We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Management photos
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 198: English reviews
Sioux City, Iowa
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We stayed here on our way to an Iowa Football game. The hotel is convenient to the interstate and has a large convenience store right next to it. The rooms are average for a Best Western. Our biggest problem was that we could here music from adjoining room and finally had to call the front desk and ask them to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BikeHawk
Watertown, New York
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Pulled in late and exhausted. Greeted by a friendly, smiling desk clerk, warm cookies, and a cup of tea. Room was immaculate and inviting. After a good night's sleep and a hot shower, we had a decent breakfast. A final "have a nice day" from the smiling morning desk clerk, and we were off. Would definitely stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jcf1010
nicole c, Manager at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for the review we do try to please everyone Im glad you enjoyed are hotel and had a nice sta

Reviewed 15 October 2016

The Best Western Pioneer Inn & Suites was a welcome find after a long day of travel. It is a newer hotel with all the needed amenities for a delightful, refreshing stay. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was spacious with a great shower head and water pressure. Breakfast was good, but most importantly the coffee was good!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lorettaw950
nicole c, Manager at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing are best western pioneer inn and suites. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Next time your in the area please stay again.

Reviewed 13 October 2016

The room was nice. The thing you would expect were there, but the thing I liked the most was the room itself because as soon as I walked in it looked like it had been remodeled. When I needed anything(directions,soap) they had it or knew where to get it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John B
BUFFALO GROVE, IL, United States
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Very modern clean updated hotel. The staff was very welcoming and friendly. Everything looked new carpeting, bathroom, and lobby. Pool and Jacuzzi was very relaxing. Breakfast room is fully stocked. Easy to find was right off the interstate on the first block.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louis K
Morris, United States
Reviewed 9 October 2016

The vent grill had melted prior to our stay so you could see just how filthy/dusty the vent system was. Bring your fire proof jammies. Black mold between shower curtains. Bring your mold mask. Large beetle type bug on floor was still kicking. Bring a shoe! Tub drain was broken so they set it aside where you could see what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
nicole c, Manager at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. As for breakfast we have 2 types of yogurt and a build your own bar and biscuits and gravy are now on Saturdays and Sundays only. As for the other issues the vent being melted was brought up none of the other issues where mentioned. thanks

Reviewed 13 September 2016

Driving from California to Michigan and I spend the night with my family at the Best Western in Grinnell Iowa. Property was nice enough...staff was friendly. What is my beef? Simple. I had my son book with Priceline.com as we were driving towards Grinnell. What a shock to find out that Mr. Jay Patel who owns this BW believes that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WRM56
nicole c, Manager at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites, responded to this review

sorry for the trouble but any resavation booked by a thired party does not get points. If you want points next time call the hotel direct or book on bw website they always have good promotions.

Reviewed 12 September 2016

Booked though a travel site. Room was paid through travel site and the Best Western Pioneer charged my credit card after giving me a paid receipt. I was double charged and the Pioneer Best Western manager told the travel site that I booked through that it would take up to 15 business days to reverse the charge. I called the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bockad
Laurie S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Sorry that your card was charged the site you went through is new to are hotel and does not let us know its prepaid. your card was refunded and yes after we refound it it can take banks up to 15 days to post.As for the ants this is the first i heard of this.

california
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Had no problem with the hotel itself...do have a big problem with the franchisee who owns the place. The man who owns this refuses to give loyalty points to regular BW customers is they dare book through Priceline companies...such as KAYAK and Booking.com etc... Because this tightwad chooses to partner with Priceline...he then feels his margins are to slim to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank richinrio
nicole c, Manager at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Sorry for the trouble but ALL third party reservations do not recive points. Bw websites always have good promotions going on some with extra discounts and some with 1000 or more bouns points always something to look in to.

Reviewed 25 August 2016

We were travelling to Illinois and happened upon this Best Western. The staff was friendly , the room was large (got a handicap room), clean and quiet. Very satisfying for about $145.00 taxes included.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
Laurie S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come...

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grinnell
0.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell
0.9 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell
0.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Grinnell
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 km away
Boulders Inn & Suites Newton
27.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa
30.4 km away
Pleasant Stay Inn
Pleasant Stay Inn
#1 of 1 in Brooklyn
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This Grinnell, Iowa hotel was recently constructed in 2006 and is located near Grinnell College. The Best Western Pioneer Inn offers a peaceful and private location with well-appointed guestrooms and an upscale, comfortable lobby. Travelers are one mile from Grinnell Airport and 55 miles from the Des Moines Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites

Address: 2210 West St S, Grinnell, IA 50112-8108
Region: United States > Iowa > Grinnell
Price Range: $125 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Grinnell
Grinnell Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in the main building! Do NOT let them put you in the other building!”
 of 5 bubbles , 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Main building was better.”
 of 5 bubbles hjf46, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Unsure, but the nicer rooms are probably in the main building.”
 of 5 bubbles LawrenceHDenver, 9 May 2016 | Read review
“stay in the newer section of the motel...”
 of 5 bubbles OBXEASYRIDER, 2 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Stupid, Stupid limit of 140 characters.”
 of 5 bubbles Mamiya7, 15 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay