We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

American Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
American Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 38: English reviews
PA
Reviewed 8 October 2016

This was a well maintained older property. An unusual configuration with 3 wings going outward from a big lobby lounge area. Had a decent breakfast and the location was great. I am an old hotel aficionado, so I enjoyed the stay more because of the character of the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cavychauffer
Minnesota
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

First off, we had to flush the toilet on arrival to be able to use it. Yep. The toilet had been used. The maid did not clean the bathroom or surely she'd have noticed that! There were three lamps in the room, and all three had burnt out bulbs in them. There were only two outlets in the room, one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelinSal
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

We were on a budget. The clerk was so friendly and she really made it a pleasant stay by making sure our room was non-smoking and on the 3rd floor. Kinda funky-lookin but absolutely no complaints. 4stars because there is obvious wear&tear to the room but nothing major.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kat A
Toledo District, Belize
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

There were cockroaches in the bed, which had not been laundered. I assume this a violation even in Kansas. We left, having had to complete a form to apply for a refund, despite that we showed staff bugs in our bed. Stay in Lawrence, there's a highly rated motel there at a lower price. Look it up.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GenacGenac
Monroe, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed 2 July 2016

First of all we went to this place because it had truck parking...went in and front desk clerk a hateful person...need to train better and understand your in the customer service business. Went to the room and checked for bed bugs...pulled back sheets and there was hair and dirt on the sheet! Had not been change! Disgusting....bed was ok slept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelleafay
Kansas
Reviewed 24 April 2016

We actually left after checking in as the room was gross. Ashes on the floor of the bathroom as well as dirt. I was actually afraid to stay there! Drove the hour home rather than attempt to sleep in the bed!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RNET
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 31 January 2016

I actually enjoyed staying here, but only because of how spooky it is. It's generally clean, and definitely quiet, but quiet as the grave is quiet. All of the carpet is unnerving and overly-busy in its design, and there's an overwhelming sense of evil that pervades the whole place. That said, it wasn't a horrible time.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank c_danger
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 21 July 2015

Was in town to see soccer at Sporting Park. Combination of distance and price was right. Noise insulation wasn't great, but I was still able to sleep through it. Was disappointed to find the only two outlets in bedroom all taken up by the TV/cable and the fridge/microwave. Had to unplug things to charge anything. Of the two beds, one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom D
Carol M, Director of Sales at American Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tom, Thank you for staying with us! Iappreciate your review and want to apologize to you for the issues mentioned. We are in process of rerouting the electrical outlets to provide more plugs for our guests. Our Housekeeping staff have been reprimanded for ignoring beds that are still untouched. Obviously the key between your sheets was not supposed to...

Reviewed 25 June 2015 via mobile

The motel was OK its not the worst but def not the best. Staff was nice n helpful. Room was clean. But air conditioner had a moldy musty smell blowing from it the staff gave Lysol spray to help. The was locked so my kids weren't able to swim. Recommend a stay yes I would if it was only for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jess L
Carol M, Director of Sales at American Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jess, Thank you for your review. I am so sorry for your inconvenience with the mold smell and the locked pool! During the really hot time of summer we can experience condensation in the A/C units and sometimes a backlash of odor. We clean the units once a month to eliminate the issue. Apparently your room had not been...

De Queen, Arkansas, United States
Reviewed 8 June 2015

We were greeted by Nick. He was very friendly, informative and accommodating. My husband is very particular about being able to park our vehicle in front of our room and when we asked Nick to find us a room that would accommodate this request, he did so. Upon finding our room, there were vehicles already parked in all the spaces,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cheeta P

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn Kansas City
Comfort Inn Kansas City
#12 of 20 in Kansas City
96 reviews
6.1 km away
Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City
6.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER KC Speedway Inn & Suites
5.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Village West
6.2 km away
Residence Inn Kansas City at The Legends
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The American Inn Motel in Kansas City, Kansas is located only minutes from the Kansas International Speedway, Downtown Kansas City, the Chiefs/Royals Stadium, Cabella's, Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre, and the Woodlands Race Track. Amenities include: free local calls and morning coffee; outdoor pool and guest laundry; 73 cable channels; and large truck and RV parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about American Inn

Address: 7949 Splitlog Ave, I-70 and 78th Street Exit 414, Kansas City, KS 66112-2700
Region: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Price Range: $87 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — American Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your American Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from American Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles michelleafay, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in this hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles 554ashleyk, 6 Oct 2014 | Read review
“they have no restaurant so hard to judge vending is plentifull though”
 of 5 bubbles SteveB773, 25 May 2012 | Read review
“do not stay here. do not bring a black light.”
 of 5 bubbles 523AndyG, 8 Feb 2012 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay