We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles South Casino Area, an IHG Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (20)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#20 of 39 hotels in Lake Charles
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles South Casino Area is conveniently located to the downtown business district, lakefront boardwalk, and the Civic Center. We are just East of the Golden Nugget and L'Auberge Casinos. Lake Charles has established itself as one of the top business, medical and educational locations with Northrop Grumman, Siemens, Weatherford, McNeese State University, Lake Charles Memorial Hospital, CHRISTUS St. Patrick Hospital, and Westlake Chemical Corporation in our area. Lake Charles provides a great convenience to many points of interests such as Charpentier Historic District, Bord Du Lac Park, Creole Nature Trail and numerous attractions such as the Mardi Gras Museum of Imperial Calcasieu, Adventure Cove, parks, beaches, and so much more. Take the time to discover Lake Charles.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English

Location

1150 W Prien Lake Rd, Lake Charles, LA 70601-8373
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles South Casino Area, an IHG Hotel
31Reviews1Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 16
  • 6
  • 6
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Edward A wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions
There will be no next stay. We have stayed at this hotel before and we were in for three nights this time. The room was not serviced after the first night. We received a cursory service after the second. There were bugs. When you turned on the bathroom light, a half dozen or so scurried in all directions. The water-saving faucet on the bathroom sink produced so little (cold) water that shaving was all but impossible, as was washing one's face. And of course the sink stopper did not work. Breakfast was marginal. The hot food is to be avoided. They serve some sort of flat substance that purports to be fried egg. But the sticky buns were good. Coffee was often cold, and never more than tepid.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles South Casino Area, an IHG Hotel
Responded 9 Jan 2024
Dear edwardaJ8941QG, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. Please accept our apologies for the issues you encountered with the room assigned to you and for the inconvenience this caused you. We have shared your comments with the appropriate teams to ensure a much better guest experience moving forward. We also regret not meeting your expectations with the breakfast we serve and we have taken note of your feedback as we are continually striving for ways to improve. We are grateful for your patience and hope to see you again to provide you with the flawless stay you deserve. Yours in Hospitality, DeAndre Sullivan General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Trail468592 wrote a review Feb 2023
Harlingen, Texas23 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
We stayed here during Presidents’ Day weekend because we had minors but wanted to be closer to the casino area. No complaints at all about the stay. Came early and had a room ready (IHG Diamond Elite May have played a role in the early checkin as you can do it through the app! Very courteous staff and very clean lobby; EXTREMELY QUIET even with all of the holiday weekend guests, Mardi Gras 📿⚜️etc. this will be our go to when coming to Lake Charles! Rooms are updated and well kept! We all had a great time. WHO DAT 😁
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles South Casino Area, an IHG Hotel
Responded 21 Feb 2023
Dear Valued Guest, As an IHG Rewards Club member, we appreciate your loyalty to our brands, and we are glad we could welcome you to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles South! Thank you for your kind remarks on how much you enjoyed our accommodations and comfortable beds. Our housekeeping and maintenance staff works hard to provide exceptionally clean, well-functioning rooms so that you can relax in comfort. We are also delighted to know you were impressed with the service you received from our excellent associates and that our prime location worked well for you. We are happy we could consistently provide you with the hospitality you deserve. It was a pleasure having you all as our guests, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Yours in Hospitality, DeAndre Sullivan General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Longhorn wrote a review Jun 2023
Friendswood, Texas10 contributions3 helpful votes
This was a one night stay that was booked on the fly while (with points) on a day trip to Louisiana. Checked in late afternoon and assigned a room. Grabbed a valet cart and went to our room. Room was clean and adequately furnished. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was clean and well stocked. Biggest issue was a fire alarm that went off before 6am for no apparent reason. When we went downstairs, the front desk clerk was commenting to several people that the alarms happen all the time and that it wasn't her fault (i.e. there was no fire). When I inquired about the inconvenience it was suggested that I reach out the the manager. The manager did email me back but did not accommodate a request for a partial refund of the points I paid with. Being a platinum elite guest and for something that seemed to be a recurring issue and no attempt at really remedying the situation, I was frustrated. I might return and give them another chance when in the area but in this case, 2 strikes and you're out.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Take earplugs for the fire alarms
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles South Casino Area, an IHG Hotel
Responded 30 Jun 2023
Dear OTRLonghorn, Thank you for leaving us your evaluation. While it is pleasing that you did like the room assigned to you, we are sorry for the inconvenience caused due to the disturbance created by the fire alarm going off. Please know, we take this seriously and have addressed it appropriately. I also regret your disappointment with regard to not receiving the compensation you requested. As I am unable to find a reservation with the given name, I would request you to reach out to me at 337-564-6877 ext. 502 so that we can speak on this matter. I will appreciate your understanding on this matter. Yours in Hospitality, DeAndre Sullivan General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mrsmcc45 wrote a review Mar 2023
French Settlement, Louisiana31 contributions8 helpful votes
After being in the car for a long while after a long day, it’s pretty frustrating when at check-in there is much confusion about your reservations (that were paid for with rewards), only to get up to your room with your bags just to realize that neither of your cards work. My husband had to go back down to get them to activate our room cards. Thankfully while waiting in the hall another employee who happened to be on the floor offered to let us in our room. TV channel selection was very disappointing… NO MOVIE CHANNELS NO DISNEY JR NO HGTV It seemed as though everything we had an interest in watching was blocked/not available. The bathtub faucet was broken, so no option to shower, only baths. We have never had these issues at Holiday Inn ever before. The Pros: The room was extremely spacious and comfortable for lounging during downtime. The room was very clean in all aspects.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles South Casino Area, an IHG Hotel
Responded 9 Mar 2023
Dear Sarah C, Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us and for your loyalty to our hotel. We were disappointed to read about your experience and apologize for the issues you had with your reservation. Please be assured we will take appropriate action where necessary to serve you in the future better. We are also sorry for the maintenance issues you came across, and the additional concerns that impacted your visit. We have shared your comments with the appropriate individuals to take corrective measures and are grateful for your patience. With that being said, we appreciate your positive comments. Thank you again for your candid feedback. We would love to make it up to you and hope you will consider a return visit. Yours in Hospitality, DeAndre Sullivan General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Talex1 wrote a review Feb 2023
Hamilton, Michigan13 contributions9 helpful votes
We are longtime HIE customers and were not disappointed. The staff was great and room cleanliness met my discriminating wife’s standards. 😁. My only complaint, within local management control, was that there was only one regular coffee and one cup in the room. And that was a relatively small issue. There were a few corporate design choices that I would have done differently. The closet doors are heavy with tight hinges but the handle is of minimal size and a bit hard to grip. The other item is that the Bathroom spigot barely extends over the sink. Same with the soap nozzles. Picky, picky you might say? Well, I’m sitting in the airport with time to share. 😁 Fact is, we’re on our way to Detroit with reservations for a week at the HIE in Livonia. Safe travels!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Convenient location for us right on a main road but traffic did not disturb us.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles South Casino Area, an IHG Hotel
Responded 9 Feb 2023
Dear Talex1, Thank you for making Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles South your home away from home. We are glad you liked your clean accommodations and courteous associates. We also appreciate your specific suggestions, and we look forward to your next visit. Yours in Hospitality, DeAndre Sullivan General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Matt G wrote a review Jan 2023
9 contributions3 helpful votes
We have stayed at this HIE in the past and have always enjoyed our stay. The staff is friendly, the lobby and rooms are clean, and the free breakfast is just right (especially the grits during our stay last week). This hotel is only 5 or 6 years old, but it looks brand new for the most part. This comment may not seem important to everyone, but the access in and out from HIE to Prien Lake Rd. is easier than some of the neighboring hotels. Go left to get back to I-210 (avoid the casino traffic) or go right to some restaurants and the casinos.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles South Casino Area, an IHG Hotel
Responded 27 Jan 2023
Dear mattgT5618CL, Thank you for choosing to stay with us again. We are delighted to know you were impressed with the service you received from our excellent associates and that our prime location worked well for you. We are also pleased to know our complimentary breakfast and clean accommodations exceeded your expectations. It was a pleasure having you at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles South, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Yours in Hospitality, DeAndre Sullivan General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stan A wrote a review Jul 2020
11 contributions
We are HIE fans and have been for a long time. We think the quality of the rooms and service is a great value. This property was less than we expect from HIE. Our room 314. had an extremely heavy opening door. I mean you had to lean in and push! What we noticed next was the floor was littered and apparently had not been vacuumed. I returned to the front desk to borrow a vacuum but the staff took care of the vacuuming promptly. The large bathroom was clean and user friendly The short divider wall that shielded the commode had the toilet paper hung at your elbow. Lots of time you have to be a contortionist to attempt to get the toilet paper. The towels were thick and fresh. The bed was excellent but we don't enjoy their pillows. The TV was on when we entered the room and would not shut off with the remote. I looked for a button on the TV but failed to find the on/off so I went back down to the desk and they shut the TV off. The remote was inop! And we had no regular coffee so we got that fixed too. We slept well! The shower was good but we don't care for the soap and shampoo dispensers. It may save the planet and save the company money but we like individual soap and shampoo. Their breakfast was suspended due to the virus but they had to go bags. My biscuit egg sandwich was moldy and I took it with us as we checked out to show the staff what they are handing out. I think a great hotel experience has all the little things covered. This property didn't get it done. We were disappointed. But we won't give up on HIE!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles South Casino Area, an IHG Hotel
Responded 8 Aug 2020
Good Day Stan A, We appreciate the honest remarks of our visitors. I truly appreciate your time and effort to share yours, and for staying in our hotel. While I'm pleased that you liked our towels, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't find our room's upkeep and bathroom set up on par with your standards. We're committed to providing comfort, and I'm concerned that you weren't at ease with the pillows and breakfast option. The review of our visitors helps us in creating steps for improvement. With full confidence, I know that yours can assist us in making enhancement programs. I relayed your comments to the management and housekeeping teams. I included your feedback about television and the bedroom door. You can trust that we will strive to rectify our rooms for improvement. I hope you'd reopen your door for us so we can put the pedal to the metal, and make you enjoy the simple pleasures. Kind Regards, Leni C. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
William K wrote a review Dec 2019
Ruidoso, New Mexico141 contributions87 helpful votes
This hotel has a "modern" sleek, uncluttered, minimal look to it, which was fine with me. There was a huge flat screen TV on the wall, with lots of channels to view. They had great, soft beds and a big bathroom. The folks who worked there were very nice and accommodating. There is large, very-well lit parking. It is in a safe part of town, with lots of places to eat and shop near it. The only concern is the bathtub is too shallow in which to bathe. No hot, relaxing baths after a long drive - just good shower.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from 00gc, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles South Casino Area, an IHG Hotel
Responded 24 Dec 2019
William, thank you for the great review of the Holiday Inn & Suites Lake Charles South. We are happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay and loved the attentive service provided by our staff, the comfortable beds, the spacious parking area, as well as the central location. However, we regret the inconvenience you had with regard to the bathtub. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Yours in Hospitality, Jason Montgomery General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
DC_diva_10 wrote a review Sept 2019
Miami, Florida197 contributions54 helpful votes
Stayed for one night while traveling with family. Very kind front desk staff, clean hotel and convenient location. The gym and pool are in good shape. Pet fee very reasonable at $50. Loved that breakfast was included. I would definitely stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from 00gc, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles South Casino Area, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 Oct 2019
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn & Suites Lake Charles South for your overnight stay. It is always our goal to impress you, and we are delighted to read how much you loved our excellent location, outstanding service, and well-maintained property. Thank you again for your kind remarks, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Yours in Hospitality, Jason Montgomery General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Fishytourist wrote a review Aug 2019
Houston, Texas266 contributions73 helpful votes
Although the staff was friendly, we were disappointed that building, including our room, was not as clean and fresh as other Holiday Inn Express properties we have visited. The cushion on the in-room chaise lounge featured a very obvious stain. Unfortunately, this was not the experience we have come to expect from HIE. Hopefully this will improve.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from 00gc, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles South Casino Area, an IHG Hotel
Responded 11 Aug 2019
Thank you for your loyalty to our brand. We are happy our friendly associates left a remarkable impression on you. However, we are sorry for the cleanliness issues that impacted your experience. We have shared your comments with our housekeeping team to ensure we are more diligent in our efforts moving forward. Your feedback is valuable, and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel. Yours in Hospitality, Jason Montgomery General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lake Charles area.
PRICE RANGE
S$180 - S$251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Holiday Inn Exp Stes S - Casino Area
LOCATION
United StatesLouisianaLake Charles
NUMBER OF ROOMS
92
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS & SUITES LAKE CHARLES SOUTH CASINO AREA, AN IHG HOTEL: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 57 Photos (LA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles South Casino Area, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles South Casino Area, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Marshalls (0.8 km), Ross Dress for Less (0.9 km), and Painting With A Twist (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles South Casino Area, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles South Casino Area, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles South Casino Area, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles South Casino Area, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Panera Bread, Texas Roadhouse, and Chick-fil-A.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles South Casino Area, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles South Casino Area, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles South Casino Area, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles South Casino Area, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Henning Cultural Center (13.6 km) and Dryden General Store (12.6 km).
Is Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles South Casino Area, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.