We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Earl's Regency

Agoda.comUS$61*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$97*
US$61*
Great Deal
US$67*
US$75*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Earl\\
Earl's Regency
Panoramas (31)
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,915 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Earl's Regency
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,694: English reviews
Hawalli, Kuwait
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Struggled between a 4 and a 5 in an ideal world a 4.5. Service - check in was great, quick and efficient and the first impression is really good, clean modern with a touch of history and grandness. Room service was excellent throughout the stay. Breakfast/Pool service was slow and seemed a bit hit and miss, this is one area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank REG_7516
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are delighted to see that you have experienced an accommodating stay amidst the cool climes at Earl's Regency. Thank you for the shared endorsements on the exceptional service on offer as well. We are waiting to welcome you and your loved ones again during your next vacation and we assure you another exciting experience. Yours Sincerely,...

Seychelles
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is a little bit old fashioned and in need of some updating. We stayed for 3 nights and were not told that the main restaurant was under renovation. Our breakfast and dinner on our first night was in a strange looking banquet room, very old fashioned with no atmosphere whatsoever. Only on the last day at breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christinalab
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are delighted to see that you have experienced an accommodating stay amidst the cool climes at Earl's Regency. We have taken your constructive criticism very positively and will take measures to enhance the same. We are waiting to welcome you and your loved ones again during your next vacation and we assure you another exciting experience....

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our first visit to Sri Lanka and we had booked here through our agent who recommended it as a central location to go out and about and experience the sites and also the hustle and bustle of nearby Kandy. We arrived Late afternoon after a long flight and transfer from Colombo airport, we were greeted and made to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhpring
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are truly impressed to see that you have nominated us as a luxury hotel for the relaxing environs with cozy amenities. We really appreciate your keenness in placing an insightful review on TripAdvisor. Please let us know when you are making arrangements for your next trip to Kandy with your loved ones and we are waiting...

Thodupuzha, India
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very good hotel. Rooms are very good, neat and spacious. very calm in hotel rooms atmosphere. Free wifi available. Dinner and breakfast is very good. The grill section in dinner is live and vast. neat and big pool. pleasant staff is an advantage. strongly suggest this hotel. located little remotely from shops. value for money. get enough privacy there. suggested...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brynethomas
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are delighted to see that you have experienced an accommodating stay amidst the cool climes at Earl's Regency. Thank you for the shared endorsements on the exceptional service on offer as well. We are waiting to welcome you and your loved ones again during your next vacation and we assure you another exciting experience. Yours Sincerely,...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a modern hotel in a beautiful setting in lush green hills. Rooms are comfortable and spacious and there is a large pool. The food was excellent, the best we experienced in Sri Lanka; dinner is served buffet style as in most large hotels in this country. WiFi was good. Staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful. The only possible...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DavidJonathan
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are delighted to see that you have experienced an accommodating stay amidst the cool climes at Earl's Regency. Thank you for the shared endorsements on the exceptional service on offer as well. We are waiting to welcome you and your loved ones again during your next vacation and we assure you another exciting experience. Yours Sincerely,...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night as part of our trip around Sri Lanka for our honeymoon! Upon arriving the drive way and entrance area is very grand and spectacular-very much what you'd expect of a 5 star. Our room was a very decent size although looking quite tired and worn. Could definitely do with an update in terms of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NatalieJohnson84
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for selecting Earl's Regency for your stay and we appreciate that you shared your sincere sentiments with us. Thank you for all the positive endorsements. We regret to see that you have received some oversights with regard to the cuisine and we have taken the constructive criticism very positively. Please do visit us again for...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We enjoyed our time here immensely with our high floor room in the new wing superb with its view over the lovely pool and over to the main part of the Hotel from our balcony very welcoming. The Restaurant and entertainment in the bar was enjoyable and the staff very polite and friendly

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mick0072013
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are truly impressed to see that you have nominated us as a luxury hotel for the relaxing environs with cozy amenities. We really appreciate your keenness in placing an insightful review on TripAdvisor. Please let us know when you are making arrangements for your next trip to Kandy with your loved ones and we are waiting...

Reviewed 21 April 2017

All the thing are functioning very well. Best place around the nature in Kandy. Really it is a good for a night visit to see the around in night time. This is the one of the best hotel in the hotel network of sri lanka. My idea is good place to inn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vinod W
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are glad to see that you have had an amazing break with us ! We are pleased to see that you and your loved ones have had an amazing getaway with us. Please keep us informed of your next travel arrangements; we shall make sure that you collect some more beautiful memories to take home. Yours...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 21 April 2017

We stayed for a 5 days. Excellent food and service. Staff were very friendly and helpfully. Had some friends over for dinner, got a very good service from the restaurant and bar staff. Happy to recommend to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PP-Melbourne
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are delighted to see that you have experienced an accommodating stay amidst the cool climes at Earl's Regency. Thank you for the shared endorsements on the exceptional service on offer as well. We are waiting to welcome you and your loved ones again during your next vacation and we assure you another exciting experience. Yours Sincerely,...

Reviewed 17 April 2017

It was our worst experience ever! Rude manager, he doesn't care if you or your friends would come again, he was also so rude with our guide as he didn't want to let him in to the room we rent it for him. Dirty tables, dirty cutlers, dirty cups (barely could find one to get juice for the breakfast). Cockroach...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Toufic M
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for selecting Earl's Regency for your stay and we appreciate that you shared your sincere sentiments with us. We regret to see that you have received some oversights from our end regarding some of the services offered; please accept our sincere apologies. We appreciate your kind understanding on the fact that you were requested to...

1,711 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1333)
Viewed
Dining (88)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (98)
Viewed
View from Room (111)
Viewed
Bathroom (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (181)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (266)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (521)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (348)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Deluxe (22)
Viewed
Junior Suite (23)
Viewed
Luxury (18)
Viewed
Luxury Family (24)
Viewed
Luxury Suite (39)
Viewed
Mountbatten Suite (37)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
Standard (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tennekumbura
6.5 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
713 reviews
5.7 km away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
3.0 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
601 reviews
6.4 km away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kandy
953 reviews
5.2 km away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#3 of 54 in Kandy
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Earl's Regency the crown jewel of the Kandyan Kingdom. The grandeur of an ancient Citadel adorned with contemporary 5-star luxury. A landmark of impeccable taste and unique style where one can unwind and relax while experiencing all this world has to offer. Fully air-conditioned and elegantly designed rooms with a view of the mountains and the Mahaweli river, sumptuous dining and exclusive reviving Balinese treatments at our spa. The hotel exudes opulence and grandeur. Every corner offers fresh delights for weary eyes, from the palatial lobby with its waterfall, to private corners set aside as mini lounge areas to gaze at the wonder just beyond. Stay at Earl's Regency, one of the finest Kandy hotels and your memories will include the warm hospitality of truly Sri Lanka. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Earl's Regency

Address: 84 Tenna Kumbura, Tennekumbura 20166, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Tennekumbura
Price Range: $108 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Earl's Regency 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Earl's Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earl`s Regency Hotel Kandy
Regency Hotel Kandy
Regency Hotel Earls
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Earl's Regency staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Beijing, China
over a year ago
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Muscat, Oman

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Earl's Regency staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room with the Pool view.”
Saji-Abraham, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“Go for luxury room”
binmahmood, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Pool view rooms offer a great view.”
nakulduttsharma, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“lower floor rooms help to reach the pool quickly or to garden side rooms.”
Brynethomas, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“New wing, high floor overlooking pool”
Mick0072013, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$61* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$67
TravelocityUS$75
ElvolineUS$97
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates