We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area

Save
Share
1731 W Prien Lake Rd, Lake Charles, LA 70601-8360
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$101
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$101
View deal
Vio.com
US$99
View deal
Expedia.comUS$101
Hotels.comUS$101
Lol.travelUS$120
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (5)

About

#2 of 40 hotels in Lake Charles
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travellers visiting Lake Charles, Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its family-friendly environment and proximity to great restaurants, Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area makes it easy to enjoy the best of Lake Charles.

Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area is a family-friendly hotel offering a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and air conditioning in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free wifi is offered to guests.

The hotel features 24 hour front desk, express check-in and check-out, and newspaper. Plus, guests can enjoy a pool and free breakfast, which have made this a popular choice among travellers visiting Lake Charles. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

Given the close proximity to Charpentier Historic District (3.0 mi), guests of Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area can easily experience one of Lake Charles' most popular landmarks.

If you like Italian restaurants, Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area is conveniently located near The Buffet at Golden Nugget Lake Charles, Tony's Pizza, and Grotto Ristorante.

During your visit, be sure to check out a popular art gallery like Gallery by the Lake in Lake Charles, Louisiana, which is a short distance from the hotel.

Whether you’re travelling for business, pleasure or both, Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area is sure to make your visit to Lake Charles one worth remembering.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Free shuttle or taxi services
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Quiet

Location

Full view
65Somewhat walkable
Grade: 65 out of 100
20Restaurantswithin 1 km
0Attractionswithin 1 km
875Reviews4Q+A25Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 456
  • 241
  • 97
  • 42
  • 39
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lindsey W wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Stayed for the weekend. Room was clean and exactly as advertised. Only complaints on the room were that the toilet would suck air everytime the room next door flushed their toilet and the mini fridge would make a loud noise every couple of hours. Check in attendant was very nice. However, on the second night the fire alarm went off around 2am. We were on the 3rd floor on the end closest to the pool. Went downstairs and out the closest exit (pool entrance). When we tried to exit the pool area through the gates we realized they were both locked, one from the outside and one was padlocked from the inside. We had to walk through the entire length of the building to exit through the lobby area. The lobby area had about 20 guests just hanging out inside and the front desk attendants would walk away anytime someone attempted to approach. Thankfully it ended up being a false alarm on the fire, but I was shocked by the lack of professionalism and communication of the staff as well as the fact that the closest exit was locked, trapping us in the pool area had there been an actual emergency.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Jabusch, Owner at Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
Responded 3 Sep 2022
Thank you for your recent stay and review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed a clean room that looked as advertised. We did have maintenance go check the toilet and fridge. We appreciate you letting us know. We are very sorry for the experience with the false fire alarm. We have had a safety meeting with the front desk staff to make sure that all staff know their full responsibilities during a fire alarm. We apologize for the false alarm and lack of communication from the staff. The pool gate is no locked from the outside, nor does it have a padlock on it anywhere. We understand you felt trapped there and are working hard to make sure that the pool gate is easier to open.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kreddi258968 wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Room was spacious Bathroom needed updating Shuttle to Casino was convient but van was run down, seats was ripped, appeared to have every warning light on on the dashboard Breakfast was nasty Employees kids was using the lobby as a playground and kept getting into the breakfast foods
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Jabusch, Owner at Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
Responded 3 Sep 2022
Thank you for your recent stay and review. We are happy to hear that you felt the room was spacious. I are very sorry that we fell short of your expectations. We are in line to get a new shuttle, but due to shortages, it has been delayed. I am saddened to hear that you did not enjoy our hot breakfast and that kids were using the lobby as a playground and getting into the breakfast foods. I will look into this as I am not aware of any staff's children that should have been at the hotel. Thank you for your feedback so that we can better our services and guests experiences.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Csoldier wrote a review Jul 2022
Houston, Texas6 contributions4 helpful votes
Outstanding customer service from front desk to room attendants. Did not eat breakfast but enjoyed freshly baked cookies in the afternoon. Front desk attendant, which I believe was Karen was exceptional and not just corporate but genuinely kind and courteous..
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Jabusch, Owner at Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
Responded 9 Jul 2022
Thank you for your recent stay and amazing review of the Wingate Lake Charles. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, the staff, and our cookies. We appreicate your kind words and I will share them with the team. We hope to see you again very soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charles L wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
The hotel amenities here are endless. The front desk members are all very professional and friendly. My suite was beautiful and contained all essentials. I was very impressed with the delicious breakfast. There is also a complimentary shuttle to and from the nearby casinos. The price for a holiday weekend was most reasonable. The people of Lake Charles are very resilient and I was very happy to support them.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Jabusch, Owner at Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
Responded 31 May 2022
Thank you for your recent stay and amazing review of the Wingate Lake Charles hotel. We are pleased to hear that you relaxed in pure comfort. I will share your kind comments with the team so that they may be encouraged. We appreciate your business and feedback, and hope to see you again very soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sventura04 wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
For the price I guess what is i received so, is not so clean, the pool was dirty, so. The location is good, you have everything close, there is an Olive Garden across the hotel, walmart, ross, fast foods, etc
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Jabusch, Owner at Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
Responded 22 Apr 2022
Thank you for your recent stay and feedback. I am saddened to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We are just now working on getting the pool officially open for the season and appreciate your patience. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and hope that you will come back and try out the pool once it is fully open.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KarenRichard wrote a review Mar 2022
Church Point, Louisiana1 contribution
update your transportation van. it was in bad shape. all check engine lights were on, air condition vents were missing, just a hole blowing air. Door handle was broken and would not open from inside. Had to wait for attendant to open to be let out. Felt like we were in a van used by a kidnapper. Driver was a maniac, she scared the hell out of all 8 of us. fix sewage issues, it smelled awful in hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Jabusch, Owner at Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
Responded 1 Apr 2022
Thank you for your recent stay. I am very sorry about the smell, we did call out some professionals and beleive that we have it all under control now. We are in the process of purchasing a new van, but we will get the doors checked out and talk to the driver. I am very upset to hear that you and your group felt unsafe with her driving. We did have some plumbers come out to address the odor issue and that should be resolved now. I am very sorry that this was your experience with our hotel and hope that you will give us another opportunity to gain back your trust.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deidre S wrote a review Jan 2022
2 contributions
Registration staff was not friendly, the 1st floor didn't have carpet, the desk chair was peeling and had a bug in the tub when I went for mt morning shower, floors needed cleaning and vacuuming. I wouldn't walk without something on my feet.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Jabusch, Owner at Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
Responded 31 Jan 2022
Thank you for your recent stay and review. I am saddened to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We are waiting on carpet to replace all the common areas and unfortunately the first floor carpet was removed before the new carpet came in. I apologize about the errors in you room and will get with the housekeeping team to make sure we are more careful. We replaced all the chairs in the rooms recently. I will see if I can figure out if we missed yours. This is not normal for us, and hope that you will give us another opportunity to gain back your trust.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Edward V wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
Booked thru Hotel.com. Turns out Hotel.com knew nothing about water damage that was sustained during from what I am guessing is Hurricane Laura. There was one section nearest to my room that had a barrier covering the doorway made of plastic. The whole 3rd floor reeked of mold or mildew hence the DEHUMIDIFIERS in the hallway. When we finally got into our room because of door card issues our room also reeked of mildew or mold. On our way to the casino we asked if our room could be freshened up of the smell. On return from the casinos I took off my shoes and sock for some sleep and regrettably stepped on the floors with my bare feet. UGGH! I guess someone decided to spray disinfectant directly to the rug in large doses. The rug was sticky as I walked to the bathroom and that was the last straw. I immediate called the front desk and ask the clerk to inform her manager that the room was unsuitable to rent. All this happened New Years EVE. I dont mind that you GOUGE me on New Years but Please make sure the rooms are suitable to rent. Sad they rented this room without disclosing any of this to me.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Jabusch, Owner at Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
Responded 31 Jan 2022
Thank you for your recent stay. I am sorry to hear about your experience and apologize for the inconveniences. We have resolved the odor issues, however, we are still waiting on carpet to open up the very ends of the halls. We do hope to be done with construction soon and that you will come back and see that this is not normal for us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rendale wrote a review Dec 2021
San Antonio, Texas1 contribution
I in this hotel as a stop along a trip with my 6 month old It was quite expensive for what it was worth. Staff was very friendly but the rooms were incredibly outdated and not very clean. Everything was dusty and dingy due to construction being done on the property which was not disclosed at the time of booking over the phone
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Jabusch, Owner at Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
Responded 31 Jan 2022
Thank you for your recent stay and review. We are happy to hear that the staff was very friendly. I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay. I will share your comments with the team so we can better our services. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to gain back your trust.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Silvania D wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
The hotel was nice, clean, good location, efficient shuttle service. But "Lori" at the front desk was the person who made everything better and more pleasant with her warm personality and beautiful smile. The next day, staff wasn't so pleasant and friendly, nevertheless, it was a nice stay in Lake Charles. This is going to be our hotel in Lake Charles whenever we go back there❤
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Jabusch, Owner at Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
Responded 31 Jan 2022
Thank you for your recent stay and amazing review of the Wingate Lake Charles hotel. We are pleased that Laurie made such a wonderful impression on you. She is definitely a great role model around here. I will share your comments with the team and we appreciate your business and review. We are grateful to have earned a loyal customer.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$117 - US$159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
wingate by wyndham lake charles casino area hotel lake charles
LOCATION
United StatesLouisianaLake Charles
NUMBER OF ROOMS
77
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WINGATE BY WYNDHAM LAKE CHARLES CASINO AREA: UPDATED 2022 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 47 Photos (LA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
Which popular attractions are close to Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area?
Nearby attractions include Christ Community Church (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area?
Conveniently located restaurants include O'Charley's, Panera Bread, and Chick-fil-A.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area have airport transportation?
Yes, Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.