We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

333 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 329: English reviews
North Mankato, Minnesota
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Check in was swift and smooth, had no problem getting to the room, front desk staff was helpful when the computers in the lobby area were not working correctly and helped my wife get information on two places we wanted to go on Sunday. Great job by the evening staff! Breakfast in the hotel was special omelets to order and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mel H
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Dear suemel604, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the interactions with our staff members. We hope to see you again soon!

Bridgeport, WV
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This was a great choice! The free airport shuttle was very helpful, however it only runs until 10pm so if you have a late or very early flight this might not be ideal. All of the staff was very helpful and for being a Sheraton rewards member you can receive free internet access to avoid paying for it. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pinkprincess03
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Dear pinkprincess03, Thank you for the great review and comments regarding our shuttle service, hotel cleanliness and the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds! We are glad you enjoyed your stay!

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night and had a great experience. The hotel was clean and our room was newly updated. Comfy bed and very quiet. Hotel staff was friendly and the parking was convenient. The surrounding area was a major plus--very nice and safe! We've been on a road trip and it was nice to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AllieT7
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AllieT7, Thank you for the review on your recent hotel visit. We appreciate the feedback are are glad you enjoyed the hotel and surrounding area. We hope to see you again if you travel to Des Moines!

Sioux City, Iowa
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Booking directly from Sheraton, found a STEAL on a 2 room suite... Website crashes, (maintenance they say...) and customer service couldn't find the deal. Cost me $60 more, no free wifi and no cont. breakfast. Hugely disappointed, but decided to stay there anyway. The hotel is pretty. It really is. Nice view, beautiful waterfall, great bonuses, nice staff, amazing pillows....But...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laylian
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I found this property on Priceline and got a great deal. Its location is not far off freeway. Outside appearance is just like inside.....slightly aged. Has a nice waterfall accenting the 10 or so floors. My room was nicely decorated with a 42" flat panel and a comfortable bed. Found it to be very quiet, but I was tucked away....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SIOUXFANFOREVER
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Siouxfanforever, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed the amenities inside the hotel as well as your interaction with our team members. Thank you for choosing Sheraton and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you to Des Moines!

Davenport, Iowa
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in Feb. 2014. I expected more from a Sheraton. This hotel is showing its age. We stayed in a standard room, I would categorize it as dingy. The bed was not comfortable and I could hear everything going on outside the room, and could not fall asleep. Unfortunately, I don't think we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hollyc83
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hollyc83, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We do appreciate the commentary. Typically we receive rave reviews of our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds- we will review the room to ensure all is correct with the bedding. We are also ranked among the very highest in cleanliness amongst Sheraton's. We will again check on that particular...

Lincoln, Nebraska
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed here several days for a conference held at the hotel. From the minute I checked in I could tell customer service was a high priority as the staff all learned my name my first day and they were always checking to make sure my stay was a good one. My room was a 2 room suite. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NebraskaTravelnut
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NebraskaTravelnut, Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us. We appreciate the feedback regarding our guest service! That is a very high priority with us, as is providing a clean and comfortable experience for our guests. We hope to see you again your travels bring you to the Des Moines area.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Spent 1 week here while on business. The rooms were clean, beds comfortable, water pressure could've been a bit better. I didn't like the extra $10 charge for WiFi in your room, these days everyone including coffee stores offer free wife. The breakfast buffet was ok, i'd say get yourself a freshly made to order omelette, the juices they had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissAdina
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MissAdina, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate the feedback! I am glad you enjoyed the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds- they are truly the best in the industry. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you through Des Moines.

Austin
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Staying here on business, so one of my pet peeves is not enough electrical outlets. My room had outlets aplenty, which made me very happy. The desk has a built-in power strip with two outlets, and the nightstand also has a built-in power strip. The room was clean and nicely decorated. Granted, the rest of the hotel can definitely use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Betdafarm
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Betdafarm, Thank you for your review of your recent stay. We appreciate the feedback. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds, they are pretty remarkable. Thank you, as well, for the comments on your experience with our staff members and the room technology. We look forward to seeing you again during your next trip...

The Woodlands, Texas
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Unremarkable Sheraton in need of some updating. Very dated interior with cheesy indoor waterfall with strong chlorine smell in the atrium style lobby. Rooms are ok, some in better condition than others. I would say if you get a good rate and need an overnight stay in West Des Moines it is OK, but the Marriott down the road is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Whodat75
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Whodat75, Thank you for you review regarding your recent stay with us. We do appreciate the feedback. Being a large atrium hotel- the waterfall is a signature item and necessary to create a white noise that actually makes the hotel environment quieter. Many guests enjoy the soothing effect of the water sound as well. We are in preparations for...

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Des Moines
4.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
552 reviews
4.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
183 reviews
3.4 km away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
4.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
193 reviews
0.4 km away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of West Des Moines, the Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel is ideally situated for business, weekend getaways, or an extended vacation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel

Address: 1800 50th Street, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Region: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Price Range: $193 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton West Des Moines
West Des Moines Sheraton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ice machines located on floors 8 and 10”
sleestaker, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There were some minor renovations going on at the hotel. It did not bother us. It was minor.”
sixthcents, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Nice place”
PhyllW, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The rooms with the King size beds are a good size.”
71allga, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I always like a room with a lot of light!!!”
4JMP, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5