We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1750 E Center St, Madisonville, KY 42431-2253
Lowest prices for your stay
US$55
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
US$55
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
PricelineUS$55
TravelocityUS$55
Hotels.comUS$55
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (14)
Room & Suite (7)
Bathroom (1)

About

#2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Madisonville
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located off Interstate 69, Exit 114 this Madisonvile, Kentucky motel is 15 miles from the Clear Creek Wildlife Management Area. Free WiFi is available throughout the motel. A microwave and a refrigerator are included in every guest room at the Big Spring Inn Madisonville. Cable TV and an en suite bathroom are also in each simply decorated room. . Free parking is provided at the Madisonville Big Spring Inn. Several restaurants are within walking distance from the motel, including Cracker Barrel and Denny’s. Glema Mahr Center for the Arts is 10 minutes’ drive from the motel. Western Kentucky Speedway is 9 miles away. We speak your language!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Golf course
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Vending machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
31Reviews2Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 17
  • 5
  • 4
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
vblythe wrote a review Jul 2022
West Union, Ohio62 contributions14 helpful votes
Great little hotel. Been updated recently. Clean & comfortable. Definitely worth the $$$. Pet friendly with plenty of grass for the pets :) We were a little worried after reading some of the last reviews, but we were definitely satisfied!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HENRY PATEL, Owner at Big Spring Inn
Responded 12 Jul 2022
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time out and write your experience with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robrienii wrote a review Jun 2022
Seymour, Tennessee52 contributions11 helpful votes
The room was cheap and still not worth it. Opened the room and the strong smell of smoke hit me. Never asked if we liked smoking or non smoking. With all rooms full could not change, not even sure they have not smoking. The room was outdated and floor was uneven. Bathroom was what you would expect for the price, horrible. Paid for 2 nights and couldn't breath after one day. Woke up next morning (a Saturday) and there was no breakfast even though it was stated at 8 am in the morning. I understand it was cheap but give your guest some options. I paid for 2 nights and just said forget it and drove 6 hours home that night. Never again will I waste my money here.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HENRY PATEL, Owner at Big Spring Inn
Responded 8 Jun 2022
Thank you for sharing your experience. We do have smoking and non smoking rooms. if you have booked smoking room and if we don't have non smoking available we don't need to ask. Sorry for inconvenience. We haven't start breakfast since pandemic.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
R C wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
+1
Assuming the owner doesn't treat everyone that has a complaint or rather request like me, it's the typical "You get what you pay for" motel. Sufficient for a night or 2. If you want something cozy, clean, a little more modern, less rundown ... go somewhere else. I won't go back just because I don't ever want to deal with the rude, incompetent owner again. Whoever built or "fixed" this place: poor construction skills. Holes everywhere. Stained furniture. Dirt in every "obvious not obvious" corner. Hairs on the toilet seat, in the bathtub, on towels. Surprisingly, the white bed sheets were fine, and that's all that mattered to me. And no, those hairs weren't mine (black; I have red hair). When you sat down on the toilet (after a good disinfection by yourself, I recommend) it felt like you're crashing through the floor because it was so wobbly. Somebody tried to fix it with a little bit of cardboard. Toilet worked, shower water pressure was ok. Showerhead and mirror were too low for anyone 5'11 +. Bathroom had an odd smell, the vents were noisy. Upon entering the premises, first thing you saw was some messy looking storage room for paint and construction materials. It even had a sign on it that lead you to check in down the parking lot. I don't know why any good motel owner would want their guests' first impression be this room. Parking was no problem due to lack of guests. Pool was filled with dirt/soil. It's safe due to lack of foot traffic. Madisonville can be rough, but you're more off the freeway where there's nothing. If you need to get gas, food, or shop at Walmart, that's closeby. Walmart 10 min, a Cracker Barrel that you could walk to probably, ... It's quiet although the freeway is conveniently right there. When I checked in, the door to my room was wide open but after of a long day of traveling I didn't care. The door needed to be slammed from the outside and pushed hard from the inside to really shut and lock it. The next evening I came back to find my door being open again. Luckily, nothing had been stolen and everything seemed untouched. I could tell that the room hadn't been cleaned either, so I went to speak with the owner (and his wife as only staff), and requested that nobody goes into my room for the rest of my stay. I didn't want to risk anyone leaving my door open again and I just prefer it that way in general. (Side note: There was no "Do not disturb" sign to hang.) All hell broke loose. First, he denied that the door was open both times, basically calling me a liar. Then he insisted that nobody went into my room, therefore couldn't have left the door unlocked. So a burglar would leave my Macbook behind and a perv wouldn't touch my personal items?! I don't know if the owner doesn't respond well to females telling him what to do, or if he needs some training in hospitality, but he kept arguing with me and couldn't simply honor my request to not clean my room. It would have been so easy ... but this conversation escalated into a loud argument quickly, and ended with him following me to my door and me slamming it in his face. There were some men in the parking lot witnessing it all, incl. said open door. At some point he blamed it on the batteries of the key card reader, then he admitted he opened my door that morning but didn't enter my room as he thought I was still sleeping. That explained why my door was open: He didn't slam it hard enough to not wake me up. But it wasn't them, nobody else either, and they "have to" clean the room. Ridiculous. I didn't even care why or who - I wasn't even complaining although it is definitely an inconvenience (humidity and bugs got in) and safety concern (especially for a single female traveler). All I asked for, politely but firm, was that my room won't be cleaned. He became so defensive, aggressive, and rude, wasn't listening at all, ... I hadn't been this irritated, frustrated and simply mad in years! I stayed there only out of convenience (location and price, no nerve and time to move), although I'm sure every other guest would have checked out probably the first night.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HENRY PATEL, Owner at Big Spring Inn
Responded 8 Jun 2022
Thank you for share your experience in details however you didn't mention that I offered another room or full refund for rest of your reservation including the day you had problem. (you stayed in same room for another 4 nights). We did clean your room with your permission and there were no problem with door. We are not perfect but like to keep room clean so our guest feel comfortable and enjoy their stay with us. Thank you again for staying with us. and sorry for inconvenienced.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amanda R wrote a review Mar 2022
14 contributions1 helpful vote
Room was spacious and clean and the bed was very comfortable! You can’t beat the price (book directly with the hotel as a big name booking site tried to charge us double!). Location is right on the highway so there is some traffic noise but it wasn’t a big deal. They also accept pets and that’s always a plus when traveling! We did not go to see what they offered on the continental breakfast as we’d read it wasn’t much and we prefer a hot meal to start the day.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HENRY PATEL, Owner at Big Spring Inn
Responded 27 Mar 2022
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time out to write review for us. Thanks again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
steve i wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
Super nice people! You will like them right away, very personable. The price was excellent and so is the room! I wasn't expecting a treasure like this! Very clean and fresh. You won't be disappointed! Value and satisfaction? 10/10.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Victoria wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
Travel nurse here and wanted to stay in a place close by my contract place for just the days I work. For being low cost this place is clean, overall fairly quiet, and everyone here is so friendly. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HENRY PATEL, Owner at Big Spring Inn
Responded 15 Sep 2021
Thank you for staying with us. Thank you for taking the time out and write review for us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tania wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
Working as long haul truck drivers, we spend a lot of time in hotels. Big Spring Inn is by far the best budget hotel we have stayed in. The family that operates the hotel could not do enough for us. They even brought us okra from the family vegetable patch to take on the road! The room was immaculate, bathroom very clean. Bed comfy. We will definitely be back!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HENRY PATEL, Owner at Big Spring Inn
Responded 22 Aug 2020
Thank you for taking the time out and write review for us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ashmo D wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution
Clean, safe, great value!Our family has stayed here a couple times now.They have excellent customer service. You may prefer to bring your own towels as they are small. It's up on a hill with a pretty nice view.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Heath Wagner wrote a review Jan 2020
Evansville, Indiana3355 contributions346 helpful votes
The Big Spring Inn is an inexpensive hotel stay option in Madisonville. For about half the price of staying at one of the major hotel brands you can stay here and you get a clean room, comfortable bed, and a convenient location. The breakfast offerings are minimal but there are both a Cracker Barrel and Denny's nearby. For an overnight it is a decent option.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HENRYP1683, Manager at Big Spring Inn
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Thank you for staying with us. Thank you for taking the time out and write review for us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jason t wrote a review Sep 2019
2 contributions
Our room had roaches. Went down to visit family, I would not recommend. On top of that the owner was very rude after a 9 hour drive. I made reservations and he didnt care just asked if we wanted a smoking or non smoking room.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HENRYP1683, General Manager at Big Spring Inn
Responded 23 Sep 2019
Thank you for staying with us. I am very disappointed to hear that you found our service to be below your standards. we will addressed your concern and try to be more courteous and professional in future. Thank you again for taking the time out and write review for us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$61 - US$61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesKentuckyMadisonville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
49
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Big Spring Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Big Spring Inn?
Nearby attractions include Madisonville City Park (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Big Spring Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Big Spring Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Big Spring Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Big Spring Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Country Cupboard, Cracker Barrel, and Wendy's.
Are pets allowed at Big Spring Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Big Spring Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Madisonville Armory (1.5 km), The Hockersmith House (1.9 km), and Hotel Earlington (6.6 km).
Is Big Spring Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.