We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton
See the most recent reviews
Showing 66: English reviews
chicago
Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

Stopped because we were exhausted. Spent 5 hours in motel attempting to sleep before back on road. Dirty room, uncomfortable mattress, thinnest pillow, no running water in our sink(used bottled to wash face and brush teeth) avoid this disgusting place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steinmom
gmia146, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton, responded to this review

Hi steinmom We appreciate your candid feedback about some items not being to standards in the room, such as the housekeeping and water issues and others you have mentioned in your comment. We will certainly ensure these types for things are checked daily so as not to occur again. Thank you again for visiting us .

Muscatine, Iowa
Reviewed 5 December 2015

a great stay for the value savvy traveller...tons of tv channels including HBO...very comfortable mattress....the management is helpful and have a great attitude....exceptional continental breakfast....my new go too destination in newton...dining and stores near by....dining and lounge right across the parking lot

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
gmia146, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton, responded to this review

Hi Rick M Thank you for taking the time to share your review after staying with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our in-room amenities including free Wi-fi. We appreciate your feedback, and we have shared your comments with our team. Thank you again for visiting us and we hope to see you soon.

Plymouth, Indiana
Reviewed 3 November 2015 via mobile

Nice big room, but a queen size bed, no king. The bed was very comfortable, wifi worked well, and they had a good channel selection on the tv. Everything was clean and smelled good. Our only complaint was the toilet seat!! Ours was old, with pitted, chipped paint. Toilet seats are cheap - they need to put out $10 and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila U
gmia146, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton, responded to this review

Hi Sheila J , Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, as well as our in-room amenities. We do have king size rooms available with same amenities. Thank you again for your time and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

Very polite desk clerk checked us in for the night. Room was clean and we'll supplied. Bathroom was small but clean. Breakfast offered was a disappointment no fresh hot waffles but biscuits and gravy with other typical fare offered with a Continental breakfast. Stay was quiet and peace, bed slept well. Would stay again in future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
gmia146, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experiences, feedback and compliments. I am glad we exceeded your expectations and provided you with an amazing experience at the Econolodge inn and suites Newton ,Iowa We hope to be of service to you in the future. If I can provide any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Galion, Ohio
Reviewed 13 October 2015

This motel was clean but had some problems. There was broken towel bar at the sink, It had an old style tube type TV. I don't think we would stay there again. The room itself and beds were ok but nothing to write home about. The breakfast was not the best.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobertShroyer
gmia146, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments about your experience at our hotel. We strive to provide a place to enjoy the surrounds and have a peaceful night’s rest. This is certainly not a norm at this location and we are deeply sorry for the service failures you experienced on this occasion. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience during your stay

Iowa, United States
Reviewed 1 October 2015

I hate posting this, but This is the worst experience I have ever had at a motel/hotel. All the hotels in Grinnell were booked this weekend so we booked this at the last minute to be close to family. The following is the message I responded on their corporate survey site: from the beginning... At check in everything seemed fine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristine R
gmia146, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review about our Econolodge! We are so sorry about the issues you faced . We strive for 100% satisfaction and are so sorry to hear we did not meet your expecations. We are very sorry for the way your issue was handled and are using your feedback to continue to train our front desk team and...

Creston, Iowa
Reviewed 17 September 2015

our stay at the newton econo lodge was very positive as our rooms were clean and beds comfortable. When we had motorcycle trouble they were there to help us what nice people you have running this econo lodge

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dennis w
gmia146, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton, responded to this review

Thanks Dennis. We will see you around on your next trip

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 31 August 2015

i stayed in august from 1st 16th.to see my kids in town. Excellant front desk. They help me for every small thing i needed.will definately return next July. all fast food and restaurant in walking distance. Thanks Jacob ,Joyce Mellissa ,Dawn ,Roger and Hema.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank judy a
gmia146, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton, responded to this review

Hey Judy It was fun to have you here @ Econolodge. We all Econolodge miss your company. And we will sure see you next summer

Reviewed 27 August 2015 via mobile

Very disappointed. Paid for the upgrade and Chose a no smoking suite, room was not clean, reeked of smoke and dank air. Towels were wet and yellowed, brown stains on the bed cover, stains on the walls. If you go, please check the room before you accept it. After spraying a can of lysol, and turning the Air on, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cb P
Cicago
Reviewed 20 August 2015

We don't like to spend a lot of money when we are traveling since we arrive late and leave early so are often forced to make tough decisions between budget hotels. Econolodge in Newton is a good choice. Yes, it's older but the room was clean and the beds were great. The staff was very nice!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elh53

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
0.2 km away
Days Inn Newton
Days Inn Newton
#3 of 8 in Newton
245 reviews
6.4 km away
Boulders Inn & Suites Newton
6.6 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Newton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa
29.4 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell
29.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Grinnell
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton

Address: 1405 W 19th St S, Exit 164, Newton, IA 50208-6003 (Formerly Ramada Limited Newton)
Region: United States > Iowa > Newton
Price Range: $74 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Newton
Newton Econo Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“large suites”
 of 5 bubbles ferreethree, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Try the motel next door!”
 of 5 bubbles RobertShroyer, 12 Oct 2015 | Read review
“safe place.Excellant service”
 of 5 bubbles 362judya, 31 Aug 2015 | Read review
“one exit from the race track, great food across the parking lot”
 of 5 bubbles jamestC1652IQ, 26 May 2015 | Read review
“Yeah, stay somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles nhigdon, 14 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5