We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

AmericInn Lodge & Suites Grimes

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Grimes
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for AmericInn Lodge & Suites Grimes
See the most recent reviews
Showing 92: English reviews
Marion
Reviewed 3 October 2016

This is a nice, quiet and safe area. Parking is a bit limited but I've always got a parking spot even when getting in late. Clean room and smelled great. This is an above average hotel. Good breakfast. I recommend staying here.

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary F
AmericInn-Grimes-GM, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Grimes, responded to this review

Dear Gary, Thank you for giving us a 5-star review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us to others, I sincerely hope we get the pleasure of serving you and your family again in the future, We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Teena Carney

Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in this motel last weekend (Friday and Saturday nights). Upon check-in, the first room we were assigned smelled like smoke. The desk clerk quickly apologized and booked us into another room down the hall. Thankfully, it did not smell! Pros: Clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff, although apparently fully booked due to a wedding party,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Van H
Grimes
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We were very impressed with this hotel. Much nicer than we were expecting for the pride. Staff was friendly and helpful, room was clean and comfortable. Pool and hot tub were clean and stayed open late so we were able to enjoy them after our planned activities. We will definitely stay here again the next time we are in the...

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 843loriw
AmericInn-Grimes-GM, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Grimes, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments about our hotel and our team members. Those were very kind words and I will make a point of sharing them with everyone. We look forward to being of service in the future. Sincerely, Teena Carney

Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewed 20 July 2016

The room was clean and comfortable. All staff members were extremely inviting and friendly. Our entire softball team stayed for World Series and the front desk was so helpful the entire week. If we are ever in Iowa again we will not stay anywhere else.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank s0ftballm0m33
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

I have stayed in over a thousand hotels in my lifetime and I can honestly say that this place takes the title of the un cleanest. Where shall I begin? Mold in the shower, bugs in the bed, old food in the refrigerator... Front desk refused refund!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Riseup16
AmericInn-Grimes-GM, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Grimes, responded to this review

Dear Riseup16, I would like to thank you for taking the time to submit this review. Feedback is crucial to our sucess. I'd also like to offer my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. I hope you will give us another chance when your travels bring you back to the Des Moines area so...

Kimberling City, Missouri
Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

We were in Grimes for our grandson's high school graduation and stayed three nights at the AmericInn. Very nice, clean hotel with very friendly, helpful staff. They have a nice little bar with reasonably priced drinks and have some light snacks available. We didn't use the pool but there were several youngsters enjoying it. If I had any complaint it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kae S
AmericInn-Grimes-GM, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Grimes, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the awesome comments! It makes me happy reading your review and how wonderful your experience was staying with us. I sincerely hope we get the pleasure of serving your again in the future when your travels bring you back this way. We look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, Teena Carney General Manager

Elmwood Park
Reviewed 25 May 2016

Clean and comfortable. All staff members were very responsive to requests. I would definitely stay there if I return to the area. The breakfast was delicious and a great variety. It was a very pleasant experience!

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lois B
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Reviewed 17 May 2016

If you want a good, clean, quiet place to stay when you are in the Grimes area, this is the place. The room was neat and clean, the staff were especially friendly and helpful, and the rate was more than reasonable. We used the pool area a couple of times with our grandchildren, and they had an excellent time. I...

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MKG55
AmericInn-Grimes-GM, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Grimes, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments about our hotel and our team members! I am so happy you found the staff helpful and friendly, and enjoyed our great pool area. I look forward to sharing your review with the team. We look forward to being of service to you in the near future. Sincerely, Teena Carney General Manager

Cedar Rapids
Reviewed 21 April 2016

The out-of-town guest for my daughter's April 16 wedding stayed at the AmericInn in Grimes (8 rooms in all). It was great to have a place to all sit together in the evening in the bar area and not feel that we were disturbing anyone. One of the guest mentioned to me how nice she thought the hotel was. It...

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 28 March 2016

This is a very nice hotel. We have stayed there many times. For the most part staff is very friendly. It has a warm inviting lobby. The rooms look like they have been remodeled in the last few years. They will try to accommodate most needs. Just let them know. The only thing is, in the past several times and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cdjtmj1977
AmericInn-Grimes-GM, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Grimes, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed most of the aspects of your stay. We are focused on providing the best guest service possible and I am happy your experience reflected that. Please accept my most sincere appologies for the inconvenience with the pool. I will follow up with...

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grimes
7.7 km away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
5.2 km away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
9.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
9.4 km away
Sterling Hotel and Suites
4.9 km away
TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Grimes

Address: 251 Gateway Circle, Grimes, IA 50111
Region: United States > Iowa > Grimes
Price Range: $155 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Grimes 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Grimes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Grimes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from AmericInn Lodge & Suites Grimes staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure your room is on the ground floor if you dont like stairs. No elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles cdjtmj1977, 27 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Not many rooms available as it only has two floors, but that's why we like it!”
 of 5 bubbles Kremster898, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Families with young athletes -- this is affordable, and there's a Mickey D's within walking distance! Pool too.”
 of 5 bubbles billw168, 27 Jun 2015 | Read review
“We always ask for ground floor and not handicapped. We find handicap rooms have limited counter space.”
 of 5 bubbles CharlesP757, 1 Oct 2014 | Read review
“There is not an elevator, so if that is an issue, get a main floor room. We like the upstairs two-room suites.”
 of 5 bubbles djfiowa, 30 Dec 2013 | Read review
5 of 5