We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Big Bear Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Big Bear Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Big Bear Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 47: English reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2015 via mobile

Not very hospitable to transient campers. Office always closed when Info needed. Wifi out much of the time. Picnic tables falling apart and no grills onsite. Transient sites very small with little space to park vehicle. No Information on checkout times No brochures available on things to do or places to go. Seems to only cater to seasonal rentals Very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Arlene W
caldemeyer, Manager at Big Bear Resort, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Big Bear Resort. While we put great effort into maintaining our property and amenities it doesn't sound like we were able to meet your expectations. Other guests at the resort have found our lodgings, amenities and marina to be very clean and well-kept. We hope you will find...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 22 July 2015

I actually enjoyed my stay at Big Bear. What I did not enjoy was hearing someone, I presume the owner, yelling at her staff over a trivial mistake. I have worked with those types before - they definitley don't put their staff over their profits. I can not support any business that is rude to their employees. I also overheard...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jacobson2015
caldemeyer, Owner at Big Bear Resort, responded to this review

We are very glad that you are concerned about our employees at Big Bear Resort. So are we! While we value input, false claims such as this are not constructive. Our employees are one big family at Big Bear with many of them 2nd and 3rd generation family members. We can assure you that no one yells at employees at...

Springfield, Illinois
Reviewed 14 July 2015

I'll start by saying we chose here because my wife liked that they had a pool. The pool was large and very nice. The weather was absolutely awful but theres nothing they can do about that but the campsites were flooded out. Even if they wouldn't have been flooded, the sites still suck. The fishing was very good. At night...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cubfanbudman1127
caldemeyer, Owner at Big Bear Resort, responded to this review

We are sorry the weather did not cooperate with you. Often times the weather can ruin your stay. We have 2 stores on the resort property and we are open, during the season, till 7 pm at the marina store. You do not have to leave the property to get ice and firewood. Our firewood is in a huge container...

Columbia, Tennessee
Reviewed 13 July 2015

Over 50 members of my family stayed at Big Bear for our family reunion that we have every year and have been for about 30 years. This was our first time to stay at Big Bear. Our unit was clean and the grounds were very nice. Since we had so many in our group, the owner had agreed to waive...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kimberly S
caldemeyer, Owner at Big Bear Resort, responded to this review

Again...these policies have been in effect for over 30 years and are on every check in form, reservation form and email communication. If you owned a business, you would understand that there are rules and regulations established for consistency. I'm sure no business owner runs a business as a charity! I'm sorry your plans changed as you seemed genuinely happy...

Jackson, Missouri
Reviewed 10 July 2015

So many of my childhood memories were held at Big Bear Resort and we continue to enjoy this beautiful resort into our adult life. Big Bear is situated on KY Lake which offers boating, fishing, swimming and many other water activities. Big Bear is a great resort for families or even a relaxing getaway for couples. Our family has stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelli W
caldemeyer, Manager at Big Bear Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind review! We enjoyed your visit to Big Bear, as well and can't wait to see you again soon.

Smyrna, Tennessee, United States
Reviewed 4 July 2015

54 members of my family stayed at Big Bear for a family reunion. On arrival, we were very pleased. The grounds were well maintained and our unit was clean and met our expectations. They were very accommodating. They brought extra picnic tables to our unit on Saturday for our family dinner. Because our group was large, they had been kind...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Annette O
caldemeyer, Owner at Big Bear Resort, responded to this review

Our policy for over 30 years has been the same. It is reiterated on your reservation paperwork, on the paperwork when you sign in and in the confirmation email. "if you cancel less than 30 days before your reservation, you lose your deposit. If you can more than 30 days out from your reservation, you get your deposit less a...

Owensboro, Kentucky
Reviewed 27 June 2015

The road conditions are horrible in places, directions not clearly marked, cabin smelled bad Busted our boat trailer light in a huge rut. The grass was not maintained. Boat launch ramp almost unusable

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Griff T
caldemeyer, Owner at Big Bear Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments but you forgot a few facts. Your wife informed the office staff that you backed into one of the direction signs (that we don't have) and busted your trailer light. The torrential downpours from Hurrican Bill prevented our staff from our weekly mowing routine. As anyone who has been to Big Bear will tell you,...

Reviewed 5 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed in a townhouse. It was not clean. The floors were disgusting and it smelt bad. The WiFi didn't work even when calling and getting the password the connection was horrible. I do not recommend staying here if you like staying in clean places. However, most of the employees were super nice and helpful. I don't think we would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank honest06
caldemeyer, Owner at Big Bear Resort, responded to this review

We do apologize for the internet. We have had all the hardware and software on our side double checked and triple checked. We called in Mediacom who replaced a splitter that was rusted. Last week, we noticed Mediacom was at one of the condo complexes repairing their connections. Apparently, their issues have interfered with Big Bear Resort's WiFi internet, which,...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 21 April 2015

This is our second year staying at the resort. We stay in the townhouses and it is a nice place to stay. Only complaint about the townhouse is that they might as well not give you the wifi password because you aren't going to get any signal in them. That kind of stinks. Other than that they are great. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scottc52978
caldemeyer, Owner at Big Bear Resort, responded to this review

Our WiFi has always worked perfectly. HOWEVER, Mediacom doesn't have as great a record. We contacted them and they replaced the rusted splitter so all's good! Glad you had a great time at Big Bear!

Benton, Kentucky
Reviewed 30 December 2014 via mobile

My husband and I keep our boat docked at this resort. It's always a nice family atmosphere. The staff is friendly and almost everyone you see will smile and wave. Southern hospitality at its best! If you've never experienced Kentucky Lake, here is the perfect place to do so!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Taleah M

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
2:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benton
12.5 km away
Kentucky Dam Village State Park
Kentucky Dam Village State Park
#1 of 6 in Gilbertsville
360 reviews
17.0 km away
Kenlake State & Resort Park
16.3 km away
Patti's Inn & Suites
Patti's Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Grand Rivers
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 km away
Early American Motel
Early American Motel
#1 of 2 in Aurora
27 reviews
16.3 km away
Americas Best Value Inn- Land Between The Lakes
26.7 km away
America's Paradise Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Have a BIG time at Big Bear Resort on beautiful Kentucky Lake!  Welcome to historic Big Bear Resort in wonderful western Kentucky. Join fishermen and families from the past 65 years that have found their way to one of the biggest man-made lakes in the world. We'll put you in the middle of all the wonderful ways you can make your vacation, fishing trip, or family reunion a memory you'll look back on for a lifetime. Many have discovered the wonder of Big Bear Resort on Kentucky Lake since 1948 when Big Bear became one of the first resorts on this majestic man-made lake. Rick Meier and Janet Caldemeyer, the third generation of gracious hosts at Big Bear, carry on the family tradition of welcoming friends and fishermen to this very special spot for fun and relaxation. We're glad you're here! We hope you stay awhile! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Big Bear Resort

Address: 30 Big Bear Resort Rd, Benton, KY 42025-5814
Region: United States > Kentucky > Benton
Price Range: $92 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Big Bear Hotel Benton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Big Bear Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Big Bear Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“townhouses are closest to marina and water”
 of 5 bubbles 622peggyl, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
1 of 1