We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

470 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 466: English reviews
Marengo, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We always enjoy our stay at this hotel. We come here a few times a year and we have never been disappointed. They always put out delicious cookies at check in and they even have a pool. We also enjoy the casino that is attached to the hotel. It is a great weekend getaway.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Schnable K
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, great to hear it is the perfect getaway for you to relax and enjoy your weekend! We look forward to seeing you again soon! If I can help in anyway, please reach out to me directly at 563-585-5204. Thanks again! More 

Gibsonia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stay at this property every time I'm in Dubuque (about three times a month) and I'm continually impressed by the cleanliness of the hotel and how nice the employees are. I strongly recommend this hotel if your travels take you to Dubuque

Helpful?
Thank Davis B
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoy your stay in Dubuque and at my hotel! I will share with my team, and look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Davis Junction, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very clean Hotel, comfortable rooms. Close to many awesome things to do and see. Very convenient, you do not have to leave the hotel if your looking for a relaxing stay. Buffet was excellent! Casino was awesome.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen A
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review

Hopefully you were able to win some money at the casino! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay, I will share with my team, we certainly look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Mondovi, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
89 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is very attractive, comfortable, and in good shape. The cost of breakfast is very high, $11.95 so we skipped that. The hotel seemed understaffed at the desk and the employee over-worked...although she was excellent and handled the situation as best as possible.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Amy S
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I will share your comments with my team, it does have moments of being very busy at our front desk at times, I am glad we were able to be of service to you. Thanks again! More 

Sauk Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Upon checking in the front desk lady was cold and in a hurry to be done with us. Hotel was ok beds were hard. Don't think we would go back. It could stand an update and offer a complementry breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Renee B
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are about to begin a 100% complete guest room renovation, please give us another chance to serve you. More 

Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2016

clean as usual, new outside gazebo/fire pit area nice addition, connected to dog track and casino which is convenient; short easy drive to Galena for shopping if desire, nice restaurant just across highway from parking lot entrance that has outdoor dining and Mississippi river cruises during warm weather.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Kelly T
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to review my hotel. The outdoor area is a nice addition and very convenient for all to enjoy with an indoor hallway into the casino for some gambling fun! We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Madrid, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Just an average room. Would be ok if I only spent $89.00 but for what it cost I expected a bit more! I did like the outdoor fire pit. The staff at the restaurant was very nice. IHearts casino was way to smoky for me.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed the fire pit outdoor area! We are about to begin a complete guest room renovation this fall into winter, please check back and see our progress!!! More 

1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We always have a really good time staying here. It was the last night for the greyhounds to run for the season and our Anniversary had been earlier in the week. We went with another couple and decided we would have dinner at Houlihan's it was terrible. It wasn't just one persons food it was all 4 of ours. We... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank 91brandiv
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your visit with us. We do apologize and will address your concerns with our staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon as you visit Dubuque. More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

This was our 3rd visit. This hotel is very convienent because it is connected to the casino and the dog track. Our past 2 visits were pleasant but this time may be our last. The room was clean but the bed needs to be replaced. When we told the desk clerk the problem we we told it was an adjustable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan M
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to reach out regarding your stay with us. We are about to begin a complete guest room renovation, our fans do run continuously, with no on or off switch to provide constant fresh air. We do apologize and look forward to seeing you again soon in Dubuque More 

Waterloo, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2016

One room Thurs, Two rooms Friday for work. At $126 only somewhat overpriced. For $195 was my employer was fleeced. I normally stay at Hamptons but none near the Convention Center. This hotel had a smaller room just this side of dingy. At a $100 I expect a breakfast, a working TV (1/3 of the channels didn't work) and a... More 

Helpful?
Thank neiowa2016
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review my hotel. Certainly your expectations we are unable to satisfy, and I hope you chose another hotel on your next visit to Dubuque. I did look into your concerns, and all are unmerited and unfounded. Best wishes on your future endeavors. Ken Haugen General Manager More 

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
2.9 km away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
1,871 reviews
6.8 km away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
566 reviews
6.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
289 reviews
7.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
8.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown

Address: 1801 Greyhound Park Drive, Dubuque, IA 52001
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Price Range: $134 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown Hotel Dubuque
Hilton Dubuque
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#4 Family Hotel in Dubuque
#5 Business Hotel in Dubuque
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
McHenry, Illinois
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Side/Back, Non-Adjoining Rooms”
 of 5 bubbles RedHeadGo, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Be careful of the dog racing track.”
 of 5 bubbles ExCat, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room facing the dog race park was nice. You cannot see the river with all the trees but you might in the fall.”
 of 5 bubbles dr0970, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 325 I would avoid.”
 of 5 bubbles Fam5Traveling, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms may offer a view of the dog racing track if you are into that.”
 of 5 bubbles gitrdunn, 25 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay