We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Candlewood Suites - Des Moines

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 87: English reviews
Start your review of Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
 Click to rate
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

It was only a one night stay, but I slept so good I contemplated stuffing the pillow in my suitcase and taking it home with me ( I didn't). It was a great night sleep and the hotel was convenient for me.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank butlerandcrow
Stacia P, Front Desk at Candlewood Suites - Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Candlewood! We're glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again!

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 27 January 2017

I like to travel and try out new places, I really did enjoy my two night stay here. The room was very clean. I was able to get the rest i needed. I really like the rooms, it came with a fridge, micro and plates. Beds were very comfortable and plenty of pillows. I will be staying here in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adri A
Stacia P, Front Desk at Candlewood Suites - Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Candlewood! We're so happy you enjoyed you'pr stay! Look forward to seeing you again!

Bay City, Michigan
Reviewed 16 January 2017

We have been staying in Candlewood Suites for a year now and have always been pleased. This hotel did not disappoint! The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was very friendly. We travel with a 7lb Maltese Therapy Dog and the staff assigned us a room that gave us easy access to take him out on this walks....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam557
Stacia P, Front Desk at Candlewood Suites - Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we love pets here! Glad we could accommodate your needs! Look forward to seeing you again!

Buffalo, NY
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We stayed at this Candlewood Suites for two nights. Please note that I said “stayed,” not “slept.” It turns out that the gentleman in the room directly above ours has two large dogs. Sometimes, he woke us up because he was playing fetch with them. Sometimes, the dogs were, as dogs are inclined to do, wrestling with each other. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mjh13
CWDesMoines, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience. I apologize about the dogs upstairs. After your experience, we did make the owner and his dogs find other accommodations. I was not made aware of the other issues when I spoke with you and assure you I would have done all I could to correct them. My team...

Seymour
Reviewed 16 August 2016

I've really come to like staying at Candlewood Suites across the country because of the refrigerator, plates, etc. It makes things simple for me: I can go to the nearest supermarket or Wal-Mart and get what I want to eat and prepare it in my room. Check-in was a little slow. It seems there is hardly ever anyone at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jrperkins3
West Jordan, Utah
Reviewed 2 July 2016

This is the first negative review I have written but people need to be warned. The room is nice and has a full kitchen which was nice. Cleaning and linen change only done weekly was not impressive. (We did have the option to ask for linen and change it our self.) The icemaker did not work and was not repaired...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank winterbailey
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Des Moines, responded to this review

Dear winterbailey, Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. It is pleasing to know that you liked our full kitchen feature in the rooms. However, I apologize if you had some issues with the service during your stay. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 30 June 2016

I think the best thing there is the suites has its own kitchen. but the worst thing for me is the did not clean every day or even within couple of days. the front desk guys are very friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed M
CandlewoodWDM, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are glad the layout of our rooms suited your needs. As an extended stay hotel, we allow our guests privacy and do not enter their rooms more than once every 7 days. We apologize if this was an inconvenience for you but want you to know that if...

Swisher, Iowa
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

I do not like to write negitive reviews. My recent visit was bad enough that i would feel terrible for not warning other travelers. This place is not the home away from home it used to be. I purchased a non smoking suiet for the extra space (Upgrade). Here were a few things that caught my eye: The door looked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank William B
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Des Moines, responded to this review

Dear William B, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We're very sorry for the unsatisfactory experience you had, especially with the room condition, cleanliness, and staff service. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken to ensure we provide the best guest experience possible. It means...

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

I stayed here using some IHG rewards points which brought the cost down below $50 for one night. This is a standard Candlewood Suites property. The rooms are clean and include a kitchenette and dishes. The beds are firm. No breakfast is provided, but a Perkins restaurant is a short walk down the street. A gas station is nearby, as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheTimMan
San Diego, California
Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

The room is perfect for our needs. Knowing we would want a suite type room with a kitchenette and comfort of more than "just a room" we selected this hotel. The staff was attentive to our needs, the parking lot was well lit, it was accessible to the freeway and the hallways were always clean. The challenge is we requested...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rebecca k
CWDesMoines, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Des Moines, responded to this review

We are so sorry you had such a bad experience with the smoke smell. We do have 2 completely non- smoking floors and make every effort to avoid putting non smokers on the floor with smoking rooms when at all possible. I am sorry we were not able to do this during your stay. Please let me know the next...

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.9 km away
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines
Staybridge Suites West Des Moine...
#13 of 22 in West Des Moines
145 reviews
0.1 km away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
369 reviews
2.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moine...
#11 of 22 in West Des Moines
200 reviews
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
548 reviews
0.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Des Moines West
SpringHill Suites Des Moines Wes...
#14 of 22 in West Des Moines
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. At the Candlewood Suites West Des Moines hotel, we put the amenities where they really count: in the room. Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen that includes a microwave oven, full-size refrigerator and 2 burner stove. Work efficiently at your over-sized desk with 2 phone lines and complimentary high-speed Internet. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while enjoying the DVD/VCR player. Borrow some of your favorites from our free video/CD library. Work off some stress in the fitness center or grab a snack from our Candlewood Cupboard where you can purchase meals, beverages, snacks and sundries at value prices. We are proud to be a pet friendly hotel (fees apply), which can be helpful when relocation with pets forces you to leave your old surroundings. Our location is perfect for business and leisure travelers alike. Located just 1 mile from the Wells Fargo offices in West Des Moines and the Jordan Creek Town Center Mall. Offices for State Farm Insurance, Farm Bureau and American Family Insurance are only minutes away. Downtown Des Moines is an easy drive (12 miles) and the Des Moines Airport is only 14 miles from the hotel. Enjoy the zoo or the best restaurants and entertainment the Des Moines area has to offer only minutes from the hotel. Also located nearby are HyVee Food Stores, Wal-Mart or Sam's Club and Target. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Des Moines

Address: 7625 Office Plaza Dr N, West Des Moines, IA 50266-2321
Region: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Price Range: $106 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Des Moines 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines
Candlewood Suites West Des Moines
Candlewood West Des Moines
West Des Moines Candlewood Suites
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Candlewood Suites - Des Moines staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Candlewood Suites - Des Moines staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2nd floor is the smoking floor”
AhmedM543, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you are a non-smoker I would stay away from 3rd floor as the second floor is the smoking section - best to stay on first floor.”
KathleenV844, 17 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room closer to the elevator unless you want to walk a mile to your room.”
jbrenz, 9 Nov 2015 | Read review
“stay on side away from highway.”
davmach1, 4 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Call Hotel and DOUBLE check your reservation if you need a specific type of room..”
TLIA319, 15 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5