We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

West Des Moines Marriott

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
West Des Moines Marriott
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

368 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for West Des Moines Marriott
See the most recent reviews
Showing 366: English reviews
Texas
Reviewed 28 November 2015

To avoid weather my family stayed at the hotel on Thanksgiving Eve. Our server in the restaraunt/lounge was Brandon. He was very attentive to my families needs as well as those of the other patrons. He could remember our drinks choices and was very knowledgable about the drink menu and the dining options. He made our evening fun and relaxing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David G
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review

Dear David G, On behalf of our entire team I would like to thank you for your kind review. It’s wonderful to know that your stay was enjoyable. Our associates work hard to provide a pleasant stay, so we are appreciative that you took the time to review our hotel. Your feedback allows us to monitor the guest experience. Thank...

Cedar Falls, Iowa
Reviewed 31 October 2015

I stayed at the West Des Moines Marriott in connection with a business conference that was being held at the hotel. I stayed 2 nights. Upon arrival I noticed that the glass in the front door was shattered. It was still like that when I left 3 days later. I did not get free Wi Fi and was told that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review

Dear Linda H, I'm very sorry that our shattered door did not make a good first impression. The glass shattered during a wind storm. We ordered the replacement window with an expected 10 day arrival. Additionally, I regret that our amenities were not to your liking. It was kind of your to note our cleanliness and crisp linens. Your feedback...

Maple Grove, Minnesota
Reviewed 17 October 2015

This hotel was a Marriott in name only. Everything about this place was so-so. We stayed two nights while in town for a wedding. Despite being on the concierge level the hospitality room was never open while we were there. We did not partake in the morning buffet because the food looked very "standard" but the price was quite high....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gayl H
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review

Dear Gayl H, I'm sorry we did not provide you with an exceptional stay while visiting for a wedding. I regret that our food service did not appear appealing. We will take your comments regarding extending our bar hours during busy weekends. Thank you for staying with us for your time in reviewing our hotel. We value your comments as...

Wausua
Reviewed 15 October 2015

I arrived on 10-7-15 for a one night business stay. I purchased through priceline using name you own price. I got this "upscale" hotel for $90 plus fees and tax. So, good deal no matter how you look at it. I check in and there were 3 women behind the desk. None seemed to eager to help us. Once one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ted D
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review

Dear Ted D, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. My heartfelt apologies you found our associates aloof. We strive to provide sincere hospitality and we clearly missed the mark. Additionally, I regret the noise pollution stemming from your air-conditioning. Thank you for your honest feedback which will be reviewed with our team. Thank you for staying...

Elmhurst, Illinois
Reviewed 15 October 2015

I checked in relatively late on my recent visit. Check in was fine. I headed to the concierge lounge for a snack and beverage. The staff was in the process of closing down and were clearly annoyed that I was in their way. I ended up at a nearby fast food establishment. The television service was spotty at best. On...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review

Dear Jim M, Thank you for choosing us. I'm very sorry that you were not made to feel welcome during your late registration; please forgive us. Additionally, I'm sorry for the issues you experience with our satellite television service. I have addressed these issues with our staff, and hope that the next time you are in the area you will...

Rio, Wisconsin
Reviewed 13 October 2015

My wife and I stayed for a three day weekend while in the Des Moines area. We chose the Marriott over other brands (or "lesser" Marriott properties) because of the higher quality and the pool area. This Marriott actually had a large pool/hot tub area that looked very nice. The pool and hot tub were disgusting. The hot tub in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard M
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review

Dear Richard M, I'm very sorry that the cleanliness of our pool and hot-tub were not up to our high standards. Though they are monitored daily to assure water cleanliness; our hot-tub and pool are both in need of painting and resurfacing. It was kind of you to note the quality of our accommodations. We appreciate the feedback which highlights...

Reviewed 6 September 2015

I have been staying here for 15 years....about 5 times a year. Clean, quiet, efficient, easy to access. Staff go out of their way to meet any special needs you may have. The only (small) thing that would make it better would be a restoration of the free coffee they used to put in the lobby in the morning. Otherwise,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tomfitz46
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review

Dear Tomfitz46, Welcome back! We are delighted to hear of the comfort you experience at our hotel. I’m glad you are able to take advantage of our good value and friendly service. Our associates are the key to providing our guests with a satisfying stay. We appreciate your kind remarks and hope to see you again. Best, Lisa Tuller General...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 3 September 2015

A well run, clean, efficient property. We recommend it. We were coming from an awful experience at the Hudson WI Fairfield Inn, and the found us a room-- when the property was full -- so we could arrive early and stay an extra day. When they heard we had a bad experience at the Fairfield Inn of Hudson, WI --...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K D
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review

Dear K D, I’m thrilled to learn we were well suited to your travel needs; thanks for taking the time to share your experience. It’s wonderful to know that you were made to feel welcome after a bad experience at another hotel. We appreciate your recommendation, but of course the highest form of praise would be your return! Sincerely, Lisa...

Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 2 September 2015

I am an Independent Contractor for Hospitality in the Southwest. I over see different chains, however the Marriott is not one of them. The best part of my stay was the bellman/shuttle driver Freddy! He was extremely friendly, knowledgable and hospitable. The other positives were the bed was very comfortable, the workout room was top of the line with cardio,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mzona18
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review

Dear mzona18, I'm glad that Freddy made you feel welcome. We appreciate you noting our comfortable beds and cleanliness even though our amenities were not to your liking. As a full-service hotel, the amenities you mentioned are not standard and are commonly found in select service hotels. We appreciate your feedback and will take your comments under consideration. Thank you...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Rated #4 in West Des Moines here on TripAdvisor led me to book this hotel for a business trip. I won't make the same mistake next time. While my room was clean, spacious and well-appointed, the bathroom upgrades stopped at the fancy Speakman showerhead. The bathtub was still the old-style very low-profile tub, and the toilet was the old, water-guzzling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara H
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review

Dear Sara H, Thank you for your sincere review. I’m happy to know you found your room clean and well appointed, but I'm sorry our bathroom was not to your liking. Your honest feedback on areas which we can improve is welcomed and fosters change for future stays. I will be sure to share your comments with our entire team...

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
2.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
539 reviews
3.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
177 reviews
0.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moine...
#10 of 22 in West Des Moines
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
541 reviews
3.6 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
187 reviews
4.0 km away
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moin...
#5 of 22 in West Des Moines
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The finest of West Des Moines hotels, the newly renovated West Des Moines Marriott is ideally located for business or leisure travel and is just 8 miles to downtown and 1 mile to Jordan Creek Town Center. We're close to businesses including Wells Fargo, Marsh, ATHENE, Farm Bureau and Mercy West Medical Center. Complimentary shuttle service to the airport (12 miles) is available 7am-11pm daily. This West Des Moines hotel offers 219 rooms including 38 suites with WIRELESS Internet and 37" flat screen TVs. On the Concierge Level, upgraded amenities such as complimentary breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvres await you in the exclusive lounge for Concierge Level guests. Enjoy delectable cuisine at Two Rivers Grille or unwind with cocktails and conversation at Two Rivers Lounge. Freshly renovated event space for 10 to 450, enhanced by our award-winning service and catering, will make your presentation, wedding or reunion truly dazzle. We invite you to experience the best among hotels in West Des Moines! ... more   less 

Additional Information about West Des Moines Marriott

Address: 1250 Jordan Creek Pkwy, West Des Moines, IA 50266-5825
Region: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Price Range: $136 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Des Moines Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your West Des Moines Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott West Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
#4 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from West Des Moines Marriott staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Southwest side is the quite side of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles JBretteD, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Talk to the front desk. They want your business!”
 of 5 bubbles PAtraveler1171, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I always steer clear of first floor”
 of 5 bubbles cartersdg, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The North side faces the highway, but you cannot hear it from your room.”
 of 5 bubbles Vito33Ming, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Free wifi for Marriott rewards members, King Suite rooms are spacious”
 of 5 bubbles cupfarb, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5