We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Zuber's Homestead Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Zuber\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Zuber's Homestead Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 119: English reviews
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Zubers Hotel is a walk back into time. Although it names itself a hotel with a B&B feel. I have to disagree. It is beautifully maintained and clean. Has about 15 rooms and children are welcomed. It does serve a buffet breakfast that is okay with many options. Yet, to have it tied to a Bed and Breakfast, I would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Reyna Y
Brian8793, Owner at Zuber's Homestead Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! We appreciate your point of view. Let us try to address your concerns. Our guests enjoy a 5 hour window of time for check in, and we don't require our front desk staff to sit at the counter, as there are always things that can be done, while we wait for our guests to arrive....

Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Each room unique theme. Our room was an Amana life theme. Many antiques. Very clean, comfortable. Many homey touches throughout the property. Jo was very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was delicious. Would definitely stay there again. Ample parking and easy to find.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KimS54805
Brian8793, Owner at Zuber's Homestead Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your comments regarding your stay at Zuber's Homestead Hotel. We appreciate your feedback on services and the breakfast being served. We will look forward to you staying with us again. Thanks again for your review.

White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Had not been to the Amana Colonies for a number of years, but the wife and I decided to stop for a night on our return from Tennessee. Stayed here at the Zuber Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Bed and Breakfast has fifteen unique rooms each with an area/Iowa motif. We stayed in the Iowa Grand Oak room which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul60ii
Brian8793, Owner at Zuber's Homestead Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking review Zuber's Hotel. We appreciate feedback on how our guests liked there accommodations. I will pass along your comments to our morning cook. When it is time for the guests to leave we try very hard to make sure the breakfast delivers a good start for the day. Again thank you for your thoughts on your...

Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

We have visited the Amana colonies each of the last 3 years as my wife runs in the annual half marathon race and we have family living nearby in Iowa City. This year we decided to stay at Zubers and we were so glad that we did. The cost is about the same as a typical hotel chain but the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeff T
Brian8793, Owner at Zuber's Homestead Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your comments mean alot to our staff and certainly as owners your comments tell us that we are currently doing things right. We also like to know if changes can be made to improve on our operation. Assuming you come back to run in the half marathon again next year we hope that you will...

Farmington Hills, Michigan
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We had a lovely room (Four Seasons). The room and hotel were spotless. We had a little difficulty getting information over the phone as to where to dine at 8pm, but it all worked out, The hostess and staff were very pleasant, and the breakfast was excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank twidgetbeth
Brian8793, Owner at Zuber's Homestead Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Zuber's Homestead Hotel. I am happy we were able to have a good stay at our business. Please think of Zuber's again if you are back in the area. Thanks Brian

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 29 July 2016

We stayed at Zubers July 24th thru the 26th. We had initially reserved a room on the second floor, but when we checked in and she showed us our room, we decided the stairs were to steep for two older persons to climb. My husband has two bad knees and had just had shots in both of them, we thought...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank babica49
Brian8793, Owner at Zuber's Homestead Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry we could not have a smaller room for less money but we had a really busy weekend with not much inventory to choose from. We would welcome a return visit if you are the area. Thanks Brian James

Jacksonville, Illinois
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

My husband surprised me with a stay in the Amana Colonies on our way to Northern Iowa. Zubers was just right. Bed was super comfy and the AC kept the room cool, even when it was 95 ° while we were there. Breakfast was a good selection of cassarole , blackberry cream cheese cake , oatmeal and a pound cake...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KARINZ28
Brian8793, Owner at Zuber's Homestead Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Zuber's Homestead Hotel try's to deliver a quality stay and experience for our guests. We appreciate comments from our guests to tell what they experienced and how things could be better. I will pass on to our cooks that you enjoyed our breakfast. Please call ahead if you would like to stay in a room...

Decatur, Illinois
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

I called the day we were to arrive in the morning to confirm we would be there. It was a hot, humid day and the spacious room was hot. The air conditioner set on the floor and when they turned it on the compressor wouldn't keep working. When it finally started to put out some air, it would have taken(if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ann251
Brian8793, Owner at Zuber's Homestead Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry the your experience staying with us was not to your standards. We will discuss your comments and make appropriate changes to our operations. Thank you for taking time to comment on our hotel. Again I am sorry your stay was not as expected.

Des Moines,Iowa
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

3rd visit staying here. Love it. Treat you very nice! Very accommodating! Main Amana very close to drive to, but off the beaten path, which is nice. Themed rooms decorated accordingly. Nice history of becoming the B&B. Jo is a definite asset to the place! She is very friendly, courteous and helpful. Will go again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paulette D
Brian8793, Owner at Zuber's Homestead Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Zuber's. I will note to Jo the comments you have written. Thank you so much for returning to our business. We will continue to strive for improvement in our service and establishment. We are very happy that you had a good stay at Zuber's. Please stop back to see us again. Thanks Brian

Rochester, Minnesota, United States
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Zuber's bed and breakfast was a very nice stay for me and my wife. We stayed in the Major Leaguer Very well appointed room. Staff was utterly friendly and the breakfast was beyond our expectations. We loved spending time just the two of us late at night in the wagon wheel room. Great room. We will stay here again if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick O
Brian8793, Owner at Zuber's Homestead Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about staying at Zuber's. As you have written, the Wagon Wheel Room serves many purposes but is mostly enjoyed by our guests to relax in, read a book, watch TV, play games, and talk with other guests. The room also provides a comfortable space for enjoying a breakfast. We will look forward to you staying...

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Homestead
8.6 km away
Heritage Inn Amana Colonies Hotel & Suites
9.0 km away
Ramada Williamsburg
Ramada Williamsburg
#3 of 8 in Williamsburg
668 reviews
27.0 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in North Liberty
125 reviews
24.0 km away
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
#1 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
215 reviews
14.4 km away
Days Inn Williamsburg
Days Inn Williamsburg
#4 of 8 in Williamsburg
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy the feel of a bed and breakfast in our historic hotel. Our lovely hotel has a rich history! It was built in the 1860's as a hotel. Then transformed into the well-known Zuber's Dugout Restaurant and is now once again a 15 room hotel. Each guest room is tastefully decorated with a unique Iowa theme. All rooms include comfortable furniture, private bath, cable TV, and Internet. Many of the rooms have a small refrigerator and microwave. We also have a full-size refrigerator and microwave for guests to use in the Wagon Wheel Room. We offer a range of bed sizes - full, queen or king. The Wagon Wheel room is host to our complimentary hot buffet-style breakfast and check-in sweet treat! Guests are welcome to relax and enjoy the Wagon Wheel Room any time. We offer board games, TV, and a piano for your use and enjoyment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Zuber's Homestead Hotel

Address: 2206 44th Ave, Homestead, IA 52236-8545
Region: United States > Iowa > Homestead
Price Range: $153 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zuber's Homestead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Zuber's Homestead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zubers Hotel Homestead
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Zuber's Homestead Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We did the honeymoon suite for our anniversary, it had a hot tub and was very relaxing after a day of shopping.”
 of 5 bubbles ritaann1970, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Trains run nearby, and I think one could hear them, no matter which room you were in.”
 of 5 bubbles blossomtravels69, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Each room has it's own theme, research your preference. We had the one room school house room.”
 of 5 bubbles 219martys, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The website accurately portrays the rooms and feel any room would be a good choice that meets your needs.”
 of 5 bubbles travelerWaukegan, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upstair rooms are only accessible by a steep narrow staircase.”
 of 5 bubbles paul60ii, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5