We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Valley West Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Valley West Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 122: English reviews
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent one week here on business with nine rooms. Good size rooms great location. Nice pool area but not working at this time. Great tv and Wi-Fi. Dog friendly and big parking lot. The management is very nice and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Randi W
Cedar Falls, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wow where to start...$72.00 and would have been upset paying $27.00...It is an old hotel..Pool was broke,nowhere to eat breakfast, they did have a canter filled with cold coffee, the bed was worn and very uncomfortable, impossible to get more than two towels, one bar of soap, half a roll of toilet paper and no chance of getting more..front desk... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tiredme2016
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
105 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I never know what to expect at one of these old full-service hotels that's become a limited-service property. They often have confusing floor plans, unused banquet facilities, big pools, open stairways and creaky elevators, and an appealing quirkiness. Valley West Inn had nearly all these attributes in spades, but the quirkiness quickly lost its appeal. We had booked a weekend... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CorpsofDiscovery
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Do not stay here! This place needs to be bulldozed down. Booked team travel here, no one was comfortable staying once they seen the place and all left. Scary, smells, restaurant closed, graffiti in the elevator. If you have an ounce of self respect move along.

Helpful?
Thank Ted1217
Jennifer S, General Manager at Valley West Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to communicate your feedback. We truly appreciate guests who take time to let us know their concerns of the hotel, as it will only assist us in becoming better at what we do. We strive to deliver the best quality and service to our guests and on this occasion we did not exceed... More 

1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

I got here on may 31st on a bussiness trip from El Paso Texas. After that day I experienced one of the best customer service I've ever experienced before.the managers , the front desk personal treated us good with alot of professionalism.Anything we needed they would provide for us. They maintained the out side lawn ,Parking lot, the pool, everything... More 

Helpful?
Thank mario m
Jennifer S, General Manager at Valley West Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to communicate your positive feedback. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you to Valley West Inn, again. Jennifer Stanley, GM More 

Burr Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

This place is quite uneven. The room ( a two-bed double) was large and the bed was comfortable, but the mildew smell was pretty bad. We enjoyed the pool (all to ourselves in the evening), but it was very hard to find it through the maze of hallways. There are several nice chain restaurants right across the the street and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
Jennifer S, General Manager at Valley West Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to communicate your positive feedback. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you to Valley West Inn, again. Jennifer Stanley, GM More 

Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2016

I have never stayed at a motel that I have received such bad service. First of all, this was our 2nd time staying here & both times we had trouble with the door key- it would not work for us. Even got a new one & it still did not work, had to have the office person come up &... More 

Helpful?
Thank joycels2016
Jennifer S, General Manager at Valley West Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to communicate your feedback. We truly appreciate guests who take time to let us know their concerns of the hotel, as it will only assist us in becoming better at what we do. We strive to deliver the best quality and service to our guests and on this occasion we did not exceed... More 

Iowa
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2016

This place is aweful. We checked into and were put in one room that still had wet towels on the floor and cheese and lunch meat in the fridge. Someone appeared to have been living in that room full time. The sheets are yellow, the halls stink and the parking lot is dark, dirty and sketchy. This place needs to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tjoia
Jennifer S, General Manager at Valley West Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Please allow me the opportunity to introduce myself; Jennifer Stanley. I am the General Manager at Valley West Inn, West Des Moines, Iowa. Thank you for taking time to communicate your feedback. We truly appreciate guests who take time to let us know their concerns of the hotel, as it will only assist us in becoming better at... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2016

The motel was run down and in need of repairs. The rooms were dirty and dated (chair seats stained, carpet unravelling, towels thin and old). The elevator went to the "third floor" but then we had to go up a set of stairs to get to the third floor rooms. The ice machines were not working at the front of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Angie S
Jennifer S, General Manager at Valley West Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to communicate your feedback. We truly appreciate guests who take time to let us know their concerns of the hotel, as it will only assist us in becoming better at what we do. We strive to deliver the best quality and service to our guests and on this occasion we did not exceed... More 

Sarasota, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

Checked in, looked around the room which was filthy! Hotel reminiscent of the Shining. Moved to 2nd room after calling front desk. Second room had blood or some other bodily fluid on the walls and mattress. Shown third room. Bodily fluids on the wall by the bed, lamp and several large beetles. Opted at that point to leave! They still... More 

Helpful?
Thank canadia22
Jennifer S, General Manager at Valley West Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to communicate your feedback. We truly appreciate guests who take time to let us know their concerns of the hotel, as it will only assist us in becoming better at what we do. We strive to deliver the best quality and service to our guests and on this occasion we did not exceed... More 

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Des Moines
1.0 km away
Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines
Extended Stay America - Des Moin...
#15 of 20 in West Des Moines
83 reviews
4.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#3 of 20 in West Des Moines
508 reviews
1.9 km away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#10 of 48 in Des Moines
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
244 reviews
2.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
2.0 km away
Sterling Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Great mallside location! Within walking distance to Target, and Hyvee (grocery store). Excellent location next to Interstate 235 in West Des Moines. Very close to downtown. Only a hop-skip-and-jump away from Des Moines entertainment venues! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Valley West Inn

Address: 3535 Westown Parkway, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Region: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Price Range: $93 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Valley West Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Valley West Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley West Hotel West Des Moines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Valley West Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Des Moines, Iowa
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Valley West Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go to another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles tiredme2016, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“sleep in your car!”
 of 5 bubbles tjoia, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“No-Smoking rooms!!!”
 of 5 bubbles ShirlzeyAnn, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Best to avoid this property all together.”
 of 5 bubbles Partssales, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Be ready to use the elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles DaveFmIA, 13 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay