We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
405 Wilkinson Blvd, Frankfort, KY 40601-1849
Lowest prices for your stay
US$149
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/10/22
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$149
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/10/22
Expedia.comUS$149
TravelocityUS$149
Priceline
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (98)
Room & Suite (28)
Dining (9)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 22/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Capital Plaza Hotel
Updated 22/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 11 hotels in Frankfort
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Finding an ideal hotel in Frankfort does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Capital Plaza Hotel, a nice option for travelers like you. Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Old Governor's Mansion (0.3 mi) and Governor's Mansion (1.0 mi), guests of Capital Plaza Hotel Frankfort can easily experience some of Frankfort's most well-known attractions. Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a refrigerator, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the hotel. Capital Plaza Hotel Frankfort features a 24-hour front desk and newspaper, to help make your stay more enjoyable. The property also boasts a pool and breakfast. If you are driving, free parking is available. While visiting Frankfort, you may want to try some oyster at one of the nearby restaurants, such as Jim's Seafood or Rick's White Light Diner. If you’re looking for something to do, New Capitol Building (0.9 mi), Thomas D. Clark Center for Kentucky History (0.3 mi), and Frankfort Cemetery (0.9 mi) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of our hotel. Capital Plaza Hotel looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Frankfort.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Breakfast available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Car park
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Mid-range
327Reviews5Q+A63Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 114
  • 89
  • 63
  • 29
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Melissa H wrote a review 15 Sep
Kentucky4 contributions
This hotel continues to have outstanding customer service. They did an excellent job with the Tricky Jackson Classic this year and they had 2 large wedding parties as well. I have to say that they handle 3 big parties with a small staff. Terri and Alice thank you for the great experience -Melissa
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: 2nd floor very quiet
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol Jones, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you Melissa for bringing your group to Capital Plaza Hotel. We appreciate the kind words about our staff and facility and will pass on your comments to Terry and Alice. We look forward to having your group back next year!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gormon C wrote a review 2 Sep
Prestonsburg, Kentucky2 contributions1 helpful vote
The rating levels only had 5, so I couldn’t go lower! Never got a chance to stay there. My family secured a 25 room block last November. My family had already booked 17 rooms. The hotel said they overbooked and canceled all 25 rooms! 3 weeks before the wedding! I have never had a hotel do this or heard of it. DO NOT STAY HERE! They sold our rooms at higher rates and booted us out. So upsetting!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid this place like the plague!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
ALicia C wrote a review Aug 2022
Lexington, Kentucky10 contributions5 helpful votes
Horrible customer service and not a bit of care or concern for their confirmed reservations. Not only did they not honor their contract for a wedding block- they oversold their hotel and decided to cancel all of the confirmed rooms in our block. They oversold their hotel and canceled our block so they wouldn't have to Walk guests and pay for their rooms. This all happened 30 days before the wedding , with a festival in town taking up all the rooms in the city. Please- Please do your self a favor and DO NOT STAY at this hotel. Please read the reviews- it's old- outdated- poorly managed and way past it's prime. Unfortunately, this is the only hotel downtown, and why we chose it. There are many VRBO options and B&B's downtown- do your research. I hope this can help someone from experiencing the heartache we did and all the stress it has brought on what should be a happy time.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Clint C wrote a review Aug 2022
Indianapolis, Indiana2 contributions1 helpful vote
Do not trust this hotel with your wedding plans. Apparently even if you have a signed contract months in advance, they will just cancel your room block 30 days before your wedding. Take your business elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
havefun668 wrote a review Aug 2022
Madison, Indiana31 contributions10 helpful votes
Once again we are bringing guests to Frankfort on our boat tours and staying at the Capital Plaza Hotel. As always the rooms are clean and comfortable and the hotel staff is the absolute BEST. Super friendly and helpful in every way. We love this place and can't imagine staying elsewhere in Frankfort. Walking distance to a variety of restaurants , a great farmers market and unique shops. Capt Paul Nicholson Rockin Thunder River Tours Madison Indiana
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: High up rooms have great views of either the Kentucky River or the State Capital
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol Jones, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for bringing your tours to Frankfort and our hotel! We enjoy having Rockin Thunder tour groups throughout the summer and appreciate your continued support of Capital Plaza. We look forward to many more seasons of River Adventures and having you and your tours as our guest! Safe Travels!!!!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
coldrpepper wrote a review Aug 2022
Grove City, Ohio5 contributions
The front desk staff was fantastic-very friendly and helpful. Selected this hotel based on location and photos. The photos are very misleading. This hotel is in desperate need of a renovation. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and the rooms are very dated. The restaurant is only open for breakfast and the bar never opened. This is more than a hotel. There are students living there and there are also condos on the top two floors.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol Jones, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for being our guest! We appreciate the kind words about our staff and we will share your comments with them. The photos we have posted are not stock photos, but actual photos we have had taken of our facility. We are slated for several renovation projects and will be done in phases over the next year. Unfortunately, we had to close our Lounge during the pandemic and we have yet to reopen, but do plan to do so in the near future. Thank you for noting the condominiums on the top floors. Those condominiums were in the original design of the hotel for the upscale living experience. Some of our residents have been with us many years and are part of our family. We appreciate your feedback and do hope you will visit us again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jen wrote a review Aug 2022
Frankfort, Kentucky2 contributions
We had a family emergency and had to stay here for a few days, It was Clean, Quiet an the staff was nice, quick when we needed anything and helpful. Miss Terri at the front desk was amazing and we are so thankful for her! We wanted to thank her but she was off when we checked out, So thank you Terri from the bottom of our hearts we greatly appreciate all of your help. James & Jen
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol Jones, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel
Responded 21 Aug 2022
Thank you for being our guest! Terry is an awesome asset to our hotel, and we do appreciate you recognizing her. Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope that you come back to visit us again very soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
johneB7295FJ wrote a review Aug 2022
Colfax, California2 contributions
This Hotel looks amazing from the pictures online. The lobby looks like a really fancy hotel that is very dated. The smell was fairly dingy and old. The counter person was very friendly. We were placed on the 5th floor for our 3 night stay. The only good thing we can say is the Air Conditioning worked well. The bed was pretty stiff for my liking and older you could feel the springs in it. The room smelled of old smoke horriblly and had that almost moldy smell but not moldy stagnent like an old basement. This did not go away after a few days of staying there. We found out after the second night that they don't offer any room service and towels have to be placed outside the room to be replaced. I would not recommend until they remodel if that is a plan or not. Very disappointing to drive 8 hours and check into this on our Honeymoon.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol Jones, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel
Responded 21 Aug 2022
Thank you for being our guest! I am sorry that you did not enjoy your room. The pandemic has put the hotel industry in a predicament. We don't want to expose you to the virus and we have to protect our employees from it as well. The limited-service approach fits both situations, but it is not ideal. We will continue to improve that service, but outbreaks are still prevalent in our area. I appreciate your feedback on the room. We are in the process of changing carpets and other upgrades that will include bedding and will help our overall guest experience. We do hope the rest of your visit to the area was more enjoyable.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John R wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
**Ghetto** is the best explanation for their mattresses. We would advise you to just stay where they leave the light on for you, less money and probably a better mattress. We were very disappointed and never more frustrated losing the money we spent to stay here. I did ask for another room with a different mattress and we were told it was the only mattress they had through the entire Hotel. I say, they should just lock the doors and leave this business to somebody else, it was that bad.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol Jones, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel
Responded 27 Jul 2022
I clearly see you were extremely unhappy with our mattresses. We do use the same mattresses as Hilton, but there is no one mattress that suits every person and I am truly sorry that you were that uncomfortable. I will speak to the staff and recommend that they allow guests to change rooms or at least look at a different room when requested as not every mattress ages the same and we would have preferred you find one that suited your needs. Thank you for bringing your issues to our attention and we do hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to the area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Catie T wrote a review Jun 2022
6 contributions
The front desk staff is amazing, once you find them (they are tucked in the corner when you walk in). The hotel itself is dated, but moderately clean, has a musty smell ( at least on second floor). The water in the rooms will scald you if you want any water pressure, otherwise you have a trickle. Parking is free, across the street in a garage. (Rumored they are working on the other garage under the hotel) There is a large area (300 yards) to play with your animals and walk them, but no convenient way to get in and out, however we are grateful we could have him with us. Breakfast is mediocre at best but the staff was great!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol Jones, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel
Responded 29 Jun 2022
Thank you for being our guest! Our area of Frankfort is the heart of the revitalization effort. We have had several projects going on around us and our garage has been changed temporarily until the new garage is completed behind us. We appreciate the feedback and do hope you will checkout the progress on our city revitalization.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$134 - US$169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn frankfort, frankfort holiday inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Holiday Inn Frankfort - Capital Plaza
LOCATION
United StatesKentuckyFrankfort
NUMBER OF ROOMS
163
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Capital Plaza Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Capital Plaza Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Old State Capitol (0.3 km), Liberty Hall Historic Site (0.4 km), and The Grand Theatre (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Capital Plaza Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Capital Plaza Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Capital Plaza Hotel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Capital Plaza Hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Capital Plaza Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Buddy's Pizza LLC, Capital Cellars, and Serafini.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Capital Plaza Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Capital Plaza Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Frankfort.
Are any cleaning services offered at Capital Plaza Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Capital Plaza Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Capital Plaza Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.