We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Comfort Inn Marshalltown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Comfort Inn Marshalltown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 38: English reviews
Algonquin, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2016

The room was vary well equipped with a nice king size bed, chair with ottoman, refrigerator and micro-wave. The bathroom very clean and equipped with all of the necessities. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful and I will most certainly be staying there again in the future.

Helpful?
Thank donmenoni
Darcy M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Marshalltown, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope your next stay is just around the corner. More 

Des Moines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2016

Stayed here on a Saturday. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. Staff was very welcoming and friendly. The complimentary breakfast was very nice. I would definitely stay here again when I am in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Angela D
Darcy M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Marshalltown, responded to this review

Dear Angela, Thank you very much for the feedback, and the kind words. It's always nice to hear the positives, when soften all you hear is negative. I'll be sure, and print this to share with all the staff. We certainly hope to see you again, soon. Kind regards More 

Springfield Gardens, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2016

My car had broken down for a couple days while I was in town visiting relatives. So naturally I came to the Comfort Inn. The staff was great as always. My room was clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast attendant went out of her way to make myself and everyone else feel very welcome in the morning.... More 

Helpful?
Thank MamaBear311
Darcy M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Marshalltown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It's always rewarding to hear from our guests that we're doing a good job. I'll be sure and share your comments with everyone, especially Danielle. We certainly hope to see you again soon, just not for the same reason. More 

Fairfield Bay, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2015

We had pre-payed for the first three nights and had a reservation for those nights. We had one free night, the fourth night, and had a separate reservation for that night. When we checked in on the first reservation the hotel manager noticed we had another reservation so she checked us in and ensured us that we would stay in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
Darcy M, Manager at Comfort Inn Marshalltown, responded to this review

Dear Robert, Thank you for your candid comments regarding your recent stay. I won't make excuses for the situation, but I do apologize for the mix up. You, and your family have stayed with us in the past, so you know that this is not standard service. I have spoken with those working that day, to retrain them on proper... More 

Travellers are raving about these Marshalltown hotels

Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2015

The room was very nice and comfortable. The television had a great variety of shows and channels to select from. Breakfast was good and included almost anything someone would like to eat. The rates were reasonable and location was great.

Helpful?
Thank Greg H
Darcy M, Manager at Comfort Inn Marshalltown, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time provide such positive feedback. We truly appreciate your kind words. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Marshalltown, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2015

my wife and I just recently needed some renovations done to our apartment and needed a place that accepted cats and was close to home , this hotel fit the bill perfectly. my wife works here in town but works 3rd shift and sleeps during the day , we were able to check in early enough so she could get... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom K
Darcy M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Marshalltown, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, and for taking the time to post such kind words. I am very happy to hear that the staff made you feel at home. Hope to see you again. More 

Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2015

The room and hallways were very clean. My room faced a field. There was an sheer curtain and a partial drape. The drapes do not close over the window and there was a light across the field that shone in on my bed all night. I was in town for a funeral and my parents were staying in another room.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charles M
Darcy M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Marshalltown, responded to this review

Charles, We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such candid feedback of your stay. I am very sorry to hear that your stay was not all you expected. As far as room views go, you get either the parking lot or the empty lot behind us for. As I stated in my response from your previous review,... More 

Springfield Gardens, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2015

This was my second stay at this hotel. The staff was wonderful and very accommodating, breakfast was great, the breakfast host was very friendly. The rooms are very clean. It was a very pleasant stay. They are currently in the process of switching from cable to Direct TV. I was pleasantly surprised to discover that. I will definitely continue staying... More 

Helpful?
Thank MamaBear311
Darcy M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Marshalltown, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to respond to our online survey, regarding your recent stay. I have shared your comments with the entire staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We hope to see you again when you are in the area. Kind regards, Darcy McCubbin General Manager Comfort Inn 641-752-6000 More 

Tomahawk, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2015

We regularly stay at Choice Hotel properties and are generally quite pleased with them. Considering the location and size of Marshalltown we were not expecting such an outstanding stay. Very nice accommodations and the staff was very helpful and pleasant to us. Found a local restaurant only mile or so down the road that they recommended and it was exceptional.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Roger R
Darcy M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Marshalltown, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to review our hotel. It's always pleasant to receive such positive feedback from guests. I have shared your comments with the staff, and they join me in thanking you as well. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Marshalltown, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2014

The brightest point about this hotel is the Continental breakfast, and the sweet lady who ran it. The PM staff is frankly rude and unfriendly. The walls are paper thin, there are literally no curtains (decoration only...they do not pull shut), so if you are on the main floor, you have little privacy. Pipes were rhythmically clanging in the wall... More 

Helpful?
Thank bigd711
Darcy M, Manager at Comfort Inn Marshalltown, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to respond to our online survey regarding your recent stay. On behalf of the entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. I have shared your comments with them, and have addressed the issues. The style of curtains that we feature in the rooms are required from... More 

15 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marshalltown
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Marshalltown
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Regency Inn
BEST WESTERN Regency Inn
#4 of 11 in Marshalltown
134 reviews
0.8 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Marshalltown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Motel 6 Marshalltown
Motel 6 Marshalltown
#8 of 11 in Marshalltown
34 reviews
3.8 km away
Tremont Inn On Main
Tremont Inn On Main
#2 of 11 in Marshalltown
36 reviews
37.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are proud to be the only 100% Smoke Free hotel in Marshalltown. Having undergone a full renovation in 2014, the hotel boasts updated rooms with 42" flat screen televisions, LED reading lights (in standard rooms only), and Serta Perfect Sleepers mattresses. All rooms come equipped with microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, and hair dryer. Wake up to our complimentary free hot breakfast after a good nights sleep, and feast on scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, and biscuits and gravy. Make your own waffles, cereal, and an assortment of pastries, yogurt and fruit are also available. Coffee, juice, and tea as well. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Marshalltown

Address: 2613 South Center Street, Marshalltown, IA 50158-4501
Region: United States > Iowa > Marshalltown
Price Range: $156 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Marshalltown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn Marshalltown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshalltown Comfort Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Comfort Inn Marshalltown staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Rapid City, South Dakota

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Comfort Inn Marshalltown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I had a corner/alcove room. I was nice and off it itself but next to the ice and vending machines. It got a bit noisy at times. Room 119”
 of 5 bubbles 822AngelaG, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Check the room for drapes that close before you accept it”
 of 5 bubbles 408charlesm, 30 Jun 2015 | Read review
“If you can't do stairs I would suggest requesting 1st floor as the elevator is still not installed.”
 of 5 bubbles MamaBear311, 20 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Plan on staying as far from the lobby, pool, exercise area as possible.”
 of 5 bubbles bigd711, 23 Nov 2014 | Read review
“If you cannot do stairs, I would suggest requesting a 1st floor room. There is no elevator, but I was told that is something they plan to add.”
 of 5 bubbles MamaBear311, 26 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay