As mentioned in other reviews maybe mold? There were black marks in the calking around the tub, as I was checking out I heard another guest mention the same thing about their room. Same with the outside of the property, I also noticed cigarette butts laying around the doorways. The water fountains in the pool were disgusting, I know they might be turned off due to covid but that isn't an excuse not to clean them. Staying multiple nights you notice things that are not getting cleaned on a regular basis.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Kathy H wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions
This place made me feel gross just standing in it. Pulled up to the hotel, lots of litter and cigarette butts piled out front. After my husband checked in, they tried to pressure him into a later stay on our return trip through the area. He started telling me about it as we walked to our room but that idea came to a halt the moment we entered out room. It stunk. There were pinkish hand prints on the walls, mystery chunky stains near the trash can and black mold running down the bathroom shower wall. The longer I was in the room the grosser and grosser I felt. Being almost 11 at night and traveling with my 4 kids for the past 12 hours, all we wanted to do was take showers and go to bed. I called the front desk about the mold, they said I can't get another room cuz they are all booked but the phone girl kinda laughed that all the rooms have black mold anyway. I let her know that letting people stay in hotels with mold is illegal where I am from, she then sent a maid up to clean our bathroom and said she would try to get $50 knocked off our room. The maid came up and quickly did a terrible job of cleaning the shower only. My husband still had to clean the bathroom and tried to shower. I couldn't get another hotel room near by and we all had to sleep there. I didn't let anyone sleep under the covers and I didn't sleep a wink that night. Thanks for ruining our rest, ya'll should be ashamed that this is how you do business.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Other at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque-West, an IHG hotel
Responded 13 Aug 2021
Dear kathyhJ5330RU, We always strive to provide a clean and safe environment to all our guests. I'm sorry to see we did not make it on this occasion and I want to offer you an apology for it. I have sent you a PM in case you require further assistance with the matter, and I have notified our manager for immediate attention. We are always pleased to host you, and I hope you give us another chance to show you we have made the necessary adjustments. Alejandro G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$85 - US$150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express hotel and suites dubuque-west
LOCATION
United StatesIowaDubuque
NUMBER OF ROOMS
87
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque-West, an IHG hotel
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque-West, an IHG hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque-West, an IHG hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque-West, an IHG hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque-West, an IHG hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque-West, an IHG hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lina's Thai Bistro, Los Aztecas, and Fiesta Cancun.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque-West, an IHG hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque-West, an IHG hotel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque-West, an IHG hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque-West, an IHG hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque-West, an IHG hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mathias Ham Historic Site (7.8 km), Clock Tower (6.3 km), and Dubuque City Hall (6.2 km).
Is Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque-West, an IHG hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.