We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Settle Inn & Suites Harlan

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Settle Inn & Suites Harlan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Settle Inn & Suites Harlan
See the most recent reviews
Showing 40: English reviews
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

When I called for a quote i told the lady it would need one night for 2 adults and 2 dogs. She told me 85 for the night. When I got there she charged me $130. She said she did not know I had the dogs. I was very clear about it on the phone. Pool was very dirty also.

Helpful?
Thank nikster0220
Leslie T, General Manager at Settle Inn & Suites Harlan, responded to this review

My apologies for the mistake the clerk made when she quoted your rate. Pets have a fee, because of the clean up of the rooms. Our pool is clean and maintained everyday, and the pool vacuum "robot" is put into the pool on Mondays to clean the surface. The paint color is discolored not as bright as it use to... More 

USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2015

Located very conveniently on Highway 59, on the southern edge of Harlan, this is the newest hotel to be built in or near Harlan. Service was excellent, with very helpful people at the front desk. They need to hire someone to take care of their pool and maintain it though. It is a very small pool, with a maximum depths... More 

Helpful?
Thank Middle_ageds
Leslie T, General Manager at Settle Inn & Suites Harlan, responded to this review

Thank you, for taking the time to review our hotel. So nice to hear the staff is friendly and helpful. I wanted to take some time to explain the pool process. We do have our maintenance guy on call every day. Our pool has a vacuum "robot" that gets put into the pool on Mondays to clean the surface. The... More 

Crescent City, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2015

The desk attendant was great, very helpful giving restaurants and other locations. Hotel is pricey for the area. Room is clean, bathroom smells musty as if it needs a good cleaning. I had a bug for a room mate before he swam down the commode. Not sure what type he was!

Helpful?
Thank sameoldsparks
Leslie T, General Manager at Settle Inn & Suites Harlan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The issue with these seasonal beetles, are very tricky to take care of. They of course are harmless but annoying to have around. We do have our regular pest control every month for any/all kinds of pests. Unfortunately there are types of insects that do not groom themselves right away, so they can travel through... More 

Calvin, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2015 via mobile

Very Beautiful, just off the beaten path. VERY CLEAN and reasonably priced. Beds are VERY COMFORTABLE, room gets VERY COLD! Continual Breakfast. Indoor Pool Very Pet Friendly We would have no problem staying here again. Highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
Leslie T, General Manager at Settle Inn & Suites Harlan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our property. We strive for excellence. It's nice to hear that the staff is doing a great job! If your in the area again, we hope to have you stay with us. More 

Altoona, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2015

Conveniently located to restaurants, shopping, anything in the area. The room was immaculate. Everything needed when away from home was provided. Very relaxing and comfortable. Staff was extremely helpful and courteous, which is always important to me. We will be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria C
Leslie T, Manager at Settle Inn & Suites Harlan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear your stay was Great! We strive to keep the hotel clean and give that GREAT EXPERIENCE that our guests deserve. It is wonderful to hear you will stay with us again when you're in town. Thanks again, Leslie More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2015 via mobile

Comfortable and super clean hotel. Nothing overly fancy, but comfy bed, clean bathroom, and nicely maintained (and we are picky!) Pool is nice for the kids. Breakfast was adequate for our needs, but breakfast lady was a little surly. It's worth the ten minute jaunt off the freeway for privacy, peace, and a clean room. Bonus: a pretty drive through... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ToniaMark V
Leslie T, Manager at Settle Inn & Suites Harlan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We strive to keep every guest comfortable and happy. If you're ever in the area again, we would love to have you stay with us. Thank You Leslie Manager More 

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2015

If you are in the area, this hotel is adequate. It will definitely siuffice if you are looking for a place just rest your head. The continental breakfast is somewhat comprehensive with all the usual items from hard-boiled eggs to cereal to make-your-own hot waffles. The rooms are good-sized. FYI, there is no elevator so will have to carry all... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GJ8959
Leslie T, Manager at Settle Inn & Suites Harlan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We strive to make every stay comfortable and enjoyable. Our breakfast is the normal continental with biscuits and gravy also, we have added fruits to our choices for those who may have special diets. I'm pleased to see that your score card shows our hotel is above average on cleanliness... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2015

Pros: Relatively clean Quiet Close to grocery store Pet Friendy Hot Shower Fridge/Microwave Cable Cons: Over priced Breakfast was horrible I ate a better meal at the gas station. No fresh fruit, all carbs, coffee was watered down. Bed spreads are horrible any decent hotel has done away with that. It was very worn out. Don't forget anything because they... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jillmarie78

Travellers are raving about these Harlan hotels

Hastings
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2015 via mobile

I walked into my room and it was cold so I turned up heat to 85 and I went to supper and came back and still cold and finally another hour finally warmed up and you have to adjust temp all night long so the loud unit ran all night long and the road traffic outside my window sounded like... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jim J
Leslie T, Manager at Settle Inn & Suites Harlan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We normally leave the air conditioner/heaters on for a comfortable temp in the room. I apologize for the mistake of not having your heater on. We did make sure to have it looked at, because you said it was noisy. The heater unit was replaced. We appreciate it when the... More 

Boone, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2014

Traveling across all parts of rural Iowa often presents a challenge to find any small town hotel let alone an exceptional one on the level of far more expensive urban hotels. But this is the exception ... it's worth traveling to Harlan just to have the opportunity to experience this lodging for a night. And probably the most comfortable hotel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GLRPHD
Leslie T, General Manager at Settle Inn & Suites Harlan, responded to this review

Thank you for all your kind words about our Staff and Hotel. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We hope you choose us for your next stay, when you are traveling in or near Harlan Iowa again. More 

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harlan
15.8 km away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites Avoca
23.9 km away
Tivoli Inn & Suites
Tivoli Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Elk Horn
55 reviews
37.5 km away
Boulders Inn & Suites
Boulders Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Atlantic
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Harlan Inn & Suites
Harlan Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Harlan
18 reviews
16.0 km away
Motel 6 Avoca
Motel 6 Avoca
#1 of 3 in Avoca
253 reviews
18.7 km away
Super 8 Walnut
Super 8 Walnut
#1 of 1 in Walnut
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Settle Inn & Suites Harlan

Address: 5015 Ridgeway Drive, Harlan, IA 51537
Region: United States > Iowa > Harlan
Price Range: $127 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Settle Inn & Suites Harlan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Settle Inn & Suites Harlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Settle Inn & Suites Harlan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the rooms with musty moldy smells... the majority of the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Nicnatros, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you stay facing the west, you will see amazing sunsets.”
 of 5 bubbles ChristineT955, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Terrific value, nice large room, bed, amenties (internet, microwave, refrig, morning breakfast).”
 of 5 bubbles steelerhawk, 24 Nov 2015 | Read review
“King size bed on ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 742frankj, 12 Sep 2015 | Read review
“No elevator”
 of 5 bubbles GJ8959, 2 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay