We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Earl's Regency

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Earl\\
Earl's Regency
Panoramas (31)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,852 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Earl's Regency
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,633: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Recently stayed here for 2 nights whilst doing a short tour of Sri Lanka. It is a decent standard hotel albeit somewhat dated / tired. The room was a decent enough size, with small balcony. The bathroom was quite small, dark and dingy but clean. There are a number of eating options at the hotel, we ate at the buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stalig
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks from Earl's Regency for the applause on the lovely views, the cuisine and the friendly service. We really appreciate your keenness in placing a review on TripAdvisor. We much appreciate your applause on the culinary experience and we have taken your constructive comments in a very positive way. We are thrilled by your lovely comments...

Kandy, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 8 April 2016

Homecoming of Wathsala and Madhubashini Date of homecoming: 31 January 2016, night, Banquet hall Homecoming of Wathsala and Madhubashini Date of homecoming: 31 January 2016, night, Banquet hall Thank you for making our special day possible I was thrilled to hear when many our family members mentioned that this was the best homecoming they attended. I believe that homecomings are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank prabathw2
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It is our pleasure to see that you have lived the dream of your dream homecoming and thank you very much for all the given applause. We will convey the applause to our beloved staff members who are our greatest assets too. Please pay another visit to us to spend your vacation and we are eager to...

Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

After moving down from Habarana twords kandy we got at our planned overnight stay at the hotel. We just got blown away by every aspect, from the dining room with a excellent buffet to having the pleasure of dining in the ambient of live piano music, a friendly staff, impeccable cleanliness and everything for the most pretentious of us. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cristian M
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for selecting Earl’s Regency as your holiday destination. We are truly grateful for the time you have taken to share with us your recent experience at our hotel. We are happy that we were able to deliver on our service promised and do hope that he will visit us again in the near...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

We Stayed here for 2 nights, great resort, beautiful location and the staff are very well trained. Our first night we were disturbed by a rowdy drunk guest at 1 AM while sleeping, the next day the staff changed our room and upgraded us to a beautiful luxury suite. We will definitely come back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HamHam90
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for the generous recommendation as the best hotel in Sri Lanka ! We are glad to receive the applause on our customer service, staff members, the rooms and other amenities. We are waiting to welcome you and your loved ones soon at our hotel. Yours Sincerely, Upul Gedarakumbura, General Manager, Earl's Regency, Kandy.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 7 April 2016

This is a beautiful hotel, with magnificent furnishings in a lovely setting. We were spoiled as we were celebrating a significant anniversary, and the reception staff upgraded us to a suite, with a spa. It was 1st class. Dinner at the hotel's Indian restaurant was also superb. At about 9pm loud thumping music started up (the South Asian version of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bradley D
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks from Earl's Regency for selecting us as your preferred holiday destination. Please accept our humble apologies on the difficulties caused, due to the music from the wedding receptions, since the hotel was accommodating a higher number of wedding bookings at the given time. We apologize on the concern once again and we will ensure that...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 7 April 2016

I agree with the other recent reviewers that this hotel isn't quite 5 star - the rooms are comfortable and ours was clean, but the fit-out is a bit dated and tired. However the hotel has a lovely pool and a nice outlook. The dinner buffet was of a high standard and we enjoyed the piano music (played by a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn L
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks from Earl's Regency for selecting us as your preferred holiday destination. Please accept our humble apologies on changing the place of the breakfast buffet, since the hotel was accommodating a higher number of wedding bookings. We apologize on the concern once again and we will ensure that the same will not occur again. We warmly...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2016

Don't get me wrong, this is a nice hotel but i'm not sure it's a 5 star hotel. Located up a hill, this is a tuktuk ride away from anywhere. Service in the hotel was very good, food was good but i would not consider this a 5 star.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chloe180191
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks from Earl's Regency for selecting us as your preferred holiday destination. We really appreciate your keenness in placing a review on TripAdvisor. Please pay another visit to us and we are eager to welcome you and your loved ones soon at our hotel and we ensure more enhanced facilities at all times. Yours Sincerely, Upul...

Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed there for 2 nights. The hotel location is very nice with beautiful views and outdoor area. It is far from downtown, which means you would always need a form of transportation to reach Kandy city center. The rooms are old and not well maintained. The bathrooms have a bathtub and a shower, though the porcelain is cracked and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alia A
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks from Earl's Regency for selecting us as your preferred holiday destination. Thank you very much for the positive endorsements and the suggestive comments given as well. Please note that the hotel provides 24 hour transportation facilities for the benefit our valued guests. We extremely regret that you had to go through some difficulties due to...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 4 April 2016

On our journey through Sri Lanka, we`ve spent 2 nights at this hotel, 2 adults with 2 children aged 7 and 8. Our family room was very spacious, and we didn`t need an extra bed because our children managed very well on the existing sofa :). We loved the facilities, the pool is a massive plus when traveling with kids....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susa153
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks from Earl's Regency for selecting us as your preferred holiday destination and thank you very much for naming us as a beautiful hotel. It is our pleasure to see that you all including the kids have had a nice and comfortable stay with us. We are thrilled by your lovely comments on the beauty of...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

This hotel has a beautiful location, our room had a lovely view over the Kandyan hills and river. The hotel also had a nice buffet spread for dinner and some great energy from a full house of guests. It seems to be a popular place to stay in Kandy. Unfortunately the rooms are very tatty, the bathroom tiles have cracks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lonnybom
Nipuni S, Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks from Earl's Regency for selecting us as your preferred holiday destination. Thank you very much for the suggestive comments given on uplifting the facilities and we will take measures to improve our product offerings at our earliest. We regret very much to see that you have faced some convenience due to the billing issue ;...

1,655 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1277)
Viewed
Room/Suite (178)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (96)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (258)
Viewed
Dining (86)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (15)
Viewed
View from Room (108)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (43)
Viewed
Other (485)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (348)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Deluxe (22)
Viewed
Junior Suite (23)
Viewed
Luxury (18)
Viewed
Luxury Family (24)
Viewed
Luxury Suite (39)
Viewed
Mountbatten Suite (37)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
Standard (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tennekumbura
6.5 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#8 of 58 in Kandy
664 reviews
3.1 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#9 of 58 in Kandy
847 reviews
3.8 km away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
13.7 km away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
6.4 km away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#11 of 58 in Kandy
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Earl's Regency the crown jewel of the Kandyan Kingdom. The grandeur of an ancient Citadel adorned with contemporary 5-star luxury. A landmark of impeccable taste and unique style where one can unwind and relax while experiencing all this world has to offer. Fully air-conditioned and elegantly designed rooms with a view of the mountains and the Mahaweli river, sumptuous dining and exclusive reviving Balinese treatments at our spa. The hotel exudes opulence and grandeur. Every corner offers fresh delights for weary eyes, from the palatial lobby with its waterfall, to private corners set aside as mini lounge areas to gaze at the wonder just beyond. Stay at Earl's Regency, one of the finest Kandy hotels and your memories will include the warm hospitality of truly Sri Lanka. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Earl's Regency

Address: 84 Tenna Kumbura, Tennekumbura 20166, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Tennekumbura
Price Range: $126 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Earl's Regency 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Earl's Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earl`s Regency Hotel Kandy
Regency Hotel Kandy
Regency Hotel Earls
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Earl's Regency staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Beijing, China
over a year ago
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Muscat, Oman

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Earl's Regency staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms overlooking the pool have better views than the one we had - however ours was very quiet.”
  • Rooms over looking the pool.
 of 5 bubbles susann210, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“on 4th floor above the pool (for sunset view...)”
 of 5 bubbles christophebalet, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I think all are OK from what I could see.”
 of 5 bubbles johngM9975JU, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“5th Floor gives a superb view”
 of 5 bubbles 739dineshc, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“they all have great views”
 of 5 bubbles pietro90, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5