We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Campbell House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Campbell House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

600 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 598: English reviews
Start your review of The Campbell House
 Click to rate
Jamestown, Ohio
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Aging but conviently located. Small rooms. Only one chair per room and it is an office chair. Inside rooms have a poor view of the hvac equipment on the roof. Staff is cordial and attentive. Needs upgrading.

Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert V
Northfield
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 18 December 2016

After retiring in November, the family went on a short trip including the Kentucky Bourbon Trail. We stayed at the Campbell House for a couple of nights. Easy parking and check in. The rooms were clean and reasonably priced. Enjoyed both the bar (with a live band) and the restaurant. The style of the hotel and interior decor let you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank garye496
About Hotel's Favourite Review
mcurd, General Manager at The Campbell House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit this wonderful survey about your recent stay with us. The Bourbon Trail is a great time and yes we are an excellent "home base" hotel for this activity. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Bedford, Indiana
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I will start off saying the hotel is very beautifully decorated, but I felt like in our room type the bathroom was very small, took a long time to get hot water and the overall lighting in the room was very poor. And unless you don't mind dealing with lot's of traffic this is a very busy area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan E
mcurd, General Manager at The Campbell House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your survey about your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you experienced some challenges during your stay. Your feedback is very helpful and we will look into the hot water issue. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we hope you enjoyed your visit to Keeneland. Our hotel...

Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The description of this hotel states that it is a unique hotel with elegant accomodations in an historic building. The effort is there but the delivery is poor. The room is very small - you can pay extra for an oversized king. The bathroom barely has room for one person and no counter space for toiletries. It looks as if...

Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill Cole O
mcurd, General Manager at The Campbell House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review about your recent stay with us. I am very sorry that we fell short of your expectations. Your feedback will assist us as we continue to improve our product and service. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we hope you consider giving us another opportunity if your...

Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewed 1 week ago

One should anticipate steps, ramps, and a maze of passage ways. Located adjacent to a very large hospital /trauma center. Fortunately they do have knowledgable bar staff. Plenty of parking, elevators are not centrally located, swimming pool is outstanding.

Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron T
mcurd, General Manager at The Campbell House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review about your recent stay with us. This hotel is definitely not your typical hotel layout but to many of our guests this lends to the uniqueness of our property and their experience. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again if your travel...

College Park MD
Reviewed 1 week ago

My first stay at a Hilton Curio Collection property definitely impressed me. This historic hotel has been completely redone and is nothing short of stunning. Even more impressive was the staff -- thanks to all of them for going out of their way to ensure that we had a first class stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wrestlerUMCP
mcurd, General Manager at The Campbell House, responded to this review

There is nothing better than first class and your review of your stay with us is so appreciated. We are thrilled that you like the brand and we hope to see you again soon.

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are beautiful. The customer servive is top notch, I had two sleeping babies and they extended my checkout till they woke up. You can't ask for a better staff or kinder people. We stay there every trip to Lexington

Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank evans573
mcurd, General Manager at The Campbell House, responded to this review

Your review of your time with us is also Amazing. Thank you so much for the kind words and for making us your hotel of choice. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If we were in another market and this room cost $250 or more a night, I might be more upset. But for $150 or so a night, it's not bad. What was cool - an older, historic property. This isn't your run of the mill four story Hampton Inn big box hotel built on a cornfield. This place has character....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ThisandThatGirl
mcurd, General Manager at The Campbell House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a detailed and thoughtful review. I am very sorry that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay. We are addressing the issues you mentioned through a detailed room refresh process. We hope to see you again so that you can realize the continued property improvements.

Lebanon, Kentucky
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very accommodating at check in when we had quite a few bins to store in preparation for a wedding. Provided a good block of rooms for our guests. Pool and gym were used by many a nice touch. Hotel definitely added to to our successful wedding weekend.

Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig F
mcurd, General Manager at The Campbell House, responded to this review

There is nothing more important than a successful wedding and we are thrilled that we were a contributing factor. Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your very special event. Take care and good luck.

Kailua, Hawaii
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Enjoyed weekend for RunTheBluegrass race. I needed a place to stay for shuttle service to airport at 4 am. This place was perfect in every way. Close to downtown and across street from hospital. Room was very comfortable and clean, and perfect king bed. Hilton does good again.

Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank BillKailua_Hawaii
mcurd, General Manager at The Campbell House, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review and for choosing to stay with us as you partook in the RTB. We hope your race was a success and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

184 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (128)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lexington hotels
2.6 km away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#8 of 71 in Lexington
926 reviews
6.6 km away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
2.5 km away
Hampton Inn Lexington Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
#2 of 71 in Lexington
202 reviews
2.6 km away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#14 of 71 in Lexington
1,065 reviews
7.4 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Originally built as a small two-story building in 1949, the Campbell House is Lexington's most recognized and cherished hotel. Our recent multi-million dollar renovation has transformed this local jewel into one of the finest hotels in the Kentucky. Featuring 250 guest rooms and suites and over 15,000 square feet of flexible function space that can accommodate everything from board meetings to conventions, the Campbell House is the perfect location for groups, meetings and social events. We are centrally located near various tourist attractions such as: The University of Kentucky, Keeneland Race Track, Rupp Arena & Commonwealth Stadium - Home of the Kentucky Wildcats, Tattersalls, Redmile, The Lexington Convention Center and Calumet Farm. Whether you are seeking a personalized experience for you next business trip, and inspirational setting for your next meeting, an unforgettable wedding, the perfect backdrop for a romantic getaway, or an unforgettable vacation, your adventure into a world of beauty, luxury and tranquility awaits you at the Campbell House! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Campbell House

Address: 1375 S Broadway, Lexington, KY 40504-2703 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel)
Region: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Price Range: $164 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Campbell House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Lexington
Crowne Plaza Campbell Hotel
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Campbell House staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Campbell House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We an oversize room with two queen beds, very nice and spacious room.”
jeff197025, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for any room with a larger bathroom.”
Suze44857, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask where the elevator is before you leave the front desk... You'll never find it! King beds are THE Bomb!”
TonkamanMN, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I doubt there's a bad room in the place!”
jacqueet, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Be sure you get a room with windows.”
jamesdG5691TU, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5