We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Die Heimat Country Inn

Orbitz.comUS$85*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$85*
US$85*
US$85*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Die Heimat Country Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 201: English reviews
Start your review of Die Heimat Country Inn
 Click to rate
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first visit to the Amana Colonies and we found this location ideal and appropriately priced. Our room was small but perfectly appointed with all amenities provided. The included breakfast was delicious and it was served in a bright and airy area. Coffee was available at 7 am which pleased my partner.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LoneEmperor
DieHeimat, Owner at Die Heimat Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this nice review of your experience here and the 5-star rating. I'm glad you had the opportunity to visit the Amana Colonies and to stay here with us at Die Heimat Country Inn. It was our pleasure to host you and we look forward to your next visit.

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 1 week ago

We only stayed one night, but our bed was very comfortable. Wifi was good and they had cable TV in the room. Our room was small and the bathroom was very small, but we didn't spend a lot of time in the room so it was fine. The breakfast was plentiful and very tasty - sausage, oatmeal, biscuits and gravy,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
DieHeimat, Owner at Die Heimat Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, Laura, for taking the time to write this nice review of your experience staying with us. I'm glad you liked our breakfast and the amenities. Fortunately, we have 16 rooms and they vary in size. So we do have larger room options available if you choose to return. All the best!

Bentonville, Arkansas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I and my wife stayed in room 2 in this B&B. Marc and June (the owners) are wonderful hosts and do their very best to provide a great experience. We were the only guests in the inn on May 10th 2017 and so that may have enhanced our experience. The inn was very quiet and so lent to a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rraugust
DieHeimat, Owner at Die Heimat Country Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write this extensive and detailed review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay overall here and found it to be a restful and peaceful place. I' m happy that you appreciate the history and our attempt to provide a modern amenities and a comfortable space while honoring the ambiance of the past. We appreciate...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice Bed and Breakfast. Food for breakfast was good. Staff was very friendly. They gave us tips on where to go and places to see in the area. I would recommend a visit to the Amana Colonies and a stay at this B&B.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LuAnn M
DieHeimat, Owner at Die Heimat Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Luann for writing us a review and giving us a 5 star rating. We appreciate it very much. I'm glad you had a good experience here. We welcome you back anytime! All the best to you.

Iowa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When I come to Die Heimat I know that I will experience gracious and accommodating hosts; delicious and creative breakfasts; impeccably clean facilities; and simple but tasteful rooms. Thank you Marc and June, for another delightful stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay27
DieHeimat, Owner at Die Heimat Country Inn, responded to this review

I'm so glad we didn't disappoint! :) Thanks so much for writing this 5 star review. It is a pleasure to host when you enjoy our breakfasts, beds, and facilities. We welcome you back again anytime.

Verona, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed with two friends here for a two day visit in the Amana Colonies. Hosts are so knowledgeable about the area and history. Breakfast was delicious and our host spend our breakfast time with us sharing stories, recommendation and much more. Our room was charming, comfortable and clean. A wonderful stay. Hope to return. Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roberta W
DieHeimat, Owner at Die Heimat Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Roberta for taking the time to write this great review. It was so much fun visiting with you over breakfast and talking about the history of this area. It's a very unique and special place and when guests are so interested in the history (like you all were) it's fun to share what we've learned. You'll all have...

Jefferson City, Missouri
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wonderful place, warm and welcoming owner and staff, comfortable beds, charming decor, the breakfasts were the best I have had at a B and B. It couldn't have been a better experience. The owner even arranged a tour and special opening hours at a gallery. If you are in the area, definitely check this place out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen9500
DieHeimat, Owner at Die Heimat Country Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much, Karen, for this lovely review. I'm so glad you had a wonderful experience here and enjoyed our breakfasts so much! Your group was so much fun to host. Thanks for choosing to stay here. I hope you'll come back again.

Bunker Hill, West Virginia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Only a 6 min drive to our event scheduled at Amana RV Park bldg. Spacious, clean room with old-time charm, yet modern conveniences. There is a peace about this place! Highly advise if you need a stress get-away. Hosts went out-of-their-way to provide us a breakfast within our time frame. Wish I could return when I have more time to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mfunck2
DieHeimat, Owner at Die Heimat Country Inn, responded to this review

We really appreciate that you took time to write this nice review. Thank you very much. I'm glad you experienced this place as peaceful and charming. This is a quiet and peaceful area with a lot of unique and rich history. I hope too you will be able to come back sometime and explore the Amana Colonies more fully. It...

Fort Madison, Iowa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My sister and I spent one night here after a return flight into Cedar Rapids on April 19th. We were not disappointed! The inn is so charming and the owners so friendly and welcoming. Everything was neat and clean and felt like home. The beds were comfy and we had everything we needed for an enjoyable night's stay. Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Letha A
DieHeimat, Owner at Die Heimat Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to write this lovely review. It was great to have you two here! I'm glad you were not disappointed! It was fun to hear about your travels and we look forward to welcoming you back next time!!

Cedar Falls, Iowa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have only stayed at a bed & breakfast a couple of times previously but this one is tops! You really felt like you were at home. From the moment we checked in, June made us feel so very welcome. The breakfast was amazing and the cook was super helpful and sweet. This is definitely a must stay. My only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emptynesters50613
DieHeimat, Owner at Die Heimat Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing this great review. I'm so glad you choose to come here and that you had a wonderful time. Yes, you do need to come back again and enjoy the details! In the summer, we have patio tables out under the shade trees and our flowers are blooming beautifully - so it's a restful spot...

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Homestead
0.3 km away
Zuber's Homestead Hotel
Zuber's Homestead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Homestead
120 reviews
8.6 km away
Heritage Inn Amana Colonies Hotel & Suites
9.1 km away
Ramada Williamsburg
Ramada Williamsburg
#3 of 8 in Williamsburg
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in North Liberty
128 reviews
14.6 km away
Days Inn Williamsburg
Days Inn Williamsburg
#4 of 8 in Williamsburg
141 reviews
14.4 km away
Cozy House & Suites
Cozy House & Suites
#5 of 8 in Williamsburg
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Former circa 1850's Inn, listed on the National Register of Historic Places and in the book "1,000 Places to See Before You Die", this historic inn is located in a village setting in Iowa's premier tourist area, the seven villages of the Amana Colonies. Room sizes range from small to larger; full size, queen, king beds. Each room has private bath with combo or shower bath. Major credit cards accepted; non-smoking throughout, refrigerators and microwaves in some rooms. Public ice-maker, refrigerator, and microwave. Gift shop. Local wine for sale. Next Door Event Center beside Die Heimat Inn is the perfect place for reunions, weddings, retreats, meetings, and celebrations of all kinds; large meeting room, full kitchen, bathrooms, A/C, ample parking, large yard. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Die Heimat Country Inn

Address: 4434 V St, PO Box 160, Homestead, IA 52236-8543
Region: United States > Iowa > Homestead
Price Range: $130 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Die Heimat Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Die Heimat Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Homestead
Homestead Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Die Heimat Country Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Denmark, Wisconsin
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Die Heimat Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had the room next to be entrance which was not such a good choice. We took it anyway because we wanted to be on the first floor.”
LoneEmperor, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“The ones I saw were all beautiful.”
Karen9500, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“No elevator, so stayed first floor”
mfunck2, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms vary in size, so request one to suit your preference. I believe price varies accordingly.”
sharondearborn, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Corner suite/room...#18.”
470kenm, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$85* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$85
TripAdvisorUS$85
Expedia.comUS$85
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates