Holiday Inn & Suites Lake Charles South, an IHG Hotel

Holiday Inn & Suites Lake Charles South, an IHG Hotel

Traveller (5)
King Bed Guest Room
Room & Suite (15)
Kem's Restaurant & Lounge
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#16 of 40 hotels in Lake Charles
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value

Holiday Inn® & Suites Lake Charles South in Lake Charles is located on Lake Street which is easily accessible from I-210, exit 5. Our hotel offers spacious guest accommodations and suites along with a full-service restaurant for breakfast and dinner dining. Top hotel amenities in our guest rooms include mini-fridges and microwaves in all our guest rooms. Holiday Inn® & Suites Lake Charles South offers work areas with premium business features and includes complimentary wireless internet, complimentary local and 800 calls and complimentary parking. From the 24-hour Fitness Center to the indoor pool, we have some of the best amenities among hotels in Lake Charles, Louisiana. We have 2,400 square feet of event space, and our friendly staff is ready to assist with all your planning needs.

Surrounded by the natural beauty of freshwater marshes, scenic rivers, and beautiful lakefronts, Lake Charles has more to offer than outdoor activities.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards
169Reviews2Q+A28Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 76
  • 42
  • 19
  • 16
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Clif T wrote a review Jun 2022
Kingsland, Texas149 contributions36 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel was clean and in a nice location to get many places. Staff was friendly and very helpful. But... the bar wasn't open on a Sat night and the breakfast is a restaurant that costs extra. Go to KD's if you want a good meal. Not cheap but not criminal price either, just too much for a bed IMO
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
donna b wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Convenient location, close to shopping, Eating and casinos. Hotel clean and fresh. Enjoyed my stay at this location. I asked for first floor and they honored my request. Very thankful for the first floor.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Owner at Holiday Inn & Suites Lake Charles South, an IHG Hotel
Responded 29 Aug 2023
Hi donnabB3181NN, Thank you so much for your kind words. I’m so pleased that you found us a clean and pleasant place to stay and that our location and services were to your liking. We take real pride in this hotel and in serving guests like you, and I’m extremely happy that you had such a pleasant stay. We look forward to having you with us again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
celeste wrote a review Jul 2023
Tyler, Texas1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
No complimentary breakfast, only frozen breakfast microwave. Prices to high for that. Otherwise it was quiet and clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful especially Amber. Should provide continental breakfast or something along those lines
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Lake Charles South, an IHG Hotel
Responded 10 Jul 2023
Hi Dreamer53479766430, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. We are glad you liked our friendly and helpful especially Ambe, services, and hospitality. We have shared your feedback with our staff to ensure we continuously work on bettering our services. We will do our best to make sure your next stay with us is completely satisfactory. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gregory B wrote a review Jul 2023
Clinton, Mississippi1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hotel was great. Rooms were spacious and service was wonderful. Price was great as well. Breakfast was well worth it. The service at Breakfast was great. Front desk personnel were professional and on point.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Lake Charles South, an IHG Hotel
Responded 10 Jul 2023
Hi gregorybT8536BM, It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you have rated our hospitality and accommodations so highly! Thank you so much for your compliments on our staff, breakfast, spacious rooms and we were able to meet your expectations of quality service in our hotel. We can't begin to tell you how much we appreciate your review, and we can't wait to serve you again. Thank you very much!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
S L wrote a review Feb 2015
Beaumont, Texas5 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed here three time since the first of the year. The first two times were uneventful. The third time I was ate alive by bed bugs. I woke up and noticed the sheets looked dirty and had a few spots of blood. I thought possibly the blood had come from shaving and I was in a hurry to get back to the casinos, so I didn't think to much about it at the time. The next day I began to have itching and bites breaking out on my hands, arms, trunk, and some on my legs. I never had bedbugs before, so I started looking online. Now it all makes sense. I have over 100 bites total and man these things itch, even a week later. I called the hotel in the middle of the day and asked to speak to manager, they said he wasn't there. I left a message with what happened, the room I was in, and to please call me back. No response. Now I have to worry if any of these things have hitched a ride home with me.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Lake Charles South, an IHG Hotel
Responded 8 Mar 2015
Dear S L, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon. Sincerely, Dianne Liu Case Manager IHGCare
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dallasman2009 wrote a review Nov 2010
Dallas3 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at this property in early November. I had been a guest previously and travel often to Lake Charles on business. On my latest trip I brought along my checkbook since I had some bills to pay. My stay was fine, until I returned home. While reconciling my checking account statement, I discovered a missing check. And, in fact, someone had gone shopping at a local discount store in Lake Charles and forged my stolen check to make their purchase. I immediately notified the hotel and asked to speak with the general manager. I explained my problem, was told he was out, but that he would return my call. Of course, he never did. I then contacted Holiday Inn corporate and was given the same run-around ..... they contacted the hotel and gave the manager 48 hours to contact me ...... again, the manager never responded. I was told that corporate would be fining the franchisee (hotel) for their non-response. Otherwise, corporate told me there was nothing they could do. Actually, there was nothing they WOULD do. I told corporate they should send me the fine as reimbursement for my stolen check. I am supposedly an 'elite' priority club member ..... translation? It means nothing! My company has spent thousands of dollars in hotel costs and when I am the victim of theft, neither the hotel or corporate does much to help. I'm angry about the theft, but even more irate that the hotel does not even offer as much as a courtesy phone call to discuss the matter. My advice? Avoid this hotel at all costs ----- particularly if you bring anything of value into the room!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2010
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from holidayinnlakecharle, Webmaster at Holiday Inn & Suites Lake Charles South, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 Dec 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thanks for your stay at the Holiday Inn. We noted your review and apologize for the inconvenience caused howsoever. We have investigated the issue and we have never come across such a complaint earlier, but your review is serious to us and shall do the best. We have ensured that such a thing never happens again to any guest and the hotel staff behaves in the most guest friendly manner. You can have a comfortable and secure stay next time. Trust us and visit us again. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joseph wrote a review May 2015
Dallas, Texas3 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Usually, Holiday Inns are fairly reliable for the average business traveler. However, at this location, I was greeted by a rude front desk clerk, named Chris, who told me that my room type that I booked was sold out for the night. After discussing my concern with this, I was offered no type of compensation or even an apology. After accepting the lower class room, I opened the door to a putrid musty smell. The smell only got worse over the night. Upon checkout, the front desks manager in the morning gave me a ridiculous fake apology, when I brought my concerns to him upon check out in the morning. If you value your sleep and ability to breathe, and do not feel like being blatantly disrespected by the entire staff, stay elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Loretta H, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn & Suites Lake Charles South, an IHG Hotel
Responded 28 May 2015
Good Afternoon Joel L. It has always been the goal of IHG to provide world class accommodations and services to all of our guests and members. The feedback we receive is an invaluable resource to help us gauge the performance of our hotels to ensure this goal is being met. We have documented the extent of your experience in our corporate office that will be used in our hotel evaluations. This will also allow us to target problem areas, and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you have encountered and regret that the level of service provided by our staff was less than satisfactory.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
khardst wrote a review Jun 2011
Houston25 contributions67 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I want to start by saying that the front desk staff at the hotel are very friendly. This hotel is not in the best neighborhood, but because it appeared to be very new from the outside, we got past that. The particular weekend that we stayed, there were alot of kids there, I believe there was some sort of baseball tournament going on. Kids were running up and down the hallway and knocking on doors (our door was knocked on twice, we opened it to see kids laughing and running away full force) all times of the night and early morning on our floor and above our heads. Now I understand kids will be kids, but the hotel should have considered putting the kids and their families on the 1st and 2nd floors and all other guest on the higher floors.

My main problem with this hotel is despite the shiny new outside, the rooms are filthy!! We discovered two live roaches in the bathtub and someones contact lens just laying (not in the case) on the coffee bar. This let me know that cleaning is subpar at best at this hotel. For those reasons, we will not return.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2011
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from holidayinnlakecharle, Webmaster at Holiday Inn & Suites Lake Charles South, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 Dec 2013
Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with the Ramada during your recent visit to our area. We appreciate your review and the observations. We will surely take them for improvement. Also glad to note that you found the front desk staff friendly and they have been appreciated. We are addressing your observations for further improvement and you shall definitely find the difference during your next visit. We await your earliest next trip to our area and promise a nice stay with us. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RjRp2014 wrote a review Jul 2019
Punto Fijo, Venezuela35 contributions48 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It's a new place surrounded by other "boutique" hotels... Looks very clean and comfortable... have a nice fitness center, a cozy pool, a really beautiful lobby with a business center available, the front desk attendant really nice and pleasant. I hadn't chance to taste the breakfast but seems like a regular one...
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Ask at front desk for local food and experiences
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Curtis L wrote a review Oct 2018
Buda, Texas24 contributions41 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Room size is great. Breakfast was good. Good location for Lake Charles. Had to ask to get rooms cleaned. The pool was geen and very dirty. They shut the pool down for the next two days we were there. Upper management was great and compensated us for our 3 night trip.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Lake Charles South, an IHG Hotel
Responded 16 Oct 2018
Hello Curtis L, Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the breakfast selection and that our location worked for your travel needs. On the other hand, I am sorry that the condition of the room and pool negatively affected your overall satisfaction. On the lighter side, I am happy that management was able to reach out and rectified the issue. Your feedback has been taken into account and will be shared with our management team. We are confident that necessary steps will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. Again, thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is. Best Regards, John O Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
amie m asked a question Feb 2018
Houston, Texas2 contributions
Do you guys have a shuttle to the casino?
Jimmy G asked a question Sept 2016
Are you pet friendly?
Answer from Loretta H
Lake Charles, Louisiana
The hotel is not pet friendly.
PilotFlyer wrote a tip Dec 2019
Jasper, Texas133 contributions63 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Always stay on top floor. Thats common rule everywhere we go..."
Read full review
Nick B wrote a tip Nov 2019
Delfzijl, The Netherlands159 contributions18 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book another hotel!"
Read full review
RjRp2014 wrote a tip Jul 2019
Punto Fijo, Venezuela35 contributions48 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask at front desk for local food and experiences"
Read full review
J L wrote a tip Aug 2018
Port Arthur, Texas18 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"1st floor is close to pool and bar."
Read full review
dave leyva wrote a tip Aug 2016
McAllen, Texas21 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get an Upper Floor room it;s a good venue to see the area."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lake Charles area.
PRICE RANGE
S$138 - S$188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn hotel and suites lake charles south
LOCATION
United StatesLouisianaLake Charles
NUMBER OF ROOMS
120
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN & SUITES LAKE CHARLES SOUTH, AN IHG HOTEL: UPDATED 2023 Reviews, Price Comparison and 54 Photos (LA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn & Suites Lake Charles South, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn & Suites Lake Charles South, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Dillard's (0.6 km), Prien Lake Mall (0.8 km), and Painting With A Twist (0.8 km).
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn & Suites Lake Charles South, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Truffe Sauvage, KD's Po-Boys Soup & Salad, and Pizza Artista.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn & Suites Lake Charles South, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Henning Cultural Center (14.0 km) and Dryden General Store (12.0 km).
All Lake Charles HotelsLake Charles Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Lake CharlesHotels near Holiday Inn & Suites Lake Charles South, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire